We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jewel of Connemara, as experienced by Harry and Vera.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cashel House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cashel House Hotel to your Saves list
Cashel House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Cashel, Connemara | Co Galway, Cashel, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kildare
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The jewel of Connemara, as experienced by Harry and Vera.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from an enchanting week-end in Cashel House Hotel. Warmly greeted by our charming hostess and owner, Kay personally escorted us along a deep rich red carpet corridor, where the wonderful smell of home log fires filled the air,to a most enchanting bedroom suite overlooking the stunning gardens. Complimentary tea and coffee awaited. The scene was set with all the attention to detail fit for a VIP! Dinner each evening was a feast for the senses, so artistically presented, fabulous flavours, excellent organic home produced food, served with love and care by a fantastic smiling staff in one of the most beautiful restaurants in Ireland. Kay made sure personally that every guest felt welcome, that each one lacked nothing within the perfect ambience of our dining experience. Wines of course were first class adding to the splendid dining experience--What a meal--brilliant!
Breakfast again was simply superb with such a magnificent range from which to choose.We both left feeling so enriched and overwhelmed by the depth of personal attention, pampered by a dedicated staff in a most magical part of the country. Cashel House is a luxurious jewel of peace, tranquility and fantastic service in the crown of Connemara's natural beauty.We can not recommend it highly enough. Our warmest gratitude and praise reach out to Kay, her extremely pleasant friendly smiling staff and not least to the fantastic chefs. It's one of those rare MUST GO places!! We can not wait to return.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor garden suite, but one of the other guests said their very spacious room u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    49
    23
    17
    8
See reviews for
33
126
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Myself and hubby stayed in cashel house for two nights recently and despite the rain and wind had a really relaxing time. The staff were extremely helpful and the owner was on hand all the time to ensure your stay was going well. It is full of old world charm and elegance and while it would appeal to the slightly older clientele there was a young couple with a toddler there and I was amazed to see how helpful all the staff were to the family. We go back in July for a week but this time we are staying in the self catering cottage on the hotel grounds as there are six of us but we will be having our meals in the hotel as the food was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed one night, 1st June, with my wife. Fine, big room, overlooking the gardens with the bay in the near distance. Had a really lovely dinner in what, in my opinion, has to be one of the nicest restaurants I have ever had the pleasure to dine in. Fantastic big bay window overlooking the gardens, very attentive staff, great food, wonderful ambience. Food was not rushed, bur served at leisure. was asked would we like to take our coffee in the bar? No problem, coffee and petit fours came along in a few minutes. Breakfast next morning was in the same bright, airy room. Wonderful, wonderful views. Breakfast again was superb, with a fine, big choice of a cooked Irish breakfast, plenty of cereals and fruit juices to choos from. Really, really relaxing atmosphere and ambience. Even though it was 1st June, there was a lovely smell of open fires throughout the ground floor. (For those who have never had the pleasure of the smell/sounds of an open fire burning turh, briquettes and logs, come to this hotel for an experience never to be forgotten!)
Would I recommend this place? Unhesitatingly!! Really fantastic location, to get away from it all - the hustle and bustle, no mod cons in this hotel, just good, homely and friendly service throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayd in this amazingly wonderful-hideaway hotel for 2night with 1 dinner on package 3 days ago, welcomed by a smiling lady, mrs. Mcevilly and her staff. The scones and coffee werelovely which is served by a very caring, very hospitable and attentive young fil. lady. (pardon for forgetting her name but think it sounds like *Carmel*) and i could say that Philipinos are the best! During dinner, i orderd Mussels which is undeniebly excellent followd by a refreshingly deli. Sorbet and a steak for my main, twas still servd by that gentle lady I mentiond earliear.. Twas really unforgettable holiday to be there. Like a heaven on earth. The staff did a great Job except for the evening barwoman who forgot to served our baileys coffee. but it's okay indeed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It was a wet miserable day and went with a group by pre arrangement to Cashel House Hotel Connemara. There was a lack of welcome, and the reception is set well into the house. Eventually was seated in a pleasant Conservatory. The soup was meagre in a shallow bowl, and the sandwiches were soggy sliced pan and an over generous amount of mayonnaise. The ambience of the place did not match the lack of quality in the food, which was a pity in a place that seemed to offer more than they delivered

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A special offer on TV 3 taken on the spur of the moment delivered an experience to remember.
A friendly and helpful voice on booking
A warm reception on arrival after a delightful journey from Dublin in glorious sunshine.
A large junior suite with a garden and sea view.
Large and comfortable bed.
Dinner start with scallops,follow with a deliciously light seafood chowder,fllowed by monkfish and finish with the best creme brulee.
Friendly chat in the comfortable lounge and a good night's sleep
Grilled trout brekkie with fruit cold meats and cheese
followed by a leisurely stroll in acclaimed 50 acres of gardens
Do you want anymore?

Room Tip: ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A group of my family and friends stayed in Cashel House in May. They easily accommodated the 13 of us. My husband and I had a beautiful canopy bed and a little sitting area overlooking the beautiful gardens at Cashel House. We were all enchanted by the details of the decoration of the hotel which was in keeping with the garden setting.

Dinner was fantastic! We were not disappointed with anything about Cashel House and my husband and I will certainly be returning when we are in Galway.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms facing the garden also have a view of the lough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cashel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashel House Hotel

Address: Cashel, Connemara | Co Galway, Cashel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cashel House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cashel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cashel House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.