We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful West Ireland Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier Head

The Pier Head
The Quay, Kinvara, Ireland
+353 91 638188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Kinvara
Cuisines: Dessert, Irish, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located on the quay in the village of Kinvara, breath taking views overlooking the bay and Dunguaire Castle. We cater for all tastes. Daily lunch menu served from 12, a la carte from 5. Large upstairs room overlooking bay can be used for private parties.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Delightful West Ireland Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Our group of seven tried to get in here on Sunday evening, and it was packed, so we decided to try somewhere else since we had two tired children with us. The manager ran out and told us it was only a 25 minute wait and he'd get us a good table. The kids were getting cranky as the evening wore on, so we promised to come again. Glad we did. We ordered calamari, mussels, prawns and chowder amongst us for starters. All were terrific and service very good. For entrees, we feasted on sole, more mussels, prawns, duck and everyone agreed their meal was very well prepared. With two bottles of wine, starters and entrees, we passed on dessert. Service was friendly and so were the patrons. We ended up hanging out at the bar where there was some music and locals gathering for craic and to celebrate a birthday. A very enjoyable dinner and evening. My sister and I actually came back the next day for lunch. Outdoor area has a very scenic view.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    79
    31
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great spot great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed in Kinvara last weekend to meet some friends from overseas for a game of golf. Kinvara was really busy as it should be in August. We forgot to book a meal on the Saturday night. I walked down to the Pier Head at about 5pm to find Mike up to his eyes with a full restaurant. I asked for a table for 8 at 8, he just laughed, but said he would try and do something for us for 9.30. We arrived at 8.30 to a packed restaurant.
True to his word he had organised a table for us upstairs. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful for such a busy time. Very well trained. Got some wine on the table quickly (always a good thing!!) and took our order without delay. The food was excellent and well presented. In particular I would recommend the calamari and chorizo starter which was very well presented, and tender. Evan a rare fillet was delivered a point. Not always a common occurence at 10pm on a sat night. Also had an interesting Voignier/shiraz wine from Yalumba, drank like a good pinot.

Well done Mike and team at the Pier Head.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Sodbury
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

This pub is like many on the west coast of Ireland, in a fantastic location so customers are plentiful! Food was very good as was the service, just a little too rushed! Would try again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Located on waterfront with beautiful view of Kinvara Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Cosy welcoming restaurant. I was here with a cycling tour group and the meal was excellent! Great service and wonderful staff. Loved the view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner with a fantastic view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We dined at Pier Head a number of times while staying in Kinvara and were never disappointed. The view is truly excellent and we had great service. Harvey was our server each time and he could not have been more pleasant or attentive. The food was perfectly prepared and each dish was amazing. Harvey recommended the wine which was just what we were looking for. We were a group of family and friends celebrating a birthday and we could not have chosen better. We returned a number of times.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Head also viewed

 
Kinvara, County Galway
 

Been to The Pier Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pier Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.