We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier Head

The Pier Head
The Quay, Kinvara, Ireland
+353 91 638188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Kinvara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Dessert, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located on the quay in the village of Kinvara, breath taking views overlooking the bay and Dunguaire Castle. We cater for all tastes. Daily lunch menu served from 12, a la carte from 5. Large upstairs room overlooking bay can be used for private parties.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Friendly ,great food and atmosphere.best place to eat in town.Visited in February and needed to book for the saturday night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    88
    34
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Food was to die for the wine was great. Staff and service amazing! The view....oh wow the view. At sunset its breat taking!
But be aware all of this does not come cheaply.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A MUST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Most definitely the best situated restraunt in Kinvara, with fantastic views of the bay, this restraunt is recommended by myseld and my family and friends. I always bring any visitors here and they are never disapointed with the menue. one of the best things about this restraunt is that it is owned by the Burkes and they have their own cattle and own abattoir and all the beef is 100% irish and fresh. the menue is varied but if you are meat lover you can rest asured of fresh local beef. The staff are friendly and happy to help. I would recommend a visit, and in the summer season the bar is always buzzing with visitors from near and far. When you are finished with you delicious meal, you can pop in next door to the bar to enjoy some local craic and conversation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co. down n. ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, busy pub/restuarant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Modern friendly restuarant with varied menu. Fresh fish a specality. Seating inside and out - depending on weather. Plenty of opportunity to people watch. Parking not a problem. Seemed to be frequented by locals as well as visitors Superb location right beside the pier, (as name suggests), where you can arrange boat trips as you wish

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“This place should be rated #1 in Kinvara!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What more can I say about this place than, "WOW, WOW, WOW!" Came here one Sunday afternoon with a friend for lunch, and I was pleased with my whole experience--right from the start! #1: The staff was very attentive, checking in throughout the meal to see if there was anything more that was needed or desired, #2: The food was cooked to perfection and tasted amazing! I had the duck in the orange sauce and it was lovely! #3: The prices were just right--I was really surprised for all the food you got, the quality of it, and still, all a reasonable price! Finally, you can sit by the windows and look out at the sea--and I am pretty sure there is outside seating during the summer! You can bet I will come back here the next time I am in Kinvara!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Head also viewed

 
Kinvara, County Galway
 

Been to The Pier Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pier Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.