We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"An amazing find"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic and Prehistoric Museum

Celtic and Prehistoric Museum
Slea Head Route | Kilvicadownig, Ventry, Ireland
353 (0)66 9159191
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Ventry
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"An amazing find"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Here we were travelling around the Dingle only to find many sites closed, impossible to find, impossible to access (private property) when we came upon this quirky museum. Harris, the owner, and a former resident of my home state had acquired over many years a vast collection of Celtic treasures including many rare animal artifacts both man-made and of animal origin.

I admire his perseverance in gathering and displaying his personal collection, now shared with the public. We should have more self-made and self-motivated keepers of history and archaeology. His boyhood love of history and archaeology just might inspire your kids to think about careers out-of-their electronic hand-held devices. We could use a few more Harris Moore museum proprietors not only on Ireland but in the US and Canada where we originated!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    21
    5
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Britain, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This may seem strange, but I suggest you check out the reviews by people who rated this place 'terrible.' Each of those reviews is answered by the owner in a way that's both humorous and informative. He tells you most anything you need to know about his interesting little museum in his to-the-point retorts.

We happened by the building while exploring the Dingle peninsula, and we're really glad we did. A completely unexpected pleasure.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembroke
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is only a small place but it has some museum quality specimens that shouls not be missed. My grandson bought some dinosaur poo as a souvenir! It is a real gem of a place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than we bargained for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Celtic and Prehistoric Museum is definitely worth a stop. We especially loved seeing the Wooly Mammoth tusks and some petrified squid beautifully polished.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Make this a destination on your Dingle Peninsula holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The windswept Dingle Peninsula has so much to offer the adventurer, but you don't want to miss the Celtic and Prehistoric Museum run by the multi-talented Harris Moore! The collection was fascinating, from ancient fossils and stone axes to Celtic jewelry and carved figurines, you could discover for hours at the museum. And when you're finally exhausted from the breadth of the collection, Harris just might play a tune for you on his hammered dulcimer-a very special treat- You will want to collect his CD's as well!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celtic and Prehistoric Museum also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Ventry, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry
 

Been to Celtic and Prehistoric Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic and Prehistoric Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.