We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, lovingly prepared by people who are passionate about how much their customers enjoy their food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo's

Michelangelo's
Main Street, Celbridge, Ireland
01-627-1809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Celbridge
Cuisines: Irish, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Leinster, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovingly prepared by people who are passionate about how much their customers enjoy their food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I visited this restaurant with friends on Saturday, June 29th 2013.

It was a spur of the moment invitation from friends who have had the ''Michelangelo experience'' many times, and they said it was exceptionally good.

They were not wrong!

A large group of us (around 16 in our group) arrived early, about 7.30, and we were welcomed and seated with calm courtesy and prompt service.

There was quite an extensive menu, with a good value set three course option (and free tea/coffee if this was availed of), and an equally extensive wine menu.

We opted for the set menu, and I must mention some dishes, that while simple, were extraordinary.

My starter was a Pate Maison, which was excellent. Light and well balance garlic notes, home made, and smooth texture (not course cut). It was light, yet divine.

The main course was an old favourite of mine - Beef Lasagne.
Now, lasagne has been commercialised and overdone in many places, and has become identified with cheap and cheerful pubs with a side of chips, however in this restaurant, Lasagne is treated lovingly and prepared in the traditional Italian way - with love and affection.

It was delicious, home made and beautifully complimented by fresh vegtables, and tasty creamed potatoes.

Whilst we were eating, myself and two other friends bought a bottle of New Zealand Marlborough white wine.

This was the perfect compliment to the food, crisp, yet fruity, and resfreshing. We even persuaded some at the table who are not normally white driners to try it, and they were hooked!

I decided to try the Tiramisu for the dessert. Wow.
Home-made, in a lovely little glass bowl, it was near perfection.

Some at the table (who dine here often) urged us to try the home made dessert house special - the ''Spumone''. This is a sweet made up of Mint sorbet and chocolate mousse ice cream.

We tried it, and words fail me...it was next to heaven.


The night was a good one, so we ordered another bottle, and the night went on from there.
We tried flaming (literally!) Sambuca (twice) and sicilian Limoncello.

It was nearly midnight and we leaving, but I am determined to come back here sooner, rather than later!

Would I recommend it?

Oh yes!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    30
    8
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Italian after Cold Day at Irish Open”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After a wet cold day at the Irish Open in Carton House today, I took my two lads for a well deserved lunch to warm us all up, was looking around and came to Celbridge and to Michelangelos , and I remembered that I had been there many many years ago,,
It was fantastic, with Home made minestrone soup and home made bread to start us off and get us warm, and then fantastic Pasta with Olive Oil and Chilli to really get us feeling a lot better about ourselves
Truly wonderful service and lovely authentic Italian food
Thank you so Much

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good start - bad ending!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Went in with a group of girls and realised it was ladies night so we were offered a free glass of wine (from aldi). Thought that it was a great start to the night, and received other discounts for local hairdressers etc. Menu was very badly laid out. We only ordered mains which didn't take long to arrive. Steak burger was very poor, just meat floating in sauce, no bun/bread etc. They never asked how it was to be cooked and came out pink in the middle. Person ended up sick the next day.
Chicken, mushroom and tagliatelle was ordered also. Had no great flavour to it, and the chicken was still very pink. Did receive an apology and no charge for that main.
Also bugs were found in the brocolli which we complained about and didn't even get an apology.
Overall service wasn't great and standard of food was poor.
Definitely won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Love this restaurant , food is fabulous and very reasonable, the staff cant do enough to help , went tonight with family , and it was ladies night later on , it looked like it was going to be a great night, I would advise anyone visiting the celbridge area to try it , and now they open for lunch on Thursday and Friday, :) and I believe sunday brunch , if going with a large group (which is affordable) maybe ring and book as it seems to be getting very popular, ps try there prawns , mmm

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Services and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a really great meal in Michael Anglo's. We hadnt been in over about a year and are glad we went back! The staff were really friendly and genuinely wanted to make it a good experience. The Brushcetta starter is really good, Veal Cordon Bleu was also excellent. There are some brilliant deals on the menu, we opted for the a la carte. The services was great from sitting down to leaving. Highly recommend this resturant. It has something on the menu to suit all tastes and budgets!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michelangelo's also viewed

Celbridge, County Kildare
 
Celbridge, County Kildare
 

Been to Michelangelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.