We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinvara Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kinvara Guesthouse to your Saves list
Kinvara Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Square, Kinvara, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Kinvara B&B and Inns
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great value, great comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Don't be fooled by the seemingly small exterior and seeming lack of quaint charm of the Kinvara Guest House. Good things await behind the simple facade! The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with comfortable beds, in room hair dryers, and plenty of floor and closet space. Everything was impeccably clean and neat, without a lot of extraneous decor. Each room had a nice view of the town or the burren, with these nifty windows that opened to create a small balcony.

Breakfast was included in the price, with a choice of cold and hot, freshly cooked-to-order items, including a full Irish breakfast. The service was excellent and the croissants alone were worth the calories!

After a long day of exploring, we were able to gather with our friends in a comfortable lounge area that had a TV and a computer--very convenient. We stayed two nights and wished we had used Kinvara as home base for a full four days.

This is a great spot for exploring the Burren area and comfortable for couples as well as families.
We would certainly go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Burren
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    24
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
62
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I think my English is still not good enough to describe how lovely is this place.
With no hesitation I can tell that the Kinvara Guesthouse is the best choice you can make if you want to spend a few memorable days on the west coast. Friendly staff, home atmosphere, very clean and spacious rooms and delicious food will make you want to come back. Dungory Castle is in the 5 minutes walk distance, Doolin (with cruises to Inis Mor and Achill Island) close enough. Aillwee Cave and Birds of pray is one of these 'must see'. But you wouldn't really enjoy all these entertainments without a vision of comfy bed after a very busy day.

Room Tip: Rooms without the ocean view are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I just stayed 2 nights at the Kinvara Guesthouse. My room was very spacious, extremely clean and comfortable with an excellent bed and plenty of room. Good internet connectivity and a great breakfast. Kinvara is a great location---some amazingly beautiful sights within an easy drive. Don't miss this part of Ireland and consider Kinvara as your base for at least a couple of days. I'm looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Kinvara is a small enough town so nowhere is that far away but this is the most central location available. The guest house was really clean and Good value too at €70 per night on a bank holiday wk end. There was a pleasant atmosphere and it felt more like a cosy hotel than a guesthouse. A really nice breakfast buffet spread with fresh pineapple and strawberries, yoghurts, croissants and other pastries. The cooked breakfast wasn't brilliant but the buffet more than made up for it. All rooms have a fob so you dont have those awkward hotel room keys in hotels - made it easier to get it and out. (not a big deal but I liked it). Plenty parking available both on street and at the door of the guesthouse. Spoilt for choice for great pubs and places to eat at your door step. I would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

First - Kinvara is the nicest little place, you definitely have to get out here even if it's just for a day. Second - BEST hotel! Such a nice home away from home. The rooms were impeccably clean, comfortable, large. It was a great hotel! I would stay here again in a second! We left our windows open at night since it was a little warm - and the traffic outside was deceivingly loud. It must be a transit route for trucks or something, I'd avoid getting a room facing the main street next time. Honestly, such a great hotel. Thinking about it is making me want to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent a night in this lovely guesthouse--last minute decision. It was clean, spacious, and offered a full breakfast. The guesthouse is nicely situated right in the centre of town, across from a pub that had traditional live music. You can walk most anywhere and there is a farmer's market right adjacent to the guesthouse on Fridays. You must move your car to make room for it!

Room Tip: We didn't have a view but our room was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cetnral Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Clean, covenant and well-located (both in the village and in proximity to Galway. Had a great room on the top floor with with walkout skylight that afforded views of the harbor and the sea. Very helpful staff, clean spacious room, and good breakfast to start us on our way the next day.

Room Tip: be sure to get a room on the top floor with the walkout skylight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinvara Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinvara Guesthouse

Address: The Square, Kinvara, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kinvara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kinvara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinvara Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinvara Guesthouse is a delightful, new, luxurious Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the picturesque fishing village of Kinvara. With unrivaled natural beauty on its doorstep, this beautiful guesthouse is ideally positioned at the gateway to the spectacular Burren Region and on the shores of Galway Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kinvara Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinvara Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.