We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Class Act"!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clanard Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clanard Court Hotel to your Saves list
Clanard Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Athy, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Athy
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“"A Class Act"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Thank you to all in the Clanard Court Hotel for a wonderful experience of friendliness and professionalism. Six ladies travelled to celebrate a special birthday and we were not disappointed. Our stay was only for one night. That all changed. We have never done this before, but we all changed our plans and stayed a second night! Thanks to Adam, Amanda, Dean and Gary for the fun and care they showed to us. We are now returning on the 30th July to celebrate our parents' birthdays & Anniversary. We look forward to seeing you all again. Many thanks... Cath Ryan
PS... we had the pleasure of meeting Willie and Bridie on our second night at dinner... no wonder this "family run hotel" is so special.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildaremfb, Owner at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Cath

Thank you for posting your lovely review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you all had such a wonderful time with us. I will pass on your kind comments to Adam, Amanda, Dean and Gary who were looking after you during your stay. My parents Willie and Bridie enjoyed the banter they had with you on Saturday night and were thrilled that you enjoyed the food, service and hospitality during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you all back at the end of the month and assure you that we will do our utmost to ensure that you have a wonderful stay and celebrate your parents birthday's and anniversary in true style.

Kindest Regards

Mary Fennin Byrne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    68
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
65
82
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed over at Clanard Court for 2 nights and had a very good experience. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the food great HOWEVER the STAFF are the greatest assist this hotel has there service was professional, friendly and attention to detail exemplary. This is a recipe for success.

Room Tip: The garden view room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Doug pullen P

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Clanard Court Hotel on Trip Advisor.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay - we couldn't agree more that our staff are our greatest asset! They truly strive to do everything they can for all our guests to make sure that you have the most enjoyable visit possible.

Please come back again - we look forward to welcoming you.

Regards

Nerilie Watson

PR & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our daughter held her wedding reception here May 18th 2013. We stayed two nights. Cannot find fault with the courteous staff, the fantastic food. The room for the wedding celebrations was beautifully laid out, and the small gardens were very tidy and clean and ideal for some outdoor photos. We had dinner, lunches, breakfast and at all times the service and the food were excellent. I had a most wonderful steak on Saturday night.
Small gripe: the iron/ironing boards are difficult to use properly as they are too close to the wardrobe that houses them!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Tooler1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Clanard Court Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your daughter's Wedding celebrations at the Hotel - we felt absolutely honoured to be looking after you and your guests on such a special day. I'll also pass on your compliments to our Chef.

I understand your point about the ironing board - it is a compact set-up. However, for your next stay, remember that we can always take your shirt etc and have our housekeeping iron it for you if you are having difficulty.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Nerilie Watson
PR & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Clanard Court in November. I cannot praise the staff of this hotel enough. Claire and Liam were so helpful and accommodating. We had a huge crowd and everyone complimented the good and the staff for their fantastic service. The honeymoon suite is absolutely gorgeous! There were beautiful gifts from the hotel left for us on the room and breakfast was lovely. If you are thinking of having your wedding here you won't be sorry. It was superb on every way and great value too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildaremfb, Proprietor / Director at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Jisheng,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. Were delighted that your day went so well for you and thrilled that you enjoyed the excellent food prepared by Mark and his team in the kitchen and the warm hospitality and excellent service provided by Liam and Claire and the banqueting team.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again in the near future and wish you both the very best in the future.

Best Wishes

Mary Fennin Byrne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for a friends wedding on 2nd and 3rd may and the wedding was brilliant ,from starters to deserts it was brilliant
only waiting 15 minutes between starters and main course and desers ,service was brilliant and this wedding is by far the best I have attended
The staff were v friendly and on check out the girl on reception was so helpful, she even gave us 10% discount vouchers for Kildare Village shopping centre v nice of her
The hotel is def not a 4 star tho a good 3 star , selection for breakfast was v poor for a hotel that calls itself a 4 star hotel, little choice to choose from , had to ask twice for something as simple as tea and toast
The rooms a dull and need brightning up and the furnature needs replacing (v worn looking )
an extra towel in the bathroom would be nice aswell
Not so sure I would stay here again .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildaremfb, Proprietor / Director at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Misterdeeds,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your friends recent wedding and found our food and service excellent. Its disappointing however to hear that you were not entirely happy with your accommodation and breakfast choice. We are a relatively new hotel, open since 2005. We are graded 4Star by the AA and TAMS which are an independent organization with very strict criteria operating on behalf of Failte Ireland.

We are constantly upgrading our furniture and decor to ensure that it is always comfortable fresh and inviting. I have taken on board your comments regarding the furniture in your bedroom and will review this with our maintenance and housekeeping team to ensure that the standards we offer not only meets guests needs but surpasses their expectations.

We offer a cold breakfast buffet and a plated hot breakfast which seems to go down a treat with customers, our cold buffet offers a range of juice, cereal, fruit, dairy produce and pastries whilst there is a diverse range of choices available on our hot menu all freshly cooked to order.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor, I hope that I have addressed some of your concerns and certainly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you to the hotel in the future as a wedding guest or indeed for a relaxing leisure break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding last weekend and it’s one hotel I’d never go back to. The bedrooms are lovely but terribly over-priced because they seem to have the monopoly on the Athy area when it comes to guests having to attend weddings. Catering and Receptionist staff are all very pleasant and the food was good but they promise you one thing and then don’t deliver on that promise. The bride was promised that she could have a bar up until the last guest went to bed but when it came to it, they closed off the residents bar after 10 minutes, sent the guests out to the reception area and nobody could order any more drinks. A manager walking around with a clip board then had a bridesmaid sitting in tears in a corner having highly insulted her by telling her that her 70 year old father was making noise when he was singing on a guitar in the lobby. This 70 year old man doesn’t even drink alcohol so it’s not to say it was anything loud or rowdy plus the fact that any guests staying at the hotel were all part of the bridal party. Overall impression is that they’re only interested in your money and once they have it, they don’t want you or your wedding party so my advice is to spend it elsewhere where it’s appreciated and you’re treated with a little respect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildaremfb, Proprietor / Director at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear am102008

Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that you felt the hotel let you down with regards to "not delivering on promises".
I looked after the wedding that you attended and stayed until the early hours of the morning to ensure that the bride and groom and their guests were well catered for.

There is nothing we like better than to see the bride and groom of the day and their wedding guests having a great time, in fact its uplifting to walk into the residents bar and see it in full swing and a great sense of achievement when you see a happy couple and their guests celebrating together. I was never going to win a popularity vote at 4.45am in the morning when I called time on the bar. This was a necessity in order to have the bar cleaned and refreshed and turned around for the following days business. However a further drinks order was taken and served in the lobby where arrangements were made for the wedding party to sit, sing and enjoy their drinks in an intimate setting. I certainly did ask those present to maintain a respectable noise level as a courtesy to the remaining wedding guests and residents of the hotel. This was by no means intended to offend any member of the bridal party and especially not the brides father who was the life and soul of the evening at that point of time.
I checked with the bride and groom at 5.30am before departing the hotel and both assured me that they were delighted with the day and the arrangements. This was reiterated by the bride and groom and their parents the following morning.
Once again, many thanks for your comments, I do empathize with the fact that you were upset with the move from bar to lobby at 5am in the morning and hope that my response clarify s the reason for this with you. Should you wish to discuss this in further detail please do not hesitate to contact me personally at the hotel.

Kindest Regards

Mary Fennin Byrne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Mayo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My neice got married on the 20th of april 2013 , and the reception was held in the Canard Court Hotel , Dublin rd Athy Co Kildare.
The location is ok just out side of Athy town , with plenty of carpark spaces, i found the entrance a bit crowded , the way it was laid out , reception back in a corner.
It does have a spacious bar dinning area , with good food and pricing, staff are plesent and chatty.
I was with my betterhalf and our two kids(6 and 10), we went to our designated room only to find someone already booked into it , but the staff sorted this small problem out very quickly , without fuss ,the room was large with a doublebed and two single beds , flat screen tv , dont remember to much after that .
We did find the lift very tight and the landing door is to close to the lift.
We had room servis in the morning and the food was hot and plentyfull and tasted great, room servis is charged at 3euro per person but they waved this charge. I would go back again , if only to see what is like without a weding.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerilie, Public Relations Manager at Clanard Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Martin G

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Clanard Court Hotel on TripAdvisor.

Firstly, may I apologise for the mix up with your room allocation on checking in, however I'm glad our reception team got your sorted quickly on the day.

A Wedding day at the Hotel is a very special day for the family and friends of the couple and in most cases a sizeable portion of the guests are staying at the Hotel. However, as you can imagine, with a Wedding all the guests are arriving at once which makes the Lobby a hive of activity. The reception desk is located at the rear of the Lobby so as not to detract from the festivities of the Wedding celebrations.

We would be delighted to have you visit us again to experience the Hotel when there is not a wedding in-house. We have some great midweek breaks that offer great value and the opportunity to explore Kildare's surrounds.

Kind regards

Nerilie Watson
PR & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clanard Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanard Court Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Athy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Athy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Athy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clanard Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clanard Court Hotel combines a modern and homely design in a luxury family-run hotel setting with a uniquely refreshing and very personal experience.Set just 1km from the heritage town of Athy and surrounded by the jewels of the equine county of Kildare, the charms of the midlands and the bustle of Kilkenny, Carlow, Portlaoise and Dublin are never far away.The Hotel offers superb dining options with Bailey's Bar & Brasserie with music in the Bar every Saturday night. You can also relax and unwind in the Hotel's very own Revive Treatment Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clanard Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanard Court Athy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clanard Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.