We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Roundstone Quay House to your Saves list.
Located on the Working Pier
Located on the Working Pier
Located on the Working Pier
On the water's edge
Double Bedroom with a view!
Living Area
Roundstone
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ruairi73
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay for New Year or any time of year for that matter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

When you drive from Dublin and then turn off from Galway, towards Roundstone, and the scenery starts to change is when you start to switch off and absorb the beauty of the area. And what better place to base yourself than in Quay Cottage. The place is located right on the harbour wall with uninterrupted views across the bay. When you arrive there is everything you need to have a cuppa and look around the house where you will find the most luxurious beds that you'll have to pry yourself out of in the mornings after admiring the view. After a long days hiking, returning to Quay Cottage is a fantastic feeling where you will be able to light a fire to relax in front off and then cook in what has to be the best equipped kitchen I have ever come across in a rental property, before melting in to those beds again. I can not rate this place highly enough... everything, and I mean everything was easy and made to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. And when you discover the background to the couple that own the place it will become apparent why this is.

Roundstone itself is a very friendly place where you will get chatting to people in the bars. We were there for New Year and the place was hopping, however, by the 2nd Jan a lot of people had headed off home and the place went back to a quieter pace of life. If you're there during the busy periods it could be prudent to book a table in O'Dowd's as it gets busy and stays busy.

We would highly recommend going to the national park and a visit to Kylemore Abbey and plenty of walks around Roundstone can be had but would recommend picking up a guide before hand.

And as for Simon's dad, what a character who will lead you astray if you want him too.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Far to many things to mention
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dublin68
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house in amazing location right on harbour front”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

This is a fantastic house in a fantastic setting. Really comfortable, nice open fire and unbelievable views of the mountains and changing Connemara skies. It is steps away from the harbour and lovely village of Roundstone. There are lots of really nice walks which you can start from the house. There is everything you need in the house plus lots of interesting books about the area and fishing rods for those who might be so inclined. You won't want to leave and you will want to go back.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Chantal G
Vannes, France
1 review
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We spent Christmas week with a couple of friends at the Quay Cottage and had a really good time. Simon welcomed us on our arrival with a fire in the cheminey and Christmas candle! The house was very confortable and well furnished. Roundstone is very well located in the heart of Connemara, with lots of walking trails nearby. The pubs nextdoor are a great fun!
We will come back ounce again for sure!
Thanks Anne and Simon for this great place.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view on the harbour and the twelve Bens
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
HovisBap
France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We just loved everything about this fabulous house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have talked about visiting the west coast of Ireland for ages, and finally we managed it. When looking for somewhere to rent my criteria were: (a) overlooking water, (b) an open fire, (c) satellite TV and (d) near a pub. Quay House as the name suggests couldn't really be closer to the water without you getting your feet wet when leaving the house, the view from the lounge is quite simply stunning. The quay is literally a few metres away and the fishing boats moored outside are framed by Connemara's magnificent 12 Bens mountains in the distance. The open peat fire was not essential as the double glazing and excellent central heating heated the house very quickly but nevertheless we had a fire most evenings for the ambiance if nothing else. The flat screen TV received all the UK free to air channels as well as quite a few Sky TV channels such as Discovery and Sky 1 and there was a DVD player. The house is immaculate, with high quality fixtures and fittings, very comfortable beds and a lovely homely feel. The local pubs are literally 2 minutes walk away, we visited them all but spent most time in O'Dowds where they do a great pint of Guinness and serve a good bar menu. We had expected really bad weather at this time of year but we had amazing luck with 5 out of 7 days of sun and blue skies during which we walked and explored the stunning coastline and nearby landscape including the 17th century Ballynahinch Castle grounds. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable week, so a big thank-you to Simon and Anne for renting their amazing house to us, we hope to return again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: View from the lounge window
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tony C
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A really great house in a really beauful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We rented Simon's Quay House in Roundstone for four nights in October. I've stayed in a number of rented houses in Ireland, and I think this is my favourite so far. It is cosy and well furnsihed with a fully equipped kitchen.

The ground floor is bigger than the photos suggest. The bedrooms are large and the king beds are really comfortable.

The picture window in the living room looks out over the pier, the harbour and the mountains. The week we were there the weather was nice with a good bit of sun and only a little rain. The view changes constantly with clouds movements and occasional rain showers. You could sit on the couch and happily watch the view for hours. Real turf fire is cosy and creates a great atmosphere in the winter.

A proper size TV and connections to let you play audio through the surround sound speaker system from your iPod or laptop.

Its 45 seconds walk from O'Dowd's pub restaurant which serves really good food and a further 30 seconds walk from the Shamrock pub which has a pool table and generally welcoming feel to it.

Two brilliant double bedrooms both facing the bay and mountains. One twin room with less of a view I think.

A good house for a family, be be warned, it really is built on a pier and has and unprotected water ten feet from the front door, so if you have toddlers, might be a bit unsafe.

Thanks to Simon for making the check in and check out very uncomplicated.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Antje M
Düsseldorf
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a perfect place with a stunning view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We visited Roundstone for one week in april together with another couple and we really loved it. The house is perfectly equiped, very clean and - very comfortable when you're travelling with four adults- with two bathrooms. The view out of living room and both bedrooms was absolutely amazing. I think we took a picture every day five times. The contact with Simon was quite uncomplicated and everything went well. Roundstone itself and Connemara is definitely worth visiting. We would love to come back and stay at this location again. Thanks!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DeanHills
Mainz, Germany
1 review
“You will not want to leave this unique and beautiful spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We were here with my elderly mother and also our dog, this house worked brilliantly for all our various needs. What a beautiful spot and friendly well functioning holiday house. its clear the owners want people to have everything they may need. A home with a wonderful atmosphere, easy functioning facilities, very comfortable, spacious sleeping rooms with great views to start your day. Roundstone people are very, very friendly; there are terrific eating opportunities moments from the front door; stunning beaches very close, mountain walks nearby; working artists studios to visit;bigger friendly townships very close-by if you need them; great local produce to sample your way through and breath taking landscapes.
Or, if you just want to chill out and read, you could easily spend your whole stay plopped in front of the brilliant picture window with a well savored novel and feel like a participant of the tidal changes, weather patterns and fishermen activities. What a treat !

Dean Hills, Germany

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The posistion, directly on the Roundstone Quay.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$136
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Anne A
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2012
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing