We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night in this great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Save Saved
You added Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Inishbofin
Kilbeggan, Ireland
1 review
“2 night in this great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a lovely hotel, had a great weekend with a group of friends, we had an amazing room, with great views and the best hotel bathroom l've been in in a very long time. Staff were so so friendly and we had an incredible meal on the Saturday night, past was to die for as were the desserts. Only thing missing were the tea and coffee making facilities, love my coffee. Island is charming and will be back next year fingers crossed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    55
    5
    9
    10
See reviews for
45
75
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my husband and really enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and the food was lovely. The Island is very relaxing and the weather was nice while we where on the island will be back next year for a week or more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a lovely family break. The hotel food is excellent. The staff were extremely friendly. We went to the Tommy Tiernan gig in the community centre. A real holiday experience. The local hogs entertained our two year old no end on winding road to the beach. The soft rain left a dew on us that shook off the whiskey cobwebs from the night before.

The island is an island in every sense. Not too many tourists and all the right ones seemed to be there. It could be the 1970s. Imagining Grainne Uaile, the pirate Queen, and her band of maybe merry men attacking ships and hiding within the simple, perfectly hidden bay directly in front of our bedroom window was poetic. Cromwell's ruined barracks conjured up images of a bygone era.

Oh yes and we gave Tommy Tiernan's son a lift home from Cleggan to Galway as his old man left on the earlier boat. Sure where would you get it.

by the way the GM of the hotel is professional through and through which complements the Irish welcome perfectly. Best of luck in the future. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ak for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Loved the hotel but we had a long wait for our rooms to be ready. Not good with two very young children. No tea or coffee making fascilities in the room which is a disappointment for a hotel of this calibre.Food was excellent and we enjoyed our stay.would definatley return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived off the boat (6 of us) 1 room only ready at 3 pm. Not too bothered, waited in the bar, left all luggage under stairs near reception. Having checked a few times, rooms ready at 4.40. Luggage missing, went back on ferry to mainland, men drenched wet after walk. No change of clothes, confined to room, staff were amused by it all, missed our 8 pm slot for dinner, bags arrived just before 9 pm with all clothes and bags drenched wet. A very nice lad took some of the mens clothes to the drier but they were still not fully dry when returned next morning, all my clothes were ringing wet and were not of the material suitable for a drier. We had to wait for a table for dinner even though there were only 3 tables occupied in the restaurant. The staff there were very nice in the restaurant. The food was only ok and there were children running around even at 11 pm. They did take 50 euro off the bill without being asked. None of it would have mattered hugely if the Manager and staff were a bit more helpful. We will be back to Inisbofin, so beautiful but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had our wedding reception here in June 2013. We cannot thank all of the staff enough for the hard work and for ensuring the day ran as smoothly as it did. The reception food was delicious and the service was top-drawer.
Cannot fault anything about this hotel, you never have to ask for anything twice. The staff were all so friendly and could not do enough for you.
The bar has a great pint and the bar food is excellent in terms of quality, value and portion size.
Highly recommend this hotel for any occasion, you will not be disappointed.
Looking forward to our return visit already!

Room Tip: We had the hotel fully booked and heard nothing but compliments about the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous fabulous place, from the time of arrival to the moment of departure - we had got a hostile reception at the local hostel but we got over that with our experience at Inishbofin house hotel. Unfortunately we were only staying one night on this fantastic island of paradise with breath-taking scenery suitable for families, individuals couples or groups of people meeting up. At this hotel, the food both in the evening and breakfast the next morning was superb and well priced - great options on the dinner menu and a buffet breakfast with a selection of fresh juices, cereals and mini pastries first followed by table service breakfast. The evening/night-time entertainment was very enjoyable with a neil diamond tribute act followed by disco - the dancefloor was full all night through. We had planned at some stage to visit the other 2 hotels on the island but found no need, we were so pleased with this spot. The place was homely and relaxing and all areas were spotless. The manager on duty, Conrad was so welcoming and obliging from collecting his guests at the pier, lugging baggage, taking meal orders, bar work, lugging baggage back to the pier with his content guests after their stay and restarting the cycle again with the new arrivals. He was on hand up from the early hours of the morning to the earlier hours of the morning, always cheerful, watchful and assisting. The receptionist also deserves mention for her efficient and friendly manner with always a smile on her face regardless of pressure. Conrad was ably assisted at mealtimes by a waitress named Noelle who kept all of us happy and content at the table with her to-ing and fro-ing for various demands - cinnamon, green tea and other such requests were all delivered with the light-hearted "we are on an island you know". Unfortunately we didn't get to the spa but we had the pleasure of meeting Aisling the therapist in the hotel who had the most pleasant easy-going manner which I'm sure would help make a treatment session most enjoyable. We will definitely return, hopefully before this season is over...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.