We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dew Drop Inn

The Dew Drop Inn
Main Street | Kill, Kill, Ireland
045 877755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Kill
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ballitore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My daughter and I went for lunch as she had been there for dinner earlier in the year and thought the pasta carbonnara was the best she had tasted for a long time. She was right!!! It had chicken and chorizo which gave it a lovley flaour. Service was good and friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Reasonable fare at a reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The restaurant used to be a bar and as such has a nice ambience. It is also very busy and popular with the locals.
I had the chicken wings with the blue cheese dip, except the dip never arrived and no-one came back to the table after serving to check. These were extremely spicy, and very meaty.One of my guests had the coca-cola glazed chicken wings which he thought lovely. I actually found them a bit bland. The third person had the grilled goat's cheese which she liked, though it was a bit small.
For mains two of us had the Jumbo Prawn scampi. It was well presented on a board with a salad and a small bucket of fries. I just found them OK whilst she thought them very good. The third person had the Thai Red Curry with half rice and half fries. He found it very hot and very filling.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“excellent pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

we eat here quite a lot!! and to be honest its always very good.sometimes we go elsewhere for a change and often say we should have gone to the dew drop. service is excellent food is very good and all the staff know us by name and even know what we like to eat!! sad or what!! anyway i would highly recommend.. very family friendly.. excellent wines by the glass..well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventry, Ireland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food; great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have eaten here twice recently and the food is excellent. There is an extensive menu and a good three course deal available. Excellent steaks, and burgers (including delicious lamb burgers) and a whole range of great starters, mains and desserts. I really like the "Coca Cola Chicken Wings". They cater for all palates and the service is efficient and very pleasant.

Good parking facilities and very wheelchair friendly, which was an issue for us on this occassion

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

10 minutes from home, so it's our local, but still.... This is THE best steak I have ever eaten... Tonight they had venison and fillet steak together. Wow! Hot stone available so you can cook it exactly as you like it! Staff are super friendly and efficient and the chef must be some kind of angel. GET HERE!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dew Drop Inn also viewed

Kildare, County Kildare
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Dew Drop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dew Drop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.