We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, route to rooms a nightmare!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Killashee House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Killashee House Hotel to your Saves list
Killashee House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilcullen Road, Naas, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Mullingar, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice staff, route to rooms a nightmare!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a return visit to the hotel for us. It's a nice hotel & the reception & bar staff appreciate their jobs. Lovely to see as I'm a stickler for friendly service.
The price of the bar food is stiff enough and I'd say its of average standard.
The design if the hotel means that you have to take lifts up, walk a corridor and take another lift up or down to your room. A bit of a pain, but that's the design of the hotel.
Overall though, it's pretty nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerKillashee, General Manager at Killashee House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Joec26,

Thank you for your repeat custom to Killashee House Hotel. I am very pleased to see our focus on friendly service was clearly evident during your stay. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience for the layout of the hotel, as the hotel was originally a school and a convent it tends to have a quirky design in certain areas.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dee Nix
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    153
    79
    40
    30
See reviews for
125
244
15
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Wonderful experience of this hotel which hosted the wedding reception of my cousin on 31/05/13. Nigel, the duty manager in charge of the reception was professional,considerate and easy to get along with. Sean, the porter on duty on 01/06/13 was helpful, professional and friendly in getting bags and bouquets sorted for home. The bed linen and double beds in the twin room felt luxurious. A wonderfully big dance floor for dancing and a cosy snug for the post dancing sing song. Attractive gardens for wedding photos. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerKillashee, General Manager at Killashee House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear thosedancingdays,

Thank you for sharing your heartening experience of Killashee House Hotel. It is a delight to read your positive feedback, especially regarding our linen as we have recently purchased new linen for the entire hotel (our laundrette tells us no other hotel in the greater Dublin area has such a high thread count!).

We hope you choose to stay with us again on a future leisure break.

Kind Regards,

Dee Nix
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night while traveling in Ireland. It's an hour drive from the airport in Dublin (unless you take the scenic route through the Wicklow mountains). The hotel was lovely, the rooms were nicely appointed and the service great. I lost my bracelet at some point (the clasp broke) and the front desk had it the next morning. The on-site pub had good food, reasonably priced and comfortable. All-in-all we had a great visit and would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerKillashee, General Manager at Killashee House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Carole E,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Killashee House hotel on your recent visit to Ireland. We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that it was of the high standard that Ireland prides itself on.

We hope you will choose to visit Killashee on your next vacation to Ireland.

Kind Regards,

Dee Nix
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed in 304 on 01.06.13 paid 160 for b&b with wife & two kids and was worth every penny

No complaints whatsoever wished we could have stayed a week. Reception, waiting staff actually all staff we met very friendly, smiled and nothing was a problem. Lovely setting and gardens were an extra bonus

We will be back and keep up the good work

Room Tip: Ask for room 304 it's very quiet or any on same corridor as that number as you won't hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerKillashee, General Manager at Killashee House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear The_Mayo_Tourist,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Killashee House Hotel with your family this June. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, in particular our gardens. Hopefully for your next visit we will actually have another garden to share with you as we are currently adding another garden to our beautiful collection.

The_Mayo_Tourist we look to seeing you and family again for future family holidays.

Kind Regards,

Dee Nix
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I visited the bar today for some lunch.
We were seated at the door and there were a lot of flies bothering us however that may be our own fault as we were given the option to sit anywhere and we choose that seat
my partner and I were served by a pleasant young man called Alan, very nice and approachable. We ordered our starters, veg soup and goat cheese tartlet,
I felt the soup was very overpowering with celery but my partner really enjoyed it and the bread was lovely with it. The tartlet was absolutely gorgeous I really enjoyed it full of cheese and the red pepper sauce was refreshing
We were waiting quite a long time for our mains so that was a bit irritating
when our mains arrived, lamb shank and sid pizza, the presentation was lovely very well put together.
my partner loved the pizza very fresh ingredients, no oil or grease in sight, I only got a nibble as he hoovered it up
My lamb shank was disappointing there was very little meat and the little there was wasn't falling away from the bone as a braised shank should. On a positive note the potato and veg accompanying the lamb were very nice
A lady server collected our plate and asked how our lunch was I stated it wasn't great and she ignored this and went on to give us our bill
we did not see Alan when leaving and we felt we were a bit dismissed by the lady server so we did not leave a tip. The next time we come I will be trying the afternoon tea ,this looked fab, as I felt the price and food on the lunch menu was a bit off putting

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerKillashee, General Manager at Killashee House Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear dee_liscious,

Thank you for your regular custom to Jacks Bar and Bistro. We appreciate your providing such a detailed and balanced review of your experience. I would like to sincerely apologise that our server did not immediately react to your feedback, and I am sorry that I or another member of management did not have the opportunity to speak with you and apologise personally. I am however delighted that Alan provided the normal high level of service we expect of all our team here at Killashee.

I would welcome you to contact me at the hotel in advance of your next arrival so I can ensure every courtesy is extended to you.

