We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here - What a rip off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa to your Saves list
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Dublin
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Do not stay here - What a rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

Hi just back form a lovely weekend in Galway which included a trip to Inisboffin. Unfortunately we stayed in the Days Inn hotel. Where do I start - the room (a double was very small) about two feet of space each side of the bed. Our view was non-existent. We were looking at the back of the hotel - storerooms and a grassy hill. There was something wrong with the bathroom door as it took enormous effort to close it. The room did not have tea making facilities, a TV or an iron and ironing board. When I rang reception they told me they had an iron and no ironing board. The following day we were charged 170 euro for 1 nights stay. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    66
    8
    10
    10
See reviews for
49
94
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

I spent one of the best weekends ever in Day Hotel Inishbofin this May and I have to say I could not fault the place. Geraldine and the girls on reception were so relaxed and friendly that they immediately made you feel like you were meant to be there.

The bar has the most chilled out and lovely atmosphere and I started off my break with a great Bailey’s coffee sitting in the big comfy armchair overlooking the little picturesque harbour.

We then went and dropped our bags to our rooms and they were beautifully bright and airy and very clean. The white duvets on the bed gave it a very fresh feeling and we again had wonderful views across the little inner harbour and out to the Atlantic ocean.

We then took bicycles and wandered around the island to give ourselves a great appetite.

We had booked dinner for 8pm for 4 people in the restaurant and we decided to meet at 7.15 for a glass of wine in the library. We got one of their recommended wines and spent a lovely hour in the library soaking up the amazing view across the island to the old cromwellian ruins.

Dinner was just lovely, I had beautiful pan seared fresh scallops and we also had prawns, brie and a caeser salad for starters. There was then monkfish, hake and steak ordered as the mains and I could not fault one of them. Desserts are not usually something I go for, but we all had a dessert and I had a most exquisite hot chocolate fudge cake with ice-cream and cream…. Talk about putting on the pounds before my eyes, but it was worth every mouthful.

Our waitress was foreign but she had great English and was very helpful, so much so that she was even enjoying a friendly banter and was telling jokes.

All in all we had an amazing weekend on Inishbofin and two weeks later we went out for another enjoyable weekend with my parents who also fell in love with the island.

I have subsequently booked my wedding in Days Hotel Inishbofin as I think it is just a magical place with a great hotel in a beautiful location and great staff to boot.

I would highly recommend that you try Days Hotel for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wargrave, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

I stayed at Day's Inishbofin House Hotel last week. I had had dinner there last summer and it was a wonderful meal, similar to the type of menu they still advertise on the website.
With that in mind I was very much looking forward to staying there this time.
However it was a great disappointment. The hotel itself was beautiful, but the staff would do well to check out thier own website and see what exactly they advertise.
They mention a warm island welcome, it is a poor reflection on the island if that were the case. They advertise a spa that should have opened at the end of May, but is still little more than a pile of rubble.
The private vaulted library, which has stunning views, was more like a private internet chat room where a staff member made us to feel like we were intruding on his private conversations as he chilled out with his feet on the bookshelves.
The food was very basic , the menu uninspired with a distinct lack of any fresh seafood.
Had there been another restaraunt we would have left after the first course. the staff seemed overwhelmed with only 3 tables in use, and very dismissive, not at all interested to hear if you were happy with badly cooked meal, presented on a chipped plate. It was school dinners all over again.
The reception staff often came across as hostile, which is not what you go to Inishbofin for. There was no information in the rooms about any services/meal times, useful numbers or anything to help you find your way.
It showed a complete lack of inititave from the manager. No apologies whatsoever for not coming up with what they advertise.
Such a shame that all that effort was put into the building of the hotel, because without any warmth there is nothing.
The island is beautiful and there are many other places that do not offer a private vaulted library or marine spa, but you may be sure of a warm welcome.
I have been going there for years, and will not return to Day's.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lenghty review of your experience of staying with us in 2006. I am aware that this response is long overdue, however, I do wish to acknowlege your points. Please be assured that we take all guest comments seriously and it is policy to respond to all feedback.

I can assure you that it is the responsibility of all staff to ensure that each and every guest has an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us. This is now evident by the positive feedback we have received from guests over the past few years.

Many changes have been made to our menu, both in the bar and the restaurant, we now offer a wide variety of menu choices in keeping with the changing seasons. There is something to suit all tastes.

Our Spa has since opened. We focus mainly of relaxing treatments and a sense of wellbeing. A sea weed bath after a day out exploring is our most popular option.

Our library still offers stunning harbour views, without the internet chat room vibe.

You note that you have been coming to Inishbofin for years and would not return to us. Perhaps the next time you're over, if you call in, I can assure you that you will receive a warm island welcome from each and every one of our friendly and informative staff members. Maybe we could attempt to restore your faith in Inishbofin House Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

Just read review and agree with it. I spoke to rude people on the phone and typical rip of Ireland. Owners not willing to sell rooms for one night only, had to book for 3 nights. This is not in my view how to run a successful business. No tea making facilities in rooms. Advised that it was due to Insurance purposes, this is total rubbish as all the TOP hotels in the country have this facility. Wake up Days Hotel.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us back in 2006. Customer feedback is of the utmost importance to us as it helps us to define who we are. I know this response is long overdue, however, I do wish to acknowledge your points.

Although you didn't get to stay with us, I can assure you that all staff now are friendly and personable and offer excellent customer service. We have a variety of packages available for as many or as little nights as one desires to stay, at very competitive prices.

We hope that you may someday take a trip west and stay with us to experience first hand what we offer. We hope that we can restore your faith in Inishbofin House Hotel again someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

My wife and I visited Inishbofin recently and stayed at the new 4 star hotel. However we experienced the worst service ever. The staff were indifferent and rude, hardly any Irish people work there. We were amazed by how poorly run the hotel was as it is very pretty.We went to the local pub where we were told by the staff that it was not a sucess the owners were builders who didnt know the business. We met the old owners wife there who is quite a rude lady and dosent seem to have too much going on upstairs.!!!
Hopefully it will soon be sold and someone good will take it over one local told me!!\
Beautifull island , terrible service.\

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience of staying at Inishbofn House Hotel back in 2006. I realise that this response is long overdue but I believe it to be only fair to acknowledge your points.

We are actually a three stay hotel, and always have been. We pride ourselves on our customer service, and this has been acknowleged over and over again by the positive comments given by guests over the past few years. The Hotel is a success and is managed by an experienced Hotel manager. All staff are attentive to guests needs and carry out their work in a joyful manner. Plenty of changes have been made over the past number of years to ensure each and every guest has an enjoyable stay with us.

I apologise that your stay was not satisfactory in 2006. Perhaps you will make a trip again sometime in the future and hopefully we can restore your faith in Inishbofin House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.