We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the weekend exceeded all expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burren Yoga & Meditation Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinvara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burren Yoga & Meditation Centre
Lig do Scith, Cappaghmore, Kinvara, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Sandymount, Dublin
1 review
“the weekend exceeded all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

I visited for a three day weekend in October/November 2008.
The yoga classes were given by Ciara Cronin ,an exceptional
teacher who challenged both novices and those with some experience. Instructions were clearly communicated and
individual attention was available. The three sessions a day
were punctuated by tasty vegetarian meals prepared by
an accomplished chef (Paddi) and there was a daily trip
into the unique Burren landscape which was capped off
by a lunch in a local hostelry . The centre itself is
cozy with subfloor heating and comfortable furnishings.
There were eleven attendees the weekend I was there
and no body knew anyone before we got there.We all left
with renewed energy and a plan that we would all return for the same weekend next year.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    16
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
9
129
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

One of the prerequisites of arriving for a week or weekend at the Burren Yoga & Meditation Centre is that you leave the outside world behind you. This is so easy to do. Upon arrival at dusk in February '09, I was enchanted by the garden lights that lead me along a pathway to the front door. Entering the centre, I was imediately struck by the peace, warmth and tranquility. As a solo traveller, I found it easy to get to know my fellow participants, a lovely mixed bunch of people, all quite focused on the weekend ahead. Debbie Corradino was our teacher for the weekend. She guided us through six sessions of meditation and yoga postures. We were well fed by Paddi and her incredible vegetarian cuisine. We walked through the burren and up Mullaghmor. We woke on Sunday to snow that looked like icing sugar on the surrounding hills. I left on Sunday afternoon feeling completely at one with the world and resolved to return again in the very near future. Thank you to all at the centre.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

I have spent the most wonderful and life changing weekend at the Burren Yoga centre. The course was Satyananda Yoga with Tadhg Ferriter, the pace was perfect, the instructions were so clear and the classes were truly special with some fun thrown in. The accommodation is lovely and very comfortable and Paddi is a phenomenal cook, the whole place has a wonderful relaxed feel about it.

Thanks to Dave, Paddi and Tadhg, I will definitely be back for another course.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

I recently attended the detox course at the Burren yoga and meditation centre with Dave Brocklebank and Miriam Gormley ( and Jeanann). This was my third time visiting the centre and I thoroughly enjoyed every minuteof it. I would reccomend going there to anyone. Dave Brocklebank the owner picks the best yoga teachers for the weekends every aspect of the weekend is well thought out and planned. The location is picturesque, vegetarian food is amazing beyond belief, and the centre is warm and inviting to everyone who goes either alone or in groups it doesn't matter. There is something lovely about being able to escape the hustle and bustle of the city and take time out of life for yourself , and the burren yoga centre is ideal for this type of getaway.

Sile rose Henehan. Detox course January 30th 2009

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

I went to the Burren Yoga Centre in July 2008, for a week-long yoga course as a way of marking a milestone birthday. I went alone, and shared a dorm-style room with four others in a room of 6 beds (bunk beds). There was also the option of a private room. The group had total beginners (like me, never did yoga before then) right through to advanced yoga practitioners, but this was fine in the class as the yoga teacher gave instructions that beginners could follow. As well as yoga classes, we had a group trip every day accompanied by the centre owner Dave and our teacher for the week Niamh. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed, you could hang out with the group or chill and do your own thing – or catch up on sleep! The centre is in the middle of the peaceful Burren, so I was expecting to rough it on a back-to-basics yoga course, but its cosy, clean and warm with beautiful touches like hand-carved wooden beds and tables. Its get back to nature, but in comfort. The all-you-can-eat vegetarian food was so tasty, with a lavish dinner cooked every day by the chef, that I brought home her cookbook and have learned a few new recipies. She even baked a cake for my birthday at the end of the week, what a dote. I would definitely go again. Anne, Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Clare
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

Situated in the heart of the unique Burren landscape, the Burren Yoga and Meditation Centre is ideally situated to provide a haven of calm for yoga practice, or just getting away from it all. I have stayed at the Centre on number of occasions, and would heartily recommend it to anyone practising or wanting to try yoga. There are a lot of different types of yoga on offer, the teachers are well qualified, and the numbers are restricted to 15 per course, which ensures lots of individual attention. The owner, who lives on site, offers guided walks into the area each day. The Centre is relatively isolated, but the directions given to the visitor are excellent. The Centre itself is cosy and welcoming. No shoes are worn inside the buildings, but the underfloor heating keeps the feet cosy. The centre is clean and bright, with lots of natural light. There is a lounge for relaxation, and a reading area. Accommodation is simple but very comfortable with a range of options available. The food, both delicious and nutritious, is provided by a gourmet vegetarian chef who manages to imbue her dishes with the special energy of the place. Staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is ‘home from home’. An excellent massage therapist is available on request. Top marks overall!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

My stay in November '08 was my third stay at the Burren Yoga Centre over the past two years. Each stay has been very enjoyable and relaxing. I've attend Ciara Cronins Ashtanga weekend course which is quite dynamic as well as Tadhg Ferriters Satynanda course which is at a more relaxed pace. I would highly recommend both teachers. The teachers are very supportive so beginners are catered for as well as advanced students.
Paddi's vegetarian food is excellent and the atmosphere is warm, friendly and relaxed.
Location is beautiful and ideal for ensuring a complete switch off from daily routines.
Rose Bain Adare Ireland

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burren Yoga & Meditation Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burren Yoga & Meditation Centre

Address: Lig do Scith, Cappaghmore, Kinvara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Kinvara
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Kinvara
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weekend and week long yoga retreat holidays, all year round for complete beginners and advanced. Beautiful warm comfortable yoga centre with shared and single rooms in spectacular location of the Burren. Outdoor activities in the Burren hills and by the sea, amazing vegetarian food and a warm friendly informal atmosphere. Easy access by air, train, bus or car. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burren Yoga & Meditation Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Burren Yoga & Meditation Centre to your Saves list