We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doonmore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inishbofin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doonmore Hotel
Save
You added Doonmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Most Westerly Island Hotel | Off the Coast of Europe, Inishbofin 0000, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have traveled around a bit. Staying at Murray's is about as special as it gets. There is nothing Andrew and Aileen, their family and staff would not do to make your stay memorable. Want fresh lobster for dinner? Say so in the morning and it'll be on your table in the evening. I am reluctant to say more about this discovery made some years ago. Enough to say that though I live most of the time in the US, Doonmoor and the Boffin call me back. Last year my eldest son who lives in California and I were there. Now he has the bug.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Scott,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am looking forward to your next visit and bring Jason again, like father like son, he certainly seemed to have caught the bug.
Coffee in the morning sun,sitting out front on the edge of the cliff is hard to beat.
I'm looking forward to your next visit, hopefully it will not be too long.

Regards,

Andrew Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    31
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
62
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mishawaka, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Murray family and Doonmore staff take extraordinary care of our family and team members when our archaeological team returns each year for over a month's stay on the island to conduct research. The food is wonderful, the hotel services are exemplary, and the staff's knowledge, competence and all-around friendliness are boundless. I cannot offer sufficient compliments and testimonies about the way they bend over backwards to meet our every need, no matter how outside the range of normal holiday-goers it may be. We are lucky to be able to return to them every year, and we plan to keep doing so for years to come.

Room Tip: Family friendly, wonderful rooms facing the sea, rest up for the music sessions in the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Meredith,

Thank you for your review. There are few people better qualified to assess all aspects of our hotel than yourselves as you have stayed with us so often, for so many weeks at a time and with so many people of all ages in your groups.
It is always a pleasure to see you all and to look after you during your stay and we look forward to your arrival every year.


Regards,

Andrew Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time and enjoyed a great welcome and even better service for the weekend we stayed. First class from start to finish and impossible to fault. The island is brilliant as well, it's great to have such a brilliant destination nearby (and no need for airports).

Now if only you could guarantee the sunshine it'd be impossible to beat!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is amazing how many people, living within a relatively short driving distance of us, do not know what a gem lies just off the coast.
You are obviously one of the lucky ones and I am delighted you have had the opportunity to sample our hospitality and enjoyed the experience.
I hope you come back to saty with us again soon.

Regards,

Andrew Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Staff are amazing and will do whatever they can for you, Especially those very handsome barmen...and simon too! Excellent location, Great food, and a lovely atmosphere. Can not say enough about the place. Will definitely be going back asap!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was great to make it back to Murrays Doonmore Hotel and I can't believe how the time has flown since I was here last. As always I was met at the boat by the hotels bus and taken to the hotel to sit down and get a load of those wonderful crab claws, what a feast.
I still have the image in my head of the most spectacular view from my bedroom window, helped along by the many pictures i took to get me through the time it takes to get back to Inishbofin again soon. This is quiet simply the best hotel on the island and I can not praise it enough - it feels more like a home than a hotel as you are welcomed by the many members of the Murray family and the local staff that work in the hotel. My wife and I are hoping to make it back in the late summer if we can. I can't wait - two of my grown up kids are going to get to the Doonmore this summer when they come over, I just know they will love it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just back from a fantastic weekend in Inishbofin and have already booked to bring back the family for a weekend in July.
This hotel has to be one of my favourites; staff are really friendly, nothing is a problem and I think I have put on a few kilos over the weekend - you have to try the bread and butter pudding!!!

There is really no other island like Inishbofin- I highly recommend it for a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just back from the Inishbofin Arts Festival. The Doonmore hotel continues to impress with superb food and excellent service. Our room boasted a stunning sea view that would take your breath away. The food and service was wonderful as always. Thanks to Aileen and Andrew for their warm hospitality. Looking forward to my return visit in July.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonmore Hotel

Address: The Most Westerly Island Hotel | Off the Coast of Europe, Inishbofin 0000, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murrays' Doonmore Hotel, the most westerly island hotel off the coast of Europe, was built in 1969 and has been owned and managed by the Murray family ever since. We pride ourselves on our hands on approach to customer service so you will be dealing with a member of the family at most stages of your stay. This is not a boutique hotel, so if that is what you seek then perhaps The Doonmore Hotel is not for you. Unless, that is, you are prepared to give us the opportunity to change your mind and show you the value of genuine hospitality and the personal touch of an owner managed hotel. We care about what we do because it is not just a job, it is our life. Our staff are superb also and they know that our raison d'etre is to ensure that every customer, from a child ordering a bag of crisps to a group of adults staying for a week, deserve only the best service possible. Our hotel and bar food is famous for its consistently high quality and value for money. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and warm even if a few rooms are slightly old fashioned. The atmosphere is welcoming, homely and relaxed. It is no accident that we have a large percentage of repeat business stretching back to the early days. The proof of the pudding is in the eating (and we bake all our own!) So come out and visit and experience Murrays' Doonmore Hotel for yourselves. Aileen & Andrew Murray ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doonmore Hotel Inishbofin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doonmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.