We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home cooked to perfection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Builin Blasta

Builin Blasta
An Ceardlann | Main Street, Spiddal, Ireland
091 558559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Spiddal
Cuisines: Contemporary, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“home cooked to perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Unexpected good quality home cooked food to perfection at very reasonable price, four of us visited this lovely hideaway in Spiddail co. Galway. To my surprise the menu was varied, we had no difficulty selecting our dishes the smoked salmon salads were delightful while the scrambled egg and smoked salmon was a treat not to mention the various breads supplied can also recommend the pork dish, wines are very reasona,blue priced. The desserts are to die for, followed by good coffee. Will have to visit again when in area, the staff are efficient and friendly

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    21
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great food, very nice staff. A little cramped but food more than makes up for that. Definitely recommended

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Busy cozy cafe at Craft Village in Spiddal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very busy place, clean, bright, energetic staff, great selection of baked goods, sandwiches and entrees with a good menu selection. Open until 7:00 p.m. in the summer, so if you want to eat early in Spiddal which has only one other real restaurant, this might be the place to go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“an unexpected pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

visited Builin Blasta as part of the parental migration to see children in the Gaelteacht and was delighted to encounter a friendly reasonably priced cafe which produces beautifully prepared food . It is simple but gorgeous and the deserts are magnificent (slightly expensive for the deserts but hard not to try) Staff are helpful in the midst of the chaos of parents seeking to feed their young on a rainy day. Plenty of parking but you have to keep an eye out for the restaurant as it is at the entrance to Spiddal in the middle of craft shops.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Forget what I ate here, but it was delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I joined to review a different restaurant but this was suggested to me for review as it's in my area. The food is very well prepared - fresh and tasty. The portions are also pretty large by Irish standards, I would say and I know I couldn't finish my meal.

There are cheaper options in the same area but the standard of what they make there is unmatched so you definitely get what you pay for.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Builin Blasta also viewed

Spiddal, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Builin Blasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Builin Blasta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.