We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a wow time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa to your Saves list
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“had a wow time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

i recently stayed in the wonderful inisbofin house hotel. the room were lovely. the views where amazing. the service was excellent. the staff were very helpful and kind to everybody in the group. we all had a great time. will come back again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    66
    8
    10
    10
See reviews for
49
94
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was my first time to Inisbofin . The Hotel was centrally located and the friendly welcome made us feel at home instantly. The room was very comfortable and the view breathtaking. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. We greatly enjoyed the walks around the Island with a stop for coffee and delicious cakes en route. The peace and away from it all feeling was exceptional, and the music and fun in the pub completed the experience. We cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

I recently booked 5 rooms for a Friday night stay at this hotel. While all appeared ok on the surface, we were extremely disappointed at the level of customer service and general standards. Couple of things (and keep in mind this was over 24 hours). We were a group of 10 people (5 adults & 5 teenagers), and as there were no 3-bedded rooms available, we were forced to book 5 double/twin rooms. When we requested a discount on the full price (110 Euro per room per night) we were refused. This stuck in the throat, especially as all the rooms were facing the back, so the view was basically a cement wall. Dinner was fine - but when we requested they light the candles on the table, we were told they had "run out of tea lights" (in the middle of high season?!). As the evening drew in the spotlights over our table were not turned on (we could barely see our desserts). When we requested they be switched on, we were told "sorry, the fuse is gone on those" with no offer of a solution. Still left in the dark until finally they brought in some big candles from reception. Honestly, I've been in tea houses in Nepal where the service was sharper and more professional (at a fraction of the cost). No bedside lamp in my room - too late to do anything about it so did without. Loud humming noise outside the window all night (and this with the windows shut - some sort of machine). Breakfast from 9am (unbelievably)- 11am. I've never, ever stayed ANYWHERE where breakfast was served so late. No desk staff until 9am. One of our party made a request of the waitress (who was laying the tables) for coffee at 8am and he was refused (how hard would it have been to supply the guy with a cup of coffee (and bad coffee at that)???). Breakfast - lacklustre buffet - Rice Crispies, Corn Flakes and muesli (like powder), sugary juices. No fresh fruit or yoghurt. No menu - "its the usual full Irish" - what does that mean to people who are not Irish? The 2nd waitress was 25 mins late so chaos in the dining room. The waitress on duty did not have a clue how to cope. We waited 15-20 mins before finally going to her to try to get some coffee. My biggest gripe is with the management. No sign of anyone in charge in the morning and staff are only as good as they are trained to be. All very sloppy and 2nd rate. I'm from the west of Ireland and the rest of the party are from the USA. I've stayed before and had a reasonably good experience - room with a harbour view, much cheaper rate, better service, etc. But I was so disappointed that my recent experience was as described above. I felt I had returned to the standards of the 70s. Not good enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for three nights recently with my extended family and we had a great time. The hotel is very nicely designed with a good bar and restaurant overlooking the harbour and a residents lounge which was a welcome bolt hole. The bedrooms were very comfortable and spacious and the beds were a great size. Make sure you ask for a room with a sea view. We had a shared balcony where you could sit and read, weather permitting!. The staff were really excellent and extremely helpful. They were run off their feet though which meant that housekeeping was sometimes not as good as you would expect but that was a minor irritation. If you get the weather, Inishbofin cannot be beaten for beauty and natural wildness. We will definitely be back and will stay at Day's Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

On our first trip to the island, we were blown away by the beauty of the place. Our stay was all the better for the friendly staff at the Days Hotel. They were obviously very busy but went out of their way to really helpful and nice to us. Not having packed properly for the cool evenings, Colin even offered me his jumper. Went down to the shop the next day and bought the trademark blue Inishbofin sweatshirt so jumper was duly returned. The spa is worth a visit. We will be back. Mick and Finola

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Handling a 15 person group ranging from age 1 to 83 on a small island where it rains a lot can't be easy, but the staff at this hotel took care of us with warmth and an easy competence. The rooms are modern, with all facilities you expect in a more urban setting. We had access to a large shared patio overlooking the harbor, and next door to us was a lovely sun-room for relaxing in any weather. As we did our 4 hour bike tour of the island, the manager Colin took my mother on a tour in his car... now that's what I call service.
Some of us availed of the spa facilities and the reports that came back were positive.
Food was good both nights we had dinner, as were the pre-dinner and post dinner drinks in the bar. Also Day's pub is 100 yards down the road, so the journey home is not too testing, no matter what the hour...
We'll be back! Thanks to everybody

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We had a three night stay in the hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. The young, dynamic team did everything to make our stay enjoyable particularly the "three C's" Colin, Cora and Clare. We had a fantastic view from the bedroom. We dined there for dinner all three nights and enjoyed it thoroughly. The whole team were extremely professional but friendly and laid back at the same time. We were three sisters doing a bit of bonding but will each be back with our partners in the near future. A memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.