We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet aplenty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renvyle House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renvyle House Hotel to your Saves list
Renvyle House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North of Tully | Connemara, Renvyle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet aplenty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was my third visit to Renvyle and once again it wove its spell. The grounds are lovely and if its long peaceful walks you're after there is no better place. Even if you don't like walking you can stand on the shores of the hotel lake and watch the ducks and geese or stand on the shore of the nearby Atlantic and listen to the waves sweeping in on the pebbled beach - magic!
The food is excellent. Dinner is top class and breakfast may you leave you not wanting o eat for the rest of the day.
The staff are excellent. Nothing is too much trouble and they always have a friendly hello.
And then there's the turf fire in the lobby....
The bedrooms are on the small side but thats a small trade-off for everything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    86
    47
    26
    14
See reviews for
139
191
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Sept. 2013. We thought the location was nice and the public rooms rustic. The dinner was good. However, the room was awful. It was very dated. You could barely move in the room due to the small size and the excessive amount of cheap furniture. The dresser and bed were so close that you could barely pull out the drawer. But, the absolute worst was the bathroom. Not only was it done in ugly green tile, it was filthy with mold growing in the corner of the shower. But, worst of all, there was NO hot water. Did we complain? No, the line to get to the reception desk was so long that we just packed and left. This hotel was proof that just having badges from various "professional" reviewers does not guarantee a good, quality establishment.

Room Tip: Be sure and find the location of your room and the nearest exit before you take the advise at the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just spent three nights at Renvyle House Hotel, arriving on Friday, 12 October 2013 and departing on Tuesday, 15 October 2013. This was our third visit to this lovely property. Prior to booking this reservation we checked to ensure that Irish music would be on full display during our visit and were informed that would be the case. Imagine our disappointment when we were informed upon our arrival that not only would music not be available that dinner would not be available either. The reason for all of this - a wedding was transpiring and as a previous reviewer, John L. mentioned, essentially shut the place down for guests not associated with the wedding party. I think it is incumbent upon Ronnie and the management team to notify other guests when a wedding is transpiring and that some services may not be available as normally would be the case. This would give one the option of booking for another time period. My wife and I truly love the Renvyle experience and plan to return for three nights in June 2014; however our stay will not encompass any part of a weekend I can assure you of that.

Overall, I can say that we had another splendid time at Renvyle. The hotel is set amid the Atlantic Ocean, lakes, and mountains so it does not get any better then this. The food is exceptional, with a very diverse menu. Also, I can still smell the aroma of the turf fires in the lobby, etc.

Our room was excellent in all respects, with a view of the ocean as well. I have read on occasion that the beds at Renvyle are not comfortable and this has never been the case with us. Our sleeping experiences have been great.

Overall, the staff at the hotel is quite good. I think Ronnie, the CEO or GM (can't remember which title is correct) is exceptional in all respects. He is genuinely nice and very helpful. The restaurant staff and pub staff are also extremely competent and quite personable. For myself personally, I did not think that some members of the reception staff were particularly engaging or very helpful when planning daily itineraries or obtaining some directions, etc. We inquired about one local activity and related directions and the young lady simply said she was not from here and could not help. Additionally, some travel brochures that were said to be available in the lobby were not. Of course, this could be attributable to the season winding down and was not considered a big deal in the whole scheme of things.

I did rate the hotel as "Excellent", however it was borderline due to the wedding and the attitude of some members of the reception staff. I am not casting aspersions on the entire reception staff, just a couple of ladies that had an attitude of indifference. From a macro perspective, we always have a truly wonderful time at Renvyle and tend to overlook small snafus one might encounter anywhere. We are definitely looking forward to our next visit in June 2014.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our last stay in June was affected by a wedding taking place and the same happened this time. This time we were there for 3 nights Thursday to Saturday and everything was the usual pleasurable stay on the Thursday but Friday the wedding party virtually took over the place (no more stress free zone). The service was so stretched that it was almost impossible to get any speedy attention from the staff. This is understandable given the extra work put on them all but surely prospective guests should be warned that a wedding will be taking place, especially when many if not all the guests will be resident. In our case the groom was from Scotland. Had we known we certainly would not have chosen those nights to stay - once bitten.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castletownroche Cork
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I loved this little gem. You are already on a winner with the location which is set on the edge of Connemara surrounded be stunning beaches and breathtaking scenery. (The climb to the summit of Diamond Mountain in the nearby Letterfrack National Park is well worth it as you have superb views of the peninsula). The hotel has plenty of dining and customer service awards around the walls - no surprise - the customer service standard here is top class and led by the manager (Ronnie) who is very visible around the reception areas ensuring everyone is happy. I had a minor issue with my room which was immediately dealt with in good humour. Staff are very attentive and friendly. Food is prepared with love and care and was quite delicious and breakfast is also a treat. The decor is very old fashioned bordering on "faded elegance" but cosy in a country lodge way. I would make this a regular location for a mini break if it were more accessible but as it is almost 2 hours drive from Galway one would need at least 3 nights here to make the trip worthwhile. The age profile when we visited mid-week in early October was predominately from the senior citizen category but I can imagine this being a lovely family location during the summer with lots of outdoor activities to keep the young ones busy. Also great location for solo travellers as it is such a welcoming and convivial spot as guests seem to interact freely around the various fireplaces. On the down side as it is an old building there is poor insulation so rooms and corridoors are not very well sound proofed. A warm and cosy old fashioned hotel with cartloads of charm - Renvyle is a lovely spot for some R & R.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Don't usually bother to write reviews but felt I had to make an exception in this case. Although we only stayed for one night the whole experince in this hotel was great. We were blessed with great weather which added to the stunning location, and right from the start we found the staff to be friendly and courteous throughout our stay. The atmosphere was relaxed and the turf fires constantly burning added greatly to the atmosphere. The food both for the evening meal and breakfast the following morning was top class. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a chilled out stay and the opportunity to get a feel for the magic and beauty of Connemara.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Beach, Maine
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We only spent one night at the Renvyle but they have many activities to help you relax, tennis courts, 9 hole golf course, canoes, outdoor swimming pool and walking paths. The real gem is the food service, our dinner was one of the best we had in Ireland. I wish others were even half as good. The room is somewhat dated but still very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renvyle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renvyle House Hotel

Address: North of Tully | Connemara, Renvyle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Renvyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Renvyle House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renvyle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renvyle Hotel
Hotel House Renvyle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renvyle House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.