We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and can't wait to return - thanks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renvyle House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renvyle House Hotel to your Saves list
Renvyle House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North of Tully | Connemara, Renvyle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“2nd time and can't wait to return - thanks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This us our second stay here and can not wait to return.
We rank this hotel as our favourite for relaxation, comfort, great food and staff, plus location. This hotel is not five star compacted to the Ritz but for relaxation it beats the Ritz hands down.
So looking forward to returning. Thanks!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    86
    47
    26
    14
See reviews for
139
191
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North West England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel which rightly deserves the accolades of customer service awards given. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and at home. The setting could not be better, right on the edge of the bay at the end of a quiet peninsula. The weather when we arrived was unusually warm and we did feel the lack of air conditioning. The room was very comfortable , but not palatial . We will book a suite next time we go . The food is what you go for!!! We ate in the restaurant 3 nights and the menu changed daily . It was delightful , a vision on the plate with the taste to match. This was a lovely experience all round and we will definitely book again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is one of the few to advertise in the daily newspapers 'No Single Supplement' which is great for singles, widowed, separated etc. Most people who do not normally share their bedroom have no wish to do so on holiday. We booked 2 single rooms and stayed 3 nights. I requested double bed in each room, and while this was noted at time of booking, it could not be confirmed until we arrived. We did get rooms with double beds - one room was good though en suite so small the handbasin is actually in the room. Shower attached to bath so you have to fiddle around with taps to get shower function. The second single room contained double bed plus 2 bunk beds which for a sole occupant is not an uplifting sight. While we would have preferred better rooms, our stay at Renvyle House Hotel was very enjoyable. The food, staff, facilities are excellent. I will return but next time I will ask more questions about room type.

Room Tip: ask for specific room details.... bed, en suite detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Myself & my wife were at a wedding last weekend gone at the Renvyle House Hotel.

One word to describe it is: WOW!

We were absolutely amazed at the quality of the food and the venue.

I personally had the Chicken & Mushroom Tarlet for starter, Rack of Lamb for main course & Wexford Strawberries for dessert. The food was simply faultless.

The hotel has a lot to offer, it's in a nice, quiet and beautiful setting with an outdoor heated pool. We were sat by the pool on the Saturday and we actually said to each other that it was like being pool side in the South of France.

There was plenty of activities available, including Clay Pigeon Shooting (which we did for our first ever time), there was also a scheduled walk for around the grounds along with fishing in the lake and the golf course (9 hole) on the grounds.

The staff are very pleasant and will go out of their way for you. Sean (bar man) was great.

I highly recommend people stay here when out in this area, it was a excellent weekend and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is at the end of the road, high on a cliff, next stop The Atlantic Ocean. With amazing walks & a golf course on site, it is the perfect place to chill out & relax. The fantastic weather, which was amazing during our stay, was the icing on the cake. Stunning sunrise and sunset over Galway Bay must be seen to be believed. Heated outdoor pool/clay pigeon shooting, table tennis & croquet can all be experienced as well as lake kayaking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hello

My husband and I dropped in for afternoon tea on 20th June 14. I knew this hotel had a good reputation. However, we came away very disappointed. Tea was served in horrible white heavy cups and the sandwiches were edible but disappointing. Please learn the art of making tea and serving it properly. Staff were very pleasant. Sadly, this hotel has the feel of an old people's home. It smelled, and felt very tatty.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our 5th or 6th stay (3rd in 13-months) at Renvyle House Hotel. This was a 3-night event. We had another wonderful experience at this lovely property. The hotel is a stones throw from the Atlantic Ocean and is surrounded by lakes and mountains; it just does not get any better then this.

The staff led by Ronnie (CEO) is exceptional in all respects. They are all extremely competent and genuinely nice. Ronnie leads by example and the staff has certainly bought in to his vision for Renvyle House. I can't say enough kind words about the wonderful Reception staff; pub employees; breakfast and dinner folks; and simply terrific housekeeping personnel. This includes the great people in the laundry area. Collectively or individually they are all the best!!

The food at Renvyle is simply fantastic. Menus are quite diverse so finding something you like will not be problematic. We really enjoyed the breakfast fare. I opted for the traditional Irish fare each morning and believe me I never departed hungry. The lads in the restaurant were all tremendous; competent, efficient, and personable.

Our room was excellent in all respects. I am sure Ronnie must have upgraded us to one of the recently renovated rooms with both ocean and mountain views. All of the rooms are great; however the room we occupied this time was like heaven on earth. We can't thank everyone enough.

There are a myriad of activities onsite and around the area to participate in so one will not get bored. There are a number of walking trails on the premises (250 acres); a small golf course; croquet; and a swimming pool; etc. Connemara National Park and the Diamond Hill trek are right around the corner. Killary Harbor is nearby and offers boat rides to view Ireland's only fjord. The Renvyle Hotel area is considered part of the Wild Atlantic Way as well, offering spectacular and majestic scenery.

We participated in a number of activities; however the highlight for us was visiting the Killary Sheep Farm located in Bunowen, Leenane. We watched the sheepdogs perform their duties, which was quite fascinating. I also was permitted to perform some sheep shearing with some close supervision by the owner, Tom Nee. Tom is simply a wonderful gentlemen. I was also permitted to do some turf (peat) cutting using the traditional method of using the slean by foot. This is an ancient method of cutting and was quite enjoyable. We also were allowed to feed the lambs, which was beyond fun. We also toured the premises of Kylemore Abbey. Quite a memorable event for us in many different ways.

The lobby is a great area to relax and take in the aroma of the peat fires. Additionally, there are travel brochures in the lobby that cover almost every conceivable destination.

I believe Renvyle House has been in existence for about 130-years; therefore has plenty of history to share. Famous people such as Churchill; Yeats; and Lady Gregory have been guests of the hotel; not bad company for sure.

In conclusion, we had a wonderful time at Renvyle House (as is the norm) and are already planning our next visit. We highly recommend that you consider staying at Renvyle House. Believe me, you will create some fond memories that you will hold dear for a lifetime.

Room Tip: Attempt to procure a room with views of the sea and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renvyle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renvyle House Hotel

Address: North of Tully | Connemara, Renvyle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Renvyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Renvyle House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renvyle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renvyle Hotel
Hotel House Renvyle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renvyle House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.