We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel in the middle of nowhere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ben Lettery Connemara Hostel

Save Saved
You added Ben Lettery Connemara Hostel to your Saves list
Ben Lettery Connemara Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ben Lettery Connemara Hostel
Connemara, Recess, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Almelo, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hostel in the middle of nowhere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for a survival weekend with an'oige! We could come there by bus and had to bring our own food and money, but it was a lovely hostel to stay in. Nice staff and a lovely atmosphere!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
2
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is an old hostel that was recently restored and is run by a group of volunteers that really look after the place and are passionate about hostelling and giving a warm welcome to everyone who comes through their door. Really beautiful location with plenty of sheep roaming right outside your door! We had a great weekend kayaking, rock climbing and hill walking and a great sing-song in the hostel on Saturday night too. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A great place for hiking in Connemara! Amazing, what An Oige and some enthusiastic volunteers have achieved. They run this hostel, which was already closed, and they turned it into a charming and very human place. I spent five days here, thirty years after my first stay, and I met wonderful people, made great walks, and I enjoyed every minute in Ben Lettery. So, to everyone who looks for a place to stay in the area, I can wholeheartedly recommend the hostel .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passau, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived and felt like coming home.
Friendly people talking, cooking together...
You should take a swim in the lake or just get the best tips what to do arround.
The house is clean and well equipped, everyone tries to make your stay the best.

After 4 nights we were sad to leave so soon...
But we'll be back!

Room Tip: Room Nr. 0 and 1 have a great lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's just great to see this hostel open again - it's such a brilliant location for hiking the Bens or generally touring Connemara. And such a warm friendly welcome from volunteer staff! It's really heart-warming to see such vision and enthusiasm. Hoping for better weather next time, but it's a great hostel to return to after a hike in the rain :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I dropped into this hostel at the weekend after a long day hiking the Bens with my hiking club. The manger, Joe gave us a warm welcome and brought us in for tea. His enthusiasm for the hostel is infectious. It's bright and cheerful with amusing artwork on the walls. It has a cosy living room with an open fireplace and fantastic views of Connemara all round. Although I didn't stay the night, I had a look round the bedrooms which look tidy and comfortable. I hope to organise a group trip out there soon. It's a great spot to use as a base for hiking and cycling. The Galway to Clifden Citylink bus drops you to the door of the hostel. The idea of going for pints in nearby Ballinahinch Castle is a draw as well. Best of luck to Joe and the other volunteers involved in making this lovely little hostel a success.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A reopened youth hostel with tons of charm. Extremely nice, charming and helpful staff of volunteers. The location is very scenic and ideal for hiking the "bens" ; the local peaks. It's also a very good base for exploring the charming Connemara.
Some smaller work still needs to be done but one the whole this hostel is highly recommended.
Martin / Sweden

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ben Lettery Connemara Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Lettery Connemara Hostel

Address: Connemara, Recess, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Recess
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Irish Hostel in the heart of scenic Connemara. Mountains to the rear, lake to the fore, the perfect location for a holiday in Connemara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ben Lettery Connemara Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Lettery Connemara Hostel Ireland/County Galway - Recess

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ben Lettery Connemara Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.