We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ballindrum, Athy, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Athy B&B and Inns
Hornchurch, Essex, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Myself and my wife stayed here a few nights ago. The welcome we got, with scones and tea, was exceptionally warm. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great (didn't need any lunch!). A lovely location, which took a bit of finding but was definitely worth it. So quiet and peaceful. Mary helped us to find a place for dinner in the town and it was a very good recommendation. An old nunnery which has been converted to a bar! Good food.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
south of England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We booked to stay here after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. Mary is very welcoming and had tea and scones on the table before we'd unpacked. As it was quiet she even offered us use of an extra bedroom free of charge as we were a party of 3, we had booked the triple room but this gave us more space. Everything was very clean, the bathroom was fine and spacious. Breakfast is cooked to order and very good, homemade jams, fresh fruit as well. We wanted to escape from Dublin for a night and the farmhouse is well located for a visit to Kildare and the Irish National Stud which I also highly recommend. If you are looking to stay in the countryside near Dublin then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Just had a lovely stay with Mary and Vincent. Can't speak highly enough of this accommodation and it's hosts. They really do go the extra mile with all of the extra touches, fresh home baking, eggs, fresh squeezed oranges, electric blankets on all of the beds etc,t is very easy to understand why they have a wall full of certificates they have won. Truly well deserved.If you decide to visit you are in for a treat. Nothing was too much bother. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Ballindrum Farm B & B!! The Gorman's were fantastic hosts. The homemade scones and drinking chocolate upon arrival is a great touch and so welcome after a long day of driving. Upon departure 11 year old Joseph, suffering from a terrible cold and loss of his voice, even played a few songs on his tin whistle for us. He's very good on the tin whistle! It was like staying with family! Truly enjoyed ourselves!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, CA USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Ballindrum Farm bed and breakfast. Mary Gorman is a lovely, gracious hostess. The scones and jam were a welcome treat. The rooms are clean, crisp and comfortable. The location off the freeway, on a quiet country lane is easy to find, yet definitely in the quiet environment of the peaceful farm countryside. We enjoyed our breakfast and the attentiveness of Mary. We also enjoyed meeting her youngest son and felt as if we made new friends by staying there. I give it the highest recommendation.

Fran and Larry

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA - USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

My mother and I had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Ballindrum Farm B&B. After a long day of travel, we were greated by our host, and immediately made to feel welcomed. Vincent knew we were a bit weary and prepared some tea and scones (made by his wife earlier that day) for us. The beds were comfortable, the room well appointed and the scenery remarkable. It is a working farm, so we peacefully awoke to the sound of cows and fresh air. We had several days of travel ahead of us, but my mother would gladly have remained behind at this beautiful B&B.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Mary greeted us with a cup of tea and some home made Scones, what a start to our two night stay. She was so welcoming and helpful in every way. No cock crow to wake you in the morning, Mary's son did the trick but luckily he had a great voice and it seemed to enhance the experience of this lovely, out of the way, family B & B. Thanks again Mary for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Ballindrum, Athy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Athy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballindrum Farm is a working dairy farm, set in an area of rural beauty in south CO. Kildare. One hour from Dublin. Every room has a spectacular view of grassland,hedgerows and mature deciduous trees.Guests are welcome to walk the farm. Breakfast is a feast served from 6am to 10am. Coach tours are welcome by appointment for tea and homemade scones and jam. To find us stay on the M9 until exit 3, take N78 direction Athy, we are the 3rd. right turn L8017, Drive 1.5km. Ballindrum Farm is on the left, drive down the avenue to the farmhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballindrum Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.