Kind Regards,

Dee Nix
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here back in 2008 when attending a concert. So we didn't get a good chance to appreciate it.

We were back again this time for a weekend of relaxation along with a visit to a family communion elsewhere in Kildare.

I loved my weekend here. The hotel is so peaceful, even though there were 2 weddings on there that weekend!
The bar was busy for food in the evenings but we were never waiting very long at all and the service was really good. The sleep quality here is excellent, we didn't wake both mornings until we naturally woke.. well after 9, having had peaceful sleep since 11 the nights before. The rooms are dark enough to keep out the light and you can't hear anything from the corridors or adjoining rooms.
Breakfast.... I love spending time at breakfast in these hotels, when there isn't any pressure on you or any madness. The room was big enough to allow you peace at your own table and to take your time working through each bit. We read the newspapers and tipped away at cereal, fresh fruit, juices, tea/toast, and hot food ordered specifically (at no extra cost). Again the service was just excellent here. It was a real treat, like 5 star quality breakfasts you get.
The hotel is really old style but doesn't feel at all out-dated. The bedroom was really large as was the bathroom. It had everything you would require. Although their DVD collection could do with updating. Only tiny drawback.. if you are staying in the adjoining building, the walk to the rooms takes quite a while.

I would highly recommend Killashee House if you are staying in that part of the country. Only 20-30 mins from the M50 for access to Dublin also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerKillashee, General Manager at Killashee House Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear RoisinOD,

Thank you for your loyal repeat custom to Killashee House Hotel, and we appreciate your recommending the hotel to our potential guests on Tripadvisor.com. We are delighted you found your recent visit to be ‘peaceful’ with excellent dining and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Killashee (hopefully) very soon.

Kind Regards,

Dee Nix
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Travelled to the Killashee House Hotel for a wedding. It was lovely - particularly the setting. Service was good and I would love to come back for an overnight stay at some stage in the future. I thought the Snug Bar was intriguing and i loved the log fires burning in it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerKillashee, General Manager at Killashee House Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear GerD1158,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay as a guest of a wedding in Killashee House Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and in particular enjoyed the very popular newly opened pub ‘The Snug’.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Dee Nix
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killashee House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killashee House Hotel

Address: Kilcullen Road, Naas, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Naas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killashee House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killashee House Hotel & Villa Spa, Naas, Co. Kildare is located just 30 kms from Dublin City Centre & just 2kms outside of Naas Town. Set amidst over 280 acres of historic & intriguing gardens, walk ways & parkland, with magnificent views over the Kildare countryside. A hotel that is timeless, natural & elegant where we understand space, fun & food. From family time to fun time, meetings to events and the gym to the spa, Killashee is the ideal retreat to relax & unwind for you & yours. From the hotels 141 beautifully appointed guestrooms to the indulgent services offered by the Country Club with a 25m swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and a fully equipped gymnasium and also the beautiful Villa Spa with 18 luxurious treatment rooms, there is much to pamper you and much to experience. An oasis of calm, the Villa Spa is the ultimate in sheer relaxation and it is the aim of the Villa Spa to bring you on a journey of total well-being for body, mind & soul. We also have Zing Hair Salon onsite open from Tuesday to Saturday. The hotel boasts two Restaurants, Turners Restaurant offers a fabulous fine dining experience overlooking the fountain gardens whereas Jacks Bar & Bistro offers a more casual dining experience from light snacks to extensive lunch, dinner & cocktail menus. There is also live music in Jacks Bar every Friday & Saturday night. The Snug at Killashee House Hotel is a traditional Irish Pub where you can take a step back in time surrounded by open turf fires, admire the many trinkets, antiques and memorabilia from bygone days and of course enjoy an expertly poured pint of Guinness. There are so many activities on the beautiful estate of Killashee House Hotel including the woodland walking trails. Estate Maps are available at reception or why not borrow one of our bicycles which are complimentary to all guests. Take a relaxing stroll through the magnificent Fountain Gardens, Emma's Butterfly Garden in association with DEBRA Ireland or the stunning new gated Jack & Jill Foundation Garden. Also the Off Road Driving Centre in conjunction with Dynamic Events. From basic off - road driving days to fully integrated Team Building events, incorporating full tuition, course participants have a fantastic experience behind the wheel and try conditions that seem impassable but under the eye of the expert instructor. There is also so much to do & see in Kildare and Killashee is ideally located beside numerous fantastic golf courses such as the Craddockstown, Naas Golf Club & the PGA, to name but a few. For the Shoppers, there is Naas Town which offers an abundance of chic boutiques, Kildare Village Chic Outlet Shopping just 10 minutes' drive away, Newbridge Silverware & Museum of Style Icons and the Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. For unforgettable family days out, the Irish National Stud Visitors Attraction & Japanese Gardens is a must, a picnic at the Blessington Lakes, a visit to Russborough House or Kilruddery House or Carragh Open Farm are just a few of the many fantastic places to visit during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Killashee House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killashee House Hotel & Villa Naas
Killashee House Hotel And Villa Spa
Killashee Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killashee House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.