We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't class it as a hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of An Cruiscin Lan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spiddal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Cruiscin Lan Hotel
Save
You added An Cruiscin Lan Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street, Spiddal, Spiddal, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Spiddal
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't class it as a hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed here with my parents and aunt for one night. €60 each for the night. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Couln't fault the food in the bar either for dinner or breakfast. However, I wouldn't class this as a hotel, more of a B&B over a Pub and it should be priced as such. We arrived in the evening and had to ask the Barman to check us in. Not the most charming of people! When asked if there was a car park he said to park wherever we liked!! My 3 companions were all in their 80s, there was no lift but I later saw that there was a stair lift that would have been handy for taking the bags upstairs, however our attention was not drawn to this. Later I asked for a bulb to replace the one not working in the bedside lamp to be told that the man who looks after that was gone home!!
Would go back for the food in a heartbeat but won't be staying there again or recommending the accommodation to anyone. If the price was lowered and it was reclassed as a B&B then maybe.

Stayed August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Sorocha and Cian were gracious and friendly as I checked in for a two-night stay. Complimentary breakfast was excellent, along with two dinners. Room rates are reasonable, super clean and neat. Spiddal is a small town with a beautiful view of Galway Bay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Irish stew was veg in water! The worst Irish stew I've had since the 70's when standards in Ireland were at there worst. I am resident here

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We booked this hotel on the wednesday before i came,It was 130 euro for three adults including breakfast ,and i was told for this price i would be given the best room in the house that had a balcony overlooking the sea,on arriving at 3;05pm we were checked in by a woman called saoirse,she gave me the key to the room and when i entered it was far from the room that was described to me on the phone ,so i went down and complained and was told that they didn't know i checked into the best room and that it would not be ready for another 30 minutes.we were waiting over 4O minutes to get into the room we had booked.the room itself was okay nothing special for the price you pay,but the view made up for the room .On checking out the next morning i complained to the woman that checked us in(saoirse} ,that we should give us some sort of discount for the lateness of getting into the room,she was extremely rude and said that we were only waiting 15 minutes and she continued arguing with me until i told her she didn't know anything about customer service she eventually gave us a 2o euro discount ,this lady does not do the hotel any favours and she needs to read up on how to treat customers .it was a good job we didn't come at 2 o clock the time you are supposed to check in at. I have stayed in a lot of places but was never treated so bad by hotel staff as i was by this particular lady.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to An Cruiscin Lan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Cruiscin Lan Hotel

Address: Main Street, Spiddal, Spiddal, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Spiddal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Spiddal
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Cruiscin Lan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.