We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stepping Stone Bed and Breakfast with Cooky Monsters cafe to your Saves list
Stepping Stone Bed and Breakfast with Cooky Monsters cafe
Bridia Valley, Glencar, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Glencar B&B and Inns
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Remote and scenic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Incredible location right in the middle of the mountains of Kerry. Very hospitable. Felt like my own home. There are hiking trails that start right outside the front gate into the mountains including Macgillycuddy's Reeks and Carrantuohill. Incredibly full irish breakfast with sausage, bacon, black and white pudding, beans, mushrooms, egg, bread, cereal, yogurt, fruit and tea/coffee. Cooky Monster's cafe is great. Crunchy chocolate chip cookies.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We put up our tent in the little campsite of the Stepping stone B&B and enjoyed every minute of it! With the directions on their website we had no problem finding them! Upon arriving we received a warm welcome by John and his lovely wife Sandy and Lily the little dog. The location is perfect for hiking the Kerry way, which we did. John knows every hike in the surrounding and has maps available.
John is a perfect guide to the area and also a very good cook, the dinner we had was delicious and you have to taste the self made ice cream!

We would recommend this B&B/campsite to anyone who is looking for some quiet getaway in the middle of the beautiful irish nature.

Room Tip: we did not stay in a room but on the campsite (two tents permitted so no noisy camping feeling)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent a fine weekend camping at Stepping Stones. Although we came fully equipped, John was happy to help make our stay as comfortable as possible. The facilities were all well maintained and clean and the site perfect.
With access directly onto the Kerry way, the walking was great, and John helped us plan our route up Carrauntoohil.
Certainly recommend this spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here a couple of days for Christmas. Never felt so at home and welcome in a bed and breakfast before. John and Sandy were more than welcoming; we enjoyed John's stories about the area and Sandy's Christmas cake and mulled wine. We had a fantastic 4 course dinner at Christmas eve and even got a box of chocolates at Christmas morning. The area is beautiful as its in the middle of the mountains and on the Kerry route. Definitely will be staying here the next time we're visiting Kerry.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

On a recent trip to Kerry a group of us went astray while walking on the Kerry Way. We were getting worried as it was getting dark, there were gale force winds and driving rain and we were miles from where we should have been. Fortunately, we stumbled upon the Cookie Monster Cafe and what could have been a crisis became just an inconvenience. This was due to the warm welcome, great hospitality and helpful attitude of the proprietors of this Cafe/B&B. We were shown to the wooden house where we were able to replace our drenched clothes with dry ones, we got endless pots of tea (just as it says on the website), delicious scones and a minibus service was was recommended and called to take us back to our cars. So, well done and thank you so much. We hope to come & stay sometime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

John and Sandy gave us a great welcome (complimentary home made scones and tea/coffee extremely welcome after a lovely long walk) and we had a fabulous one night stay. The food was wonderful, all home made and very reasonable. It felt like staying in a good friends home and even better we were provided with fabulous weather! A real find and surrounded by the most amazing countryside - don't miss an opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

After having found this place accidentually while driving through Bridia Valley a few years ago, and having liked the "Stepping Stone" right away, I went back there with my fiance, this summer. We had the best of times at this beautifully renovated and decorated little house in the middle of nowhere and felt so welcome we decided to return and stay for two more days to enjoy the wonderful area and as guests of two of the nicest people I met throughout my travels through Ireland.
In every room of the house you can feel, how much time, thought and love were put into making this cottage what it is today. John and Sandy Heppell were nice enough to tell us about finding this place and transforming it into this cozy B&B.
John and Sandy were the loveliest hosts, making us feel welcome at all times, telling us about the area and providing us with delicate food like homemade Scones and Cookies, Icecream (try Johns brown-bread and Irish cream if you get the opportunity!) great sandwiches and fantastic evening meals, using products of the area wherever possible.
We will always remember the time spent at the "Stepping Stone"and the evenings with Sandy and John and hope to return to Bridia Valley real soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stepping Stone Bed and Breakfast with Cooky Monsters cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stepping Stone Bed and Breakfast with Cooky Monsters cafe

Address: Bridia Valley, Glencar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glencar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Glencar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glencar mountain location One of Kerry's hidden gems when walking the Kerry Way the Stepping Stone With Cooky Monster's cafe is the place to stay & should not be missed. Great Welcome, the very best of home cooked food, Great place. The nearest Accommodation,Cafe & Camping to Carrauntoohil.Stunning unique Location, Expect the unexpected Surrounded by Curraghmore 822mtrs, Caher 1001mtrs, Carrauntoohil 1039mtrs, Broaghnabinna 745mtrs,Duff 784mtrs, Namweela 663mtrs, Knockaunanattin 569mtrs & Mullaghanattin 773mtrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stepping Stone Bed and Breakfast with Cooky Monsters cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stepping Stone Bed and Breakfast with Cooky Monsters cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.