We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gentian Cafe and Wine Bar

The Gentian Cafe and Wine Bar
The Quay, Kinvara Galway, Ireland
0035391637934
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Kinvara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $38
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Contemporary, Wine Bar, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our 'Gentian @ St Georges' is a brasserie with a twist: serving dishes to share with robust, sunny flavours, typically from a contemporary Irish, European palette with good old comfort food thrown in, The Gentian's ethos is one of quality, innovation, freshness and abundance with comfort and friendliness thrown in. Our coffee already has a reputation.....We will be looking after you all day, with substantial breakfast, lunch and dinner menus.The setting is informal with local stone and splashes of colour; Burren and south Galway, blended with funky london, has a relaxed cosy, curl up feel, with windows looking out over the Kinvara bay - colour and comfort, space for reading chatting, meeting up or getting way from it all.
riverton
1 review
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Best chicken, mozzarella, pesto wrap. My husband got the club but was jealous of my wrap after I gave him a few bites. Great service and atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in ireland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My 3 year old son and I have been here several times on saturday mornings and on all occasions I must complement on some consistently wonderful food. I had a fabulous mini breakfast; the best i've had and my son had porridge and fruits of the season and finished it all. Staff are nice and friendly, warm and clean environnent and the price is just right. Keep up the high standards and attention to detail.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were battling to find a restaurant open in February - until we discovered the Gentian in Kinvara. What a lovely surprise! Fresh and slightly unusual fayre - such as spanakopita and delicious mushroom soup. The service was a little slow; probably due to the out-of-season time? Overall friendly and easy. It has the feel of a home kitchen; I will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Anazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful beautiful tasty food. Lovely staff.
Gorgeous location. Great value.
Definitely be back soon

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy Breakfast....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Was lucky to get one of the window seats for breakfast...mini-breakfast only €5.95 including the best coffee!!! Lovely and relaxed...friendly staff and quick service! Highly recommend...Can't wait for my next visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gentian Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

 
Kinvara, County Galway
Kinvara, County Galway
 

Been to The Gentian Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gentian Cafe and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.