We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat You Like Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stonehouse Restaurant

The Stonehouse Restaurant
Slea Head Drive (R559), Ventry, Ireland
066 9159970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 restaurants in Ventry
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Treat You Like Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

About a month ago, my dad and I traveled around Ireland. One of the most personable places that we stopped was at the Stone House Restaurant. Dave and Paul were warm, welcoming and took care of my 78-year old father as though he was their own dad. We ordered dessert and Irish Coffee and they took care of us as though we had ordered a full meal. I will definitely make a point to visit every time I am able to return to Ireland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    178
    35
    2
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They even had donkeys (not on the menu!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stopped for lunch on our way out on Slea Head Drive. The food was lovely and fresh. My mom had hot chocolate with Baileys which must have been good because she didn't share. This place had a cozy, relaxed atmosphere and a gorgeous view. My daughter was particularly taken with the donkeys outside. She didn't stop talking about them for days!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“A Must-Stop Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Decided to stop at the Stonehouse Restaurant because of its all stone walls and roof. It was the most pleasurable stop we made on our trip to the West Coast of Ireland. Dave Foran and his wife Michelle could not have been more welcoming. We immediately felt at home. The food looked tremendous and other people we spoke to raved about the wonderful taste. Dave pours a wonderful pint of Guiness. You can not drive around the Dingle Peninsula without stopping at the Stonehouse Restaurant in Ventry. It will be a highlight of your trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST PINT IN IRELAND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Stone House is a must stop on the Slea Head drive .With out a doubt the BEST PINT IN IRELAND along with the best view .If the sun is out it will remind you of Maui. The owners make you feel at home, don't miss it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Pint in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The second day off the plane from Boston Massachusetts on October 24, 2013 we stopped by the Stonehouse Ventry while driving Slea Head drive on the Dingle peninsula in Western Ireland. The restaurant was very unique and totally made out of stone - roof and all!!! The Manager Dave Foran was very welcoming and I must say that he pours the best Pint of Guiness I have ever had!!! We only had drinks but the plates of food that went by us while sitting outside at the tables enjoying the views of the Atlantic Ocean looked tremendous. This is a must stop for all travelers who pass through on Slea Head drive. I will absolutely stop at Stonehouse Ventry again on my next trip back to Ireland.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stonehouse Restaurant also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to The Stonehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stonehouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.