We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect the norm and that's a good thing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renvyle House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renvyle House Hotel to your Saves list
Renvyle House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North of Tully | Connemara, Renvyle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Cork
1 review
“Don't expect the norm and that's a good thing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We chose to have our wedding here in April because it is so unique. When you stay at Renvyle you are looking for something special - downtime, relaxed atmosphere, amazing food, turf fires and a beautiful location. The house is old and steeped in history and as we foud out, it was a favourite of Yeats but it does not neatly fit into "Old Country House" category either and it is the better for it I believe.

It is not your spa hotel, it's not your boom time 5 star hotel - it is a hotel from the arts and crafts movement that allows you feel at home rather than a mere guest. If you know this era you'll enjoy the little touches the hotel continues to follow to retain it's character.

I know weddings can be special ocassions and because we were so happy with how ours went, it is easy to be biased but I have been in Renvyle on many occassions and for me it is the consistent 'at home' atmosphere, the turf fires, the attentative but not over fussy staff and the food that makes it so special. We felt like we owned the place - nothing was too much.
We had 150 guests - French and Irish. Our French guests were astounded at the food - they couldn't believe such quality could be served to such a large number of guests. And even in the speeches, they joked that they were embarassed to extend the invitation to us to go to France as we had stole their unique selling point of good food. They had already decided they couldn't compete with the location!
It truly is a special spot and if you're not too bothered with 5 star extras but appreciate the key points of good food, great service and atmosphere and old world charm, then you'll love Renvyle.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Remezz0,

Thank you for your lovely review and taking the time to write such a detailed one.

It was a pleasure to look after you and your groom, your families and friends from near and far, it was a lovely occasion with a lovely gathering of people.

We wish you both every happiness in your future together and hope you’ll return for visits over the years.

With best wishes,
Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    86
    47
    26
    14
See reviews for
139
191
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skibbereen, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We weren't too impressed by this Hotel. For the money that wew paid, we certainly did NOT get the quality of service that we expected, from the time we signed in at reception to the time we signed out. When we asked where our room was, the receptionist nodded his head in the direction for us to go and said "go through those doors there, you'll find it". We went through that door there to find a maze and it was only when one of the customers pointed us in the right direction that we found it.
I don't think this hotel relies too much upon customers returning. Look out for LOTS of hidden costs and if drinking in the bar DO NOT book it to your room, you will be charged a ridiculous %. After all, what is the difference between unscrewing the top off a bottle of wine whether you pay for it then, or when you check out?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Reet026,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us last year. Since your stay with us last summer, we have updated our accounts system and the item you mentioned about service charge when charging drinks it to your room has been addressed.

We must disagree with your unfair comment about hidden costs, there are none. All inclusive packages are just that and include service charge and Government taxes. All leisure facilities on site such as golf, fly fishing, boating, tennis and use of hotel bicycles are all FREE to guests. Anything that may incur an additional charge such as clay pigeon shooting is clearly stated.

We have a very strong repeat business and very much realise the importance of every guest having a relaxing and enjoyable experience during their stay with us and appreciate each and every one.

With kind regards,

Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I've been here a few times and I have to say it's a great place for families. The only downfall is it's a little expensive but the food is excellent. The location is unbelievable and the facilities for kids are great.
One of the rooms is supposed to be haunted which ads to the mystique. Great Place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Mrrazor,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all feedback and strive to make improvements on the strength of them.

With best wishes,

Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for one night over the Christmas break & really enjoyed our stay - thanks to all. The food is very very good. It has a great old school Irish charm which cannot be beaten. It has a fantastic large play area for kids which you can see into from the restaurant. The big fire places with hearty turf fires were fantastic & there was a little pair of kids wellies left there by some kid - "no problem", they will b nice & warm for the kid in the morning. There was friendly crowd in the bar & a good sing song & we enjoyed the craic. Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Higgg,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas and that you joined in the fun in the bar – did you get to sing a song?

With best wishes,

Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights over Easter. The location is superb with stunning views. The staff and service was very good and the food was good. We saw 3 rooms in the extension part of the hotel and they were all poor (two star hotel standard). The window of the first bedroom overlooked another bedroom window, the second room smelled or was damp and the sink was in the bedroom with a tiny ensuite, the room we settled on had a 4.5 ft soft bed, badly chipped sink, and was probably last renovated in the 1980's. Do not expect old country house style in this house, despite the old age of the house, 1980's red brick fireplaces do little for me. The positives do not outweigh the negatives.

Room Tip: Not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Thank you Aengusone for taking the time to write your review and we are disappointed you didn’t enjoy your stay. We apologise for not having given you a larger room with a view, but as we were almost full over the two weeks at Easter we didn’t have a large choice of spare rooms.

You are correct in stating that some of the rooms in the old house are small as they are in the original part of the building dating back to the 1920’s.

The fireplaces are in actual fact the original fireplaces also dating back to when the hotel was rebuilt in the ‘Arts and Crafts’ era in the 1920’s and are a rare, architectural feature in Ireland.
With kind regards,
Zoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Just returned home from our first sojourn at Renvyle. If there is such a thing as heaven on earth then it must surely be Renvyle. The setting, the grounds, the space, the tranquilty, the food, the views, the wonderful rooms, the fires, chairs, sofas ... I could go on and on ...
The truly excellent staff, friendly, attentive yet unassuming, are just the icing on the cake! Renvyle proves the adage in Field of Dreams - "If you build it they will come." We will most certainly be returning on a regular basis. Be assured there IS a God!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 58, 59 or 60. Brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at this beautiful location new years past the atmosphere was fantastic the people were amazing the rooms were so clean and beds so comfy this hotel is ran to the highest standard with a father and Son team you'd just know how well they work together this Hotel I can't recommend hight enough.. The food us to die the veg would just melt in ur mouth and the quality of the meat/fish would just make you wanting more i can't describe how excellent this hotel is and I can't wait to be back again truely a holiday to cherrish thanks for reading

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reviewmanager, Front Office Manager at Renvyle House Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear 1Timmy2,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us last December. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.
With kind regards
Sabina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renvyle House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renvyle House Hotel

Address: North of Tully | Connemara, Renvyle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Renvyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Renvyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Renvyle House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renvyle House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renvyle Hotel
Hotel House Renvyle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renvyle House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.