We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peacockes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Peacockes Hotel to your Saves list
Peacockes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maam Cross | Connamara, Maam Cross, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maam Cross
Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly but basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just back from a two night break in this hotel. I have to say that all the staff couldnt be nicer and very friendly. Our room was big and bright and we had a view of the lake. Breakfast was freshly made and very nice. Bar was drab and lacking in atmosphere and the bar food menu lacked imagination- roast beef and mashed potato and veg or burgher and chips or fish and chips.My husband and I had the roast beef, which was barely adequate. The water supply to the hotel comes from the nearby lake and is brown in colour, which is a bit offputting in relation to showers or washing teeth. In fairness the management did supply a bottle of spring water in our room for tea and coffee making.Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    18
    9
    18
See reviews for
27
40
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just spent 2 nights in Peacocke's Hotel. Lovely staff and very reasonably priced. The room was spacious and very clean with a great view. Great location for exploring Connemara

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iffeldorf, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We was traveling in a Group of 16 People and we enjoyed our time in the Hotel.
The Stuff was very friendly and helpful and the food was very delicious.
It was very quiet out there in der countryside, but the view out there is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

If you are looking for a great hotel away from it all,With Great views of the lakes and
of mountains of the west,This is the place to stay and get away from it all
The Staff could not be more helpful and Friendly!
I will be back.

Room Tip: Room 123.Great views of the lakes and Cool large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed in Peacockes Hotel for 2 nights with my husband. It is in a gorgeous part of the country & although it rained for most of our time there we sill had a great time. The hotel was lovely, the staff were so pleasant & couldn't do any more to make us feel welcome & comfortable. The hotel was very very clean & the room was big & very comfortable. The water which comes from one of the lakes was a brownish colour but that didn't stop me from having a lovely long relaxing bubble bath. Because there is too much iron in the water it wasn't suitable for drinking but there was bottled water in the room to use for tea & coffee. The bar was very relaxing with a big fire burning & a great atmosphere. I would stay again & might even bring the kids next time!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a total of 2 nights. If I'm honest, I have never met such friendlier staff ever, they were very helpful. The room was lovely, and the food was AMAZING! I would definetely go back, and it's set in a beautiful part of the countryside.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

The hotel is in the middle of beautiful Connemara. Lovely landscapes, if you enjoy outdoor activities this is the place to go. We have stayed there for 2 nights and really had a great time. The rooms are nice and clean, staff very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were very tasteful.
After reading reviews I was a bit concern about the water as I have very sensitive skin. It is brown but it is very good quality water, clean and natural. My skin was so soft and calm there, no iritation. I would compare it to the mineral baths you can get in SPA. In the Peacockes Hotel you have it for free :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peacockes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacockes Hotel

Address: Maam Cross | Connamara, Maam Cross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Maam Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maam Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peacockes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peacockes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacockes Hotel Maam Cross, Ireland - County Galway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peacockes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.