We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in Spiddal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spiddal Holiday Homes

Spiddal Holiday Homes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spiddal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spiddal Holiday Homes
Save
You added Spiddal Holiday Homes to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Coast Road, Spiddal, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Spot in Spiddal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just back from a two week stay in one of these holiday homes. Found the site to be lovely with 2 playgrounds, tennis court and football/basket ball hard pitch plus a games room. Our house was very spacious and bedrooms are large if basic. There is a distinct cottagey type feel to the houses and the slightly dated decor/furniture reflects this. Spiddal itself is a beautiful place with wonderful beaches and walks. The houses are 1.2 miles from the nearest beach and Spiddal town itself. Manager could not have been more helpful which we appreciated. We had a turf fire one evening - not because of the cold - because we could. A great base for Salthill and Galway itself, which was busy with the Volvo ocean race. Found wonderful restaurants in nearby Bearna and would definately go back again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin,Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in the detached 4 bed house in August opposite the playground .house clean and bright and lots of kids in the surrounding houses for my two to play with ! Only a two minute drive to spiddal town and 20nminutes into Galway city centre. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets from the house with a pink sky stretching over Galway bay to the burren . On site there are two small playgrounds ,donkeys in an adjacent field and a games room. It's a nice elevated location with picnic benches outside and an open fire -perfect for burning Turf in and sitting in front of with a hot whiskey -or 2!!!! Have stayed in these houses twice and would definitely return .

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights over the xmas period and they charged us €29 euro for ELECTRICITY. On arrival I asked the lady could I see a reading and was told that it was not her job.
Also - our room had around 20 bees. We think there were magets under the carpet as more and more arrived even when windows etc were shut.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemel hempstead
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Have stayed a number of times, its got a open fire place so you can burn peat available at the garage in Spiddal, be aware that gas is metered and expensive, so if you visit in the cold months you will need to pay out on this.
The kitchen is well equiped but could do with a few more glasses for guiness.
There is a play ground for the kids and site is safe for kids to run around.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spiddal Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spiddal Holiday Homes

Address: Coast Road, Spiddal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Spiddal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Spiddal
Hotel Class:3 star — Spiddal Holiday Homes 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiddal Holiday Homes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.