We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tide Full Inn

The Tide Full Inn
Main Street, Kinvara, Ireland
091 637400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Kinvara
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Being Italian I'm a bit of a pizza snob. The pizza was good but the base was too thin, similar to turkish flat bread. The pizza I ordered didn't have cheese on it. I don't remember if it said that on the menu. I just thought it would have. None the less it was tasty. The olives were nice and so was the wine. I would go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    11
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Youngish atmosphere that was enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Luckily jagged the window seat on a sunny evening, Enjoyed our wine and pizza. Very satisfying

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food fine, service poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have eaten in The Tide Full Inn on many occasions since it opened. Because I am with children, we generally have pizza which is consistently pretty good.

However, when it comes to service, I find it disappointing in general. It's hard to pinpoint but, although there's a waitress who is friendly, the proprietors rarely are (unless, it seems, you are a local, well-known to them, for whom they seem to have plenty of time to chat) and the atmosphere couldn't be described as warm.

On a recent weekend visit - Saturday May 19th - we went in for lunch around 1:00pm and were handed the usual menu. Not wanting pizzas or main courses, we asked what soup and sandwiches they had only to be told that they only did soup and sandwiches on Mondays through Fridays. This in a tourist village? Come on! Considering that the chalk-board outside on the pavement clearly stated (I have a photo!): "Trattoria Restaurant Open. From 12:00 to 5pm: Soup, Pasta, Pizza, Quiche, Sandwiches, Local Mussels, Oysters, Salad, Homemade Cakes, Mix Salami (sic) & Cheese...", this is a joke.

They do not take credit or debit cards which, in this day and age, is a major drawback. They state on their website, "In order to bring you the highest quality food at the most reasonable prices, we only accept cash" before referring you to ATMs in local grocery stores. If only the prices could be described as reasonable; they are somewhat on the high side.

They do not take bookings either. With so few restaurants in Kinvara - the St George Café seems to have recently closed - they are probably assured of a constant passing tourist trade and thus the focus does not seem to be on those of us who could, with better service, become regulars.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy pizzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Ordered a takeaway pizza and brought back to my B&B. It was delicious. Nice and hot and enough for 3 of us.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I eat here with every chance I get. This is yummy warm you up REAL Italian cooking. The best food I had in Italy was without a doubt in the most basic restaurants that felt like the front room of someones house, with little physical appeal but food that made your tastebuds melt. This is one of those restaurants...it isn't the most beautiful place, yet it has it's charm...but the food is delicious. This is the only place i would spend money on lasagna (no sloppy tomato sauce!!)...it still keeps me guessing what the secret ingredient is....nutmeg?!!?! The antipasto is the best i've had - rustic, the way it should be. But best of all - the pizza. Finally, a wafer thin base..hallelujah! I will happily finish any pizza here without feeling positively ill afterwards from dough overdose. Try the La Mamma white pizza with gorgonzola, spiced sausage and shaved mushrooms, washed down with a glass of red...inspired! :D Oh, and best of all - you won't break the bank...just make sure you bring cash, as no cards accepted here (it cuts costs for everyone!)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tide Full Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Tide Full Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tide Full Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.