We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zetland Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Zetland Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Zetland Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cashel Bay, Cashel, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Limerick
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

This is an isolated hotel sitting right on the bay with fantastic views and beaches. The food was excellent as was the service. The atmosphere was fantastic with fires in the living areas and lovely silver tea service. We had a really relaxing stay here and would definitely come back. We would suggest that it is a romantic getaway for couples and not for families.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

A huge thanks to all at the Zetland who catered for our wedding in January. The genuine attentive service at all levels was a revelation for our guests. International guests were especially bowled away. The chef catered for 80 people (many of whom are 'foodies).Guests agreed that it was one of the best meals they have ever eaten in their lives. For us, the bride and groom, our demands were many on how we wanted things to look, taste, sound.... and our expectations were surpassed at every level.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

This hotel needs a serious makeover and is not up to four star standard. The prices they charge do not reflect the fact that the interior, along with the heating system, seems to have been forgotten about for at least 25 years!
I stayed in the hotel in December and to say it was cold would be an understatement! As soon as you went past the reception and lobby area to the stairs to the bedrooms, the temperature dropped by about 15 degrees, the more stairs you climbed, the colder it got! It didnt get any better in the bedrooms either.
The bathrooms had this rather odd pheasant print on the toilet and sink, which added to the bizarre nature of the hotel, while the shower only trickled.
Staff were friendly enough, if at times a bit indifferent towards the guests.
Food was ok, nothing special but the views were very nice.
If you like being cold and creeped out by somewhere, then this is the place for you, however if that kind of thing doesn't really appeal, then avoid Zetland at all costs!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The lack of heat
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

If you are looking for a generic, bland Celtic Tiger hotel experience, then head for The G or the Clayton. The Zetland Country House Hotel may be a little frayed at the edges, but, in my opinion, that is what gives it its charm.

My girlfriend and I stayed there over Easter and from the moment we drove up the drive we felt that we were stepping back to the Ireland