We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome !!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lough Inagh Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lough Inagh Lodge to your Saves list
Lough Inagh Lodge
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   R344, Recess, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Recess B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Simply awesome !!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2005

We are picky travellers, my husband and I. We know what we like. There are good hotels and there are great hotels ... and Lough Inagh Lodge has to be up there with the best of them. Intimate, charming, welcoming, romantic, unpretentious are just some of the adjectives one could use to describe this gem. We spent three weeks touring Ireland in September and stayed at a range of hotels throughout the country. If we are honest, we have to say that we were disappointed with some and pleasantly surprised by others. However, this was by far our favourite. From the magical setting to the understated and impeccable service, this was a real find. We only wish we could have stayed longer but we will be sure to return and spend a few days next time. If you are ever in Connemara, a visit to Lough Inagh Lodge is a must.
Chuck & Peggy McGrath, Schaumberg, Illinois, USA

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

Just completed a tour of Connemara with my partner and our stay at the Lough Inagh Lodge Hotel was definitely the highlight. The setting is picture postcard perfect (looking out over the beautiful Lough Inagh to the the Twelve Pins mountains). The ambience is of genuine hospitality, with all the hotel staff giving you the sense of being committed to their jobs and that going out of their way to help you is second nature to them. The room we stayed in was also superb with a king size bed and the nice touch of an ante-chamber/dressing room en-route to the spacious bathroom. Although we didn't have a front-view room (highly desirable if you can swing it!), this wasn't a problem since the tables and chairs out front meant the best way to drink in the view was to sit out front with a pint of Guinness or G&T. Topping this off was the restaurant which not only served up excellent fare in the evening but also gave us the best and most varied breakfast menu we had enjoyed on our tour.

As someone who had visited Connemara regularly and wanted to share the spirit of the place with my girlfriend, this was the perfect place. It is a bit isolated (the village of Recess is 4 miles away and is little more than a tourist shop) but that is one of essential charms of Connemara. For city-dwellers like ourselves it gives a fantastic sense of space. It more than made up for the disappointment of our stay at the Abbeyglen Castle Hotel (see separate review) which on paper had more recommendations and cost significantly more but had none of the simple magic of the Lough Inagh Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2005

We hosted our son's wedding brunch at Lough Inagh Lodge and Maire O'Connor and staff made sure that everything was perfect!! We were from all over the USA, and this wonderful location was the perfect choice! We plan to go back this fall!!

  • Stayed March 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2005

Family of four, two young teens, Yanks transferred to Ireland for the year. Traveling a great deal, we stay at 4 to 5 star. Have been all around Ireland, and this is more then a B&B. Lough Inagh is a great small hotel with a B&B feel in their service, decor, and the literary names on the doors-- touches like that. Unforgettable views (but to reach out and touch them is a hundred yard at best) donkeys grazing in front of the lake which sits below the mountains as someone drives sheep down the motor route. Very spacious and immaculate rooms with views and a large king that was very comfortable, very big bathroom, not a walk-in shower but a huge tub with bubble bath and the shower is wonderful. Cozy pub. Great friendly service, late, late arrival--whatever you need, they seem to always there to help if you have many questions or want to book something like horseback riding, hiking to one of st. patrick's spots, or fishing (11 pd salmon!) or anything else, really, like windsurfing or waterskiing. We went to Kylemore Abbey and local tourist attractions as well, and a couple of gift shops for Connamara marble knick knacks and crafts and such. Connemara is incredible and unique with a beach that looks like it came out of the Carribean, we found odd eggs, sea urchin skeletons, mother of pearl shells, and well, just an abundance of shells, white sand, turquoise water and an otter with a lucky strike of drift wood and also the occasional friendly soul that lets you know that you're not alone at the end of the world. This place is quintissential Ireland with the dramatic landscape (more drama then Kerry and as beautiful), wonderful hotel, and not to be missed. Really.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2004

The Lough Inach Lodge Hotel is our little piece of heaven ! My family has stayed there 5 times during the past few years and we find it the most magnificent part of the world. A tranquil and beautiful setting with superior survice and food which is why we keep coming back !
As one of the Irish sayings go: " When God made time, he made a lot of it ........" so make a trip to Lough Inach and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2004

Highly Recommended! One of the most relaxing places I have ever been. Perfect for that "get away from it all" break. Amazing setting, breath taking scenery, very comfortable accomodation, delicous food and excellent, friendly service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lough Inagh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Inagh Lodge

Address: R344, Recess, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Recess
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Recess
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Inagh Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lough Inagh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Inagh Hotel Recess
Lough Inagh Lodge Ireland/County Galway - Recess

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lough Inagh Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.