We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, comfortable, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clanard Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clanard Court Hotel to your Saves list
Clanard Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Athy, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Athy
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming, comfortable, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night when driving back on way to Dublin but just too tired to keep driving . Loved the facility, found the welcome at reception very pleasant and helpful. Did not eat as arrived quite late. Room very comfortable and quiet with window overlooking countryside. Had drink at the bar which was very nice. Will return to this hotel.

Used the pool in the town (voucher provided by hotel) - which was a really well maintained leisure facility.

Room Tip: As hotel is outside town, I would imagine all rooms are quiet. Mine was to the back of the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClanardCourtMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi there ,
Thank you for your kind review we are very happy you decided to stop off.
We would love to hear your review of our new menu so please do have a bite on your next visit.
I will happily pass on your lovely feedback to our team.
We look forward to your next visit there are lots of activities and areas of interest in the surrounding areas just ask at reception and we would be delighted to showcase some of them to you.
All the best
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    68
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
66
82
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding,it is a hour from Dublin on the motorway,very easy to find,very nicely situated,it is a very quiet hotel with no noise from traffic,lovely animals to look out from the room in the fields,the room was excellent,very clean and great size,the shower was very good,the wedding ceremony was small but incredibly comfortable,while the reception room was very nice and very well laid out with plenty of room for guests to enjoy themselves,the only downside was the breakfeast the next day to the room,wasn't the best but it's only a little thing,hopefully have a chance to come back here as I really enjoyed the experience

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClanardCourtMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Hi There,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.
Weddings are an integral part of what we do here at Clanard Court Hotel, so it is just fantastic to hear good feedback. We truly take pride in our work and are delighted that this is recognised.
We hope the happy couple are enjoying their new journey.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
All the best.
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castledermot, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went for lunch with my husband & 3 small children ages 5,3 & 2. Very unfriendly waitress seated us she seamed to have no patients didn't smile once, I find this extremely off putting especially as it had been quite some time since we were out for a meal. My children were well behaved considering their ages, My 5 year old accidentally dropped his bowl of pasta, they cleaned it up but I was very surprised and disappointed that they didn't offer to replace it, he clearly wasn't finished. I had the salmon which was tasty. My husband had the lamb he wasn't blown away by it.
I just didn't feel this was a very child friendly place and the food was very average.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClanardCourtMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi there ,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience with us.
We are very much a child friendly venue, being a family business we would always focus on creating a family friendly atmosphere. We cater for kids throughout the year and actually host many events such as Santa’s Trail especially for children.
I will most certainly pass on your comments to the staff. I can assure you this is not the feedback we would be accustomed too. However I do greatly appreciate it as all feedback is a great asset to us as we are always striving to improve in all areas.
Our new menu has received fantastic reviews however I will pass on your comments to our team of chefs.
There would never be a problem in replacing a child’s meal that would go without saying.
Please rest assured I will most certainly use this feedback and look in to it further as customer care is at the top of our priority list here at Clanard Court Hotel.
Many Thanks,
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diblin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Rooms are nice and big bathroom was really nice big shower and bath , hotel itself a bit dated, dinner in restaurant was average portions very small staff were really nice and friendly, Breakfast was really good also great selection, wifi did not work in our room

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClanardCourtMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are delighted you were happy with your room. It is great to hear positive feedback in relation to our staff also and I will be sure to forward this to them. We do apologies with regard to the wi fi. From time to time I am afraid the signal does act up,
We hope you will visit us again in the near future.
All the best,
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I visited the bar last Tuesday, the new look and new menu is nice. I've been here a good few times in the past. I found the menu very expensive. 6.25 for a starter was ok but a little steep in my option. I had the cheese. It was tasty . The burger was 15.50! So over priced for a small burger and chips with some salad! I don't think customers should have to pay for the refurbishment! The first waitress was very cross looking but then a young man who served us was friendly and polite! Nice place and food but should look around to see competitors prices!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClanardCourtMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for taking time to write us a review.
Firstly many thanks we are very happy with how the refurbishments and new menu turned out.
In relation to the pricing I can assure you that the pricing is reflective of our produce selection and materials. Here at Clanard Court Hotel we use only premium produce in our dishes and the Gourmet burger on our menu is in fact award winning beef which is reflective of the price point.
I will most certainly pass on your review and am delighted that our waiter was satisfactory.
We most certainly appreciate your feedback and can assure you we constantly like other companies like to stay on trend and up to date in terms of our competition.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We organised an extended family gathering which took place at the Clanard Court Hotel in July. Over 90 members of our extended family attended this get-together, many travelled from overseas to join us. The Clanard Court was the perfect venue for this event. I made the booking a few months in advance and the staff could not have been more helpful. I was presented with an excellent choice of options in relation to the food and the function rooms that were on offer at the hotel. Our family gathering took place in the ballroom and it was set up beautifully for us. The ballroom and the hotel and the grounds all looked wonderful and the room also opened out onto a beautiful garden and large patio area with lovely outdoor furniture. There was even a 'kids corner' set up in the room with toys and colouring books etc. Everyone was delighted with our choice of venue and the quality of the food and service, it was also excellent value for money - it was really a memorable day for all of us. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClanardCourtMgmt, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. As you may know we are a family ran business here at Clanard Court which we hope reflects strongly in our delivery on all occasions.
Events are so special to our customers and so naturally very special to us, we really do have an expert team here who are extremely skilled however apart from skilled their personal touches, and attention to detail really is truly commendable I am so glad this has been reflected in your review.
Thank you so much for your support we hope we can welcome you back very soon.
All the best,
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for one night on a Lidl breaks deal and I can't commend the staff highly enough! Every staff member was so friendly and so helpful! The hotel is lovely. There isn't great grounds to it but inside the hotel is lovely and there is a nice patio area out the front. The room was lovely and spacious and clean and the food, both breakfast and dinner was lovely!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClanardCourtMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you so much for such positive review. Our staff really do take pride in the high level of customer service standards they maintain I am delighted to circulate this review for their attention.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your meals we have recently and continually re invest in refurbishments/upgrades etc so to hear such lovely feedback make our investments worthwhile.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Thank you.
Clanard Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clanard Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanard Court Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Athy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Athy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanard Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clanard Court Hotel combines a modern and homely design in a luxury family-run hotel setting with a uniquely refreshing and very personal experience.Set just 1km from the heritage town of Athy and surrounded by the jewels of the equine county of Kildare, the charms of the midlands and the bustle of Kilkenny, Carlow, Portlaoise and Dublin are never far away.The Hotel offers superb dining options with Bailey's Bar & Brasserie with music in the Bar every Saturday night. You can also relax and unwind in the Hotel's very own Revive Treatment Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clanard Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanard Court Athy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clanard Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.