We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wits End Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roundstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wits End Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Wits End Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Main Street, Roundstone, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Roundstone B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Decided on a whim to have a weekend away in Connemara and booked Wits End because of the great reviews it had received - which it certainly lived up to! From Nora and Eileen's lovely warm welcome, to the very comfortable room and fabulous breakfast, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We hope to return there in the not-too-distant future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
74
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were welcomed late in the day by Nora with coffee, tea and snacks. Tidy, clean rooms, with fresh flowers, overlooking the bay. Quiet little town (no ATM or gas station) until you get to O'Dowd's or the Shamrock. Eileen, the owner is a hoot! My wife was ill several data and Nora delivered trays to the room for her. Breakfasts are wonderful. Fabulous dinner next door at Vaughan's. Great time in Clifden at the arts festival and at Kylemore Abby. For a most pleasant, welcoming place with gracious, warm and friendly hosts, stay at the Wits End in Roundstone. You'll love it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was a special trip to take my parents for their Diamond Wedding Anniversary and we could not have been made more welcome by Eileen, Oliver and Nora, who were so helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and everything was perfect, from the comfortable rooms to the delicious breakfasts. Thanks so much to you all - can't wait to return one day!

Room Tip: Lovely views from front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottertail, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our hosts in Westport highly recommended Wits End when they heard we were headed toward Galway. We stopped for 2 hrs at the Kylemore Abbey on the way for a lovely afternoon. Eileen offered us tea/coffee the minute we stepped inside, and we had a great chat while I ruined my dinner appetite with some delicious raisin bread.
Our room overlooks the Atlantic, is tastefully done and very comfortable. There are a couple good restaurant options within a block. I would encourage any of my friends to stay here.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. Playground across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My nephew suggested we stay in Roundstone and we used TA to help select our B&B. What a lovely place and such great and friendly hosts. Oliver greeted us and showed us to our room. Very nicely arranged with enough decoration to ne interesting but not overwhelming. A comfortable bed with a small but good shower and bathroom proved to be a great start.
We then met Eileen, one of the owners and a bright bubbly friendly person. She had already told us when we booked that there was music and dancing in Roundstone on Wednesday evenings in the summer, and this was the alst night of the season. What a wonderful surprise. The musicians and dancers were all very local, young (mostly) and talented including the 6 year olds that were happy to show us their step dancing skills. We had a great evening and all for 8.50 Euro!. We also met Nora, our other host and saw her at the dancing.
We slept well and the next day was my wife's birthday. We had a parting gift after an excellent breakfast of some cake that Eileen's daughter (13) had made. A wonderful gesture from some of the nicest and friendliest folks we met on our trip.
We rate Wits End right up there with our other favorite Irish B&B in Kenmare. Thanks for making us so welcome.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Tired, jet lagged, and looking for a great spot to crash for the evening on our way through Connemara, my wife and I stumbled upon a great little town called Roundstone. In Roundstone we were fortunate enough to see Wits End pop up with great reviews on our trip advisor and luckily they had a room for us that evening. The staff were super friendly and helpful and made us feel at home after a long day of traveling. Irish hospitality is second to none, and my wife and I certainly benefited from this when we were at our "wits end" with driving.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Enjoyed four days at the best B&B I've stayed in. From the initial welcome, bags carried to my room, cup of hot chocolate and cake ,through breakfasts that really set me up for the day,helpful information about what to see and do,and a really comfortable room, my stay was brilliant. Really enjoyed exploring the area and must recommend O'Dowds Seafood bar.. just down the road -you'll need to reserve a table.Thank you Nora and Eileen...I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wits End Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wits End Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main Street, Roundstone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wits End is a family run Bed and Breakfast located on the Main Street of Roundstone village in Connemara, an area of outstanding natural beauty. Wits End enjoys fantastic sea views. All visitor attractions in Connemara are less than 40 minutes drive from Wits End, making it an ideal place to explore Connemara from. We are open nearly all year around. Come and visit soon. You will be welcome. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wits End Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.