We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Home Base For Dingle Peninsula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ceann Tra Heights Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ceann Tra Heights Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ceann Tra Heights Bed and Breakfast
Ventry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Ventry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Central Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Great Home Base For Dingle Peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ceann Tra Heights is one of just a handful of Irish BB's that establish a Standard that all other BB's should have to meet. Steven and Mary actually enjoy what they do and provide a wonderful venue that is clean, neat, with a large bedroom and bathroom. We had the room with two beds and a front view. Mary's breakfast was legendary while Steve sees to all the chores around the house.
Ventry actually has a triad of Bed and Breakfasts that all know each other so, when there's a shortfall in a schedule- if possible- they all pitch in to help each other. Such is the case here. In fact, one if the Sister's of another BB was helping Mary who had bursitis during our visit.
Once arriving upon driving in from Adare, By dumb luck, we spotted Ceann Tra Heights while passing through town and headed up the driveway. ...Mary was quick to tell us our 1st nights accommodation had overbooked in error and we were moved. Nice to know , as we could have been left in the cold.
We used Ventry and this great B&B as home base to tour of the Dingle Peninsula including the remarkable journey up Slea Head Drive, Mount Brandon, Dunberg Fort, the Blasket Island Museum, the Kilmalkekedar Norman Church, several Celtic Graveyards, and the forgotten (seldom mentioned) Rahinnane Castle. Lets not forget Dingle Town, just 10-15 minute drive to town for shopping , the Aquarium and lunch.
You'll want to heed the other reviews mentioning Mary's recommendation of The Skipper Seafood Restaurant....As its too dangerous to drink and drive all the way back to Ventry from Dingletown. We ate there 2 nights and would have gone back for a 3rd but, they were closed in a storm. So, we stopped by the market bought Cheese, Fresh Bread, Wine and fresh Salmon/Ham brought it back to the B&B and had dinner there. Steve and Mary are very accommodating and easy to be with. I think they made our trip to Dingle. Thanks folks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was a fabulous choice. The view from the grounds in the morning was spectacular, looking over Dingle Bay. The house was lovely; Mary was a great hostess. She suggested we eat dinner at The Skipper Restaurant, just down the hill from the B&B and we were blown away by eat. It was the best meal we had the entire time we were in Ireland. We will definitely make this a place to return to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, mi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a lovely B&B overlooking Dingle Bay and only a short, easy drive to Dingle. Rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet. We used it as a base for a two day exploration of the Peninsula and taking in the music of Dingle. We can recommend it to all travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I am drawn back to Ventry and Ceann Tra Heights year after year. This is primarily due to the amazing reception of hosts Mary and Steve Carroll, impeccable service and breathtaking location of this stellar B&B.
Ceann Tra Heights is only 5 minutes walk to the beautiful Ventry Bay, where you can have a spectacular walk along the beach with views of Mount Eagle. Ventry village itself is quaint where on a sunny day you wouldn’t want to be anywhere else but Quinns pub sitting outside watching the world go by.
I highly recommend Ceann Tra Heights to anyone travelling in the direction of Dingle or West Kerry - this year, I am coming back for the breakfast alone – it’s that good!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north augusta sc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We loved our one night stay at Mary's wonderful B&B. Very comfortable, clean, friendly....fantastic breakfast. Mary was a lovely host...even though we were out touring and did not spend a lot of time here at the house. I would recommend this B & B without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Mary was a lovely host. Our room was nice and warm, with a great bathroom attached. Mary also sent us to The Skipper for dinner and it was one of the best meals we had during our time in Ireland!! The house sits up on a hill that overlooks the bay and is within easy walking distance to the village. We only wish we had a bit more time to spend exploring the Slea Head Drive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights with Mary and Steven and wish we could have spent far more time at this amazing B&B and this beautiful, quaint seaside town! The house is perfectly situated for taking walks along the beach or venturing by car to see all that Dingle has to offer. The room we had was extremely comfortable and the bath was a perfect size for the two of us to share. Each morning's breakfast was incredible, with a fantastic selection of food choices given (that you choose the night before) and the food carried us well into the day, often far past lunch.

Both Mary and Steven were the kindest, and most friendly of all the B&B operators we experienced in our two weeks in Ireland and I wouldn't hesitate to come back for another stay. In fact, next time we may just spend the whole time in Ventry at this wonderful B&B!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ceann Tra Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceann Tra Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: Ventry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Ventry
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet country home overlooking Ventry Harbour & Dingle Bay .on Slea Head drive.Sea & mountain views from rooms.5 minute walk to safe sandy beach.Horse riding near by.King size beds in 2 bedrooms .double & single bed in3rd. room , one double & 2 single beds in 4th room.Sitting room for guests.Tea/coffee making facilities in all bedrooms.Breakfast menu., & home baking. Golf & Eco tours arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ceann Tra Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceann Tra Heights b&b
Ceann Tra Heights Hotel Ventry
Ceann Tra Heights Bed And Breakfast Ireland/Ventry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceann Tra Heights Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.