We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically stayed in a run down stable!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maudlins House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Maudlins House Hotel to your Saves list
Maudlins House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Naas, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Practically stayed in a run down stable!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay in this hotel if u are under 70 years old! On initial checking we were treated like school children by the condescending male "manager". We were asked for a security deposit despite the other 3 couples of our group never having this mentioned to them! We are young professionals and have stayed in numerous "4" star hotels for work and pleasure! This is the worst treatment I have received!! We were pointed to our "room " which was outside the hotel alongside the carpark barriers! It was a run down outhouse!! The room was filthy, musty and old fashioned! The bed clothes were so dirty and smelly that we had to sleep with only a sheet! We complained in a nice manner to only be told " nothing we can do" and laughed at as we walked away from the reception! Hotel service cleanliness and food is reminiscent of a dirty hostel!!Food was freezing and service was frozen!!! Avoid at all costs!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
12
46
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here last weekend b&b for €65, if I'd paid more i'd be giving a poorer rating. Am gobsmacked that this is a 4 star hotel: wonder when it was last reviewed. Stayed in one of the coach rooms, very grim from the outside, exterior is very shabby, front door stuck and needed a hard shove to open. Inside was a bit better but needs to be repainted and tidied up generally. CRT television mounted on a stand on the wall: I had to climb on the chair to turn it on therefore would not be suitable for anyone infirm. Bathroom was quite nice but no shampoo, conditioner, bath gel - just those wall mounted dispensers for soap and shower gel. The curtains didn't close properly and so wouldn't be good for anyone who needs darkness to sleep. Also, close to the road so traffic could disturb a light sleeper.

Breakfast was very nice - buffet and everything was tasty and fresh, good choice all round. I wouldn't stay again however. Just about ok for an overnight stay but no longer

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms within the hotel are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was the perfect place to spend a family get together. The staff could not have done more to make us feel welcome and were very patient with all the advanced planning associated with family gatherings. As others have said, do not judge this place by its appearance, inside everything is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Well what can I say, this hotel shows the meaning of "dont judge a book by its cover" not much too look at on the outside by my god what an amazing place inside. Rooms were spotless and big and food was excellent and staff were amazing all in all a good stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel with 7 of our friends, we all really enjoyed our stay. Three of us stayed in the rooms across the road from reception - rooms 19 & 20, they were old style & very charming, the bath had one of those really big powerful shower heads - love it! Reception area was a lot more modern looking, very bright & welcoming. The staff we met throughout our stay were extremely friendly & a pleasure to deal with. The rate was so so reasonable too. Would have no hesitation recommending it & would definately stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Don't have room no.2 (I think), that's the first room to the right as you walk through the door opposite reception. This room has adjoining walls to the ladies toilets, you get to here most things! It also has a metal fire escape outside the window that all the bar staff seem to use to pound up and down to the cellar and to go and have a cigarette.

The fire alarm test was carried out at 21.45, not good if you have gone to bed for an early start. The fire alarm went off for more than a few minutes and when I got to reception with a pair of trousers and a coat on they turned it off and said it was just a test and were rather amused by the fact that anyone had bothered to do anything.

The hotel is not located close to the town and is a reasonable walk into town if the cuisine is not to your liking. Food was reasonable but not as good as they would like you to believe. I give this place a single point as the bar staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Don't have the one behind the ladies toilet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Booked 2 rooms for 4 adults. Checked in and preceeded to our 2nd floor rooms to find that they were already taken. Had to return to reception desk and were now given rooms on the 3rd floor. The room was large and clean even though the Bedspread gave me a dirty impression. When I pulled back the Bedspread there were many stains on the back side of it. I checked the blanket and sheets and they appeared clean. I wasn't sure if these stains were permanent or recently happened. Once I seen this, I really had no desire to get into that bed!! The next day, I found out that the other couple's bedspread also had stains. When I took the bedspread down to the staff at the reception desk, he just apologized and said he was sorry and he would inform the housekeeping staff. I don't think it really mattered to the hotel that this experience hampered my visit! Won't be returning to this hotel!

Room Tip: Pull back the bedspread before your ready to get into bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maudlins House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maudlins House Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Naas, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Naas
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maudlins House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maudlins House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maudlins Hotel Naas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maudlins House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.