We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doonmore is a must-stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doonmore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inishbofin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doonmore Hotel
Save
You added Doonmore Hotel to your Saves list
The Most Westerly Island Hotel | Off the Coast of Europe, Inishbofin 0000, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Doonmore is a must-stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Just had a great trip to Inishbofin.
The Craig, hospitality and food are great.
You will lose track of time while exploring this wonderful island.
Murrays Doonmore hotel is the perfect place to have the island experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    31
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
62
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Travelling with my mother and aunty, we arrived with no notice. The welcome and hospitality could not be faulted. A great night in the bar with live music - we could only last till 2.30am.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Murray's hotel is the only place to stay while visiting Beautiful Inishbofin in my opinion. My family have being visiting Bofin since 1976 & could not recommend it highly enough. Murray's is a wonderful family run hotel. From the minute you are greeted by Andrew & Aileen at the pier to the moment Simon, Luke or any other of the brilliant staff serve you, you are made to feel part of the family. The food is out of this world whether it be in the bar which is always packed to the rafters or the restaurant you will find yourself thoroughly satifisied. Make sure to also take in many of the brilliant music sessions while there too. We have brought many friends through the years & they have always returned to stay in Murray's. Well done guys, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Traveled through ireland with my 12 year old son and this was one of our favorite places.No frills just clean and comfortable with a real family feel about it.The staff was nice and very welcoming.Wish we had stayed 2 nights!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I returned to Inisbofin after 21 years and once again stayed at Murray's. We were interested to see if the island and the hospitality were as wonderful as the memories we had and we weren't disappointed. Despite the weather, we had a fabulous short stay and like other reviewers were loath to leave. Murray's was wonderful- a home from home with fabulous food and even better hospitality. I am almost afraid to be too effusive in my praise lest there be no availability next time I try to book as we are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

doonmore hotel is a lovely place with a very traditional feel to it. the staff in the bar, hotel , and restaurant were all very friendly and helpful, nice smiley faces etc. the food was great, nice big irish breakfast, and tasty dinners with excellent deserts. the rooms were comfy, cosy, and the rear part of the hotel where our room was, was quiet on a night. we concked out early with all the walking on a beutiful, peaceful, and remote island. would reccomend the hotel and island to anyone wanting a get away from it all break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Best place to stay on the best Island off of the wild Irish Atlantic coast.....so may people stop in Galway, Clifden, Westport etc but well worth skidaddling over for a night...perfect mix of musical madness and magestic isolated scenery, Murrays in fairness is as laid back and welcoming a spot as ever I've had milky Guinness, well recommended...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonmore Hotel

Address: The Most Westerly Island Hotel | Off the Coast of Europe, Inishbofin 0000, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murrays' Doonmore Hotel, the most westerly island hotel off the coast of Europe, was built in 1969 and has been owned and managed by the Murray family ever since. We pride ourselves on our hands on approach to customer service so you will be dealing with a member of the family at most stages of your stay. This is not a boutique hotel, so if that is what you seek then perhaps The Doonmore Hotel is not for you. Unless, that is, you are prepared to give us the opportunity to change your mind and show you the value of genuine hospitality and the personal touch of an owner managed hotel. We care about what we do because it is not just a job, it is our life. Our staff are superb also and they know that our raison d'etre is to ensure that every customer, from a child ordering a bag of crisps to a group of adults staying for a week, deserve only the best service possible. Our hotel and bar food is famous for its consistently high quality and value for money. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and warm even if a few rooms are slightly old fashioned. The atmosphere is welcoming, homely and relaxed. It is no accident that we have a large percentage of repeat business stretching back to the early days. The proof of the pudding is in the eating (and we bake all our own!) So come out and visit and experience Murrays' Doonmore Hotel for yourselves. Aileen & Andrew Murray ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doonmore Hotel Inishbofin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doonmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.