We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ventry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
R559 Slea Head Drive | Ballymore, Ventry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Ventry B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very welcoming B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

The accomodation was very good and there is a charming reading room with a lot of informations on Dingle. Les and Jenny take good care of theirs guest. The only B & B with a menu for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

If you are looking for a B&B with a beautiful view, this is the place to stay. Simple but very well kept rooms. A little on the small size, but extremely comfortable! Extremely gracious hosts!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We had a wonderful time while staying at the Ballymore House! Les and Jenny were so fun to talk to, gave us tons of helpful advice on what to do and where to eat, and made our stay memorable. The breakfasts were quite tasty, great coffee, great little extra toiletries in the room, snacks, games, books, maps, you name it and they had it.

It was a short drive to Dingle, such a cute town. Everyone must check out the beer garden downtown. Sit near the heat lamp and drink a pint. The drive, with many historic and beautiful stops, along Slea Head was great for exploring and taking pictures of the Dingle Peninsula and its many treasures.

Thank you, Les and Jenny! We were blessed to have met you! :) (And Mr. Leo, the cat! We loved him!)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielson, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

This was our first trip to Ireland and my husband's first experiences with B&Bs. Our hosts went out of theait way to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was great and being from New England our morning coffee is important. They made great coffee!
The cleanliness of the room was just as perfect as well. If traveling to DIngle for the first time and not sure where to stay; Ballymore House is the place to choose. You won't want to leave. Close to everything and distant enough to be very peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed here last week and were very happy. Les and Jenny are very friendly and will make you feel at home. A short ride to Dingle Town Center. Rooms were clean and the breakfast was great. House overlooks a small inlet and a dairy farm across the street. Nice area for a morning stroll. I took one star off for location only because I like to walk to the pub at night. If you want quiet and don't mind a 2 minute drive to the pub it's 5 stars. We had 4 rooms and everyone found them clean and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed at Ballymore House with our granddaughter; there were some wonderful things about it, but a negative, too. Our hosts, Jenny and Les, were genuinely friendly and helpful. We were greeted with a pot of tea and excellent cake; they had maps and restaurant menus on hand as well. They served a delicious breakfast, which we rated as "best on our trip'! There were many choices, fresh fruit and juice, etc. We had a view of the water from our room (the B&B is not directly on the water). The B&B is not in Dingle, but is several miles away in Ventry. It is easy to find, however. The negative was the size of our room; perhaps it would have been all right with only a double bed, but with a single bed as well, there was barely enough room to walk around. The bathroom (toilet and shower) was equally small (the sink was outside, in the bedroom). The beds were very comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean, but it was a very cramped space. So we would recommend it with some reservations, especially if there are three in your party.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Les and Jenny are fabulous hosts. Breakfasts are tasty and plentiful. I particularly enjoyed the local smoked salmon and the fresh baked scones. Be sure to get Les to sing the song about "The Rose" for you!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast

Address: R559 Slea Head Drive | Ballymore, Ventry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Ventry
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ventry
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast Ireland/Ventry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.