We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet haven in Roundstone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rush Lake House

Rush Lake House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rush Lake House to your Saves list
Rush Lake House
Roundstone, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Sunnyvale, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quiet haven in Roundstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Rush Lake House offers the best of both worlds: it is an easy walk into Roundstone, with its great pubs, art, music, cafes, and seafood, but this B&B is situated on the quiet outskirts of town and set well back from the road, so when you've had enough nightlife, a good night's sleep is assured. The house is surrounded by an extensive, colourful, and imaginatively laid out garden, and the view from the bedroom windows is of green cattle pastures and the sea. When it is dark (not until well after 10 in July), you can see the comforting blinking of two lighthouses in the distance. Huge, fluffy towels are an extra special touch in the ensuite bathrooms. You feel instantly at home thanks to Linda's warm welcome and natural hospitality, and she and Donal generously share information about the Roundstone area and Connemara in general -- be sure to pick up a copy of their guide to local walks. When you stay at Rush Lake, you invariably meet people at breakfast who are "regulars", visitors to Roundstone who wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We simply knocked at the door and we were welcomed in by Linda. We were shown the room available, which was perfect, and there we were for the night. The house is great, the room was most comfortable with an ensuite bathroom attached and tea & coffee facilities provided. No TV but the view from our bedroom more than made up for that. Breakfast the next morning was beautiful. We highly recommend a visit to Roundstone and definitely stay at Rush Lake Cottage. Thank you Linda for a great night's accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

well it is very rare that i ever place a review on a web site but in this case i just have to say a big big thank you to Linda and Donal Nee. i have just become newly engaged and as surprise we spent a weekend away in Round Stone in a fabulous bed and breakfast called Rush Lake house. we had a big welcome at the door and nothing was a big ask. we stayed in a fabulous ensuite room over looking the beauiful island of inishlacken an amazing view. i would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to any couple or family.The breakfast in the morning was amazing and i would love the recipe for the lovely scones... Linda i hope you have the hat ready for the wedding i would love you to come.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Roundstone well what a fab place and perfect for a romantic trip. We have been coming back to the same delightful B & B for the past 3 yrs. Linda, Donal and family are fantastic hosts and always very welcoming and generous with their tea and home made scones!! We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

My mother and I took two rooms in this modern B&B. Each was spacious, bright and clean and large windows allowed a fine view of the bay. The walk into Roundstone was easy and took only a matter of minutes. Our hostess Linda was delightful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Rush Lake house is nicely located, five minutes walk to the village and with lovely views over the sea. The room we had was clean and simple but it was very small, not much room for much beyond the bed (which was comfy), but it did have a lovely view. There is nothing particularly unique about it, but the welcome was warm and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

If you're looking to stay in the beautiful village of Roundstone and want the flexibilty of B&B please do try Rush Lake House. Linda and Donal are wonderful hosts and the rooms are clean and spotless and only a 10 minute stroll into the village. The cooked breakfasts however deserve an award as in my view they are the best in Ireland and really set you up for the day. Great spot, Great people, Great stay - what more could you want from a friendly B&B

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rush Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rush Lake House

Address: Roundstone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rush Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rush Lake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.