We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC FOOD AND FRIENDLY STAFF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eldons Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roundstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eldons Hotel
Main Street, Roundstone, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Leicester
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD AND FRIENDLY STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The food was gorgeous and the staff were very friendly. We ate outside and had two large dogs with us. The staff were very good about stepping around the dogs to serve food and brought water out for the dogs without even being asked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently while on a cycling holiday. The staff was very friendly, location great, food in restaurant was very good. However our room was disappointing. The box spring had mold on it and the mattress pad on my husbands bed had a burn hole. We had to turn the mattress pad around on the bed or else it would have been very scratchy to sleep on. After reading all the other great reviews I think I would try again but request a different room. The village of Roundstone is absolutely lovely! One of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Eldon's. We were there for two nights and couldn't have been happier. The people were so nice and the facilities were great. Breakfast was terrific. I highly recommend staying here if you are lucky enough to get to Roundstone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel is a very nice place in a quaint village. We had a suite with a little balcony that allowed us to see harbor, with a few fishing boats. We were on a cycling holiday with Cycle Holidays Ireland, and we had rode thru Connemara to get to the village. It was the perfect place to stay after the magical ride thru herds of sheep in valleys with streams running from the tops of the hills.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite with the balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in Eldon's with my 3 son's.We had a family room across the road from the hotel with ensuite. The room was good and big and easily accommodated all 4 of us.The Breakfast was nicely cooked and enjoyed by us.The staff were very friendly and made every effort with the children.I would highly recommend this Hotel for a family stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at Eldons during a week long cycling trek. The service was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The pub and community sitting areas were very comfortable and a nice alternative to B & B lodging. The room was more than adequate for the cost. A good choice for a Roundstone stay, right in the center of town. It's a 2 minute walk to O'Dowd's for a wonderful meal, just come very early or have reservations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have just spent two nights at this hotel which is run by Carole Reynolds and her son Philip. The reception was warm, the rooms comfortable and the food, both in the bar and in the restaurant, was very good. Would I stay there again definately yes, and would I recommend it - another big yes - a warm welcome, a great little village and an ideal spot for touring Connemara.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eldons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldons Hotel

Address: Main Street, Roundstone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Eldons Hotel Roundstone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Eldons Hotel to your Saves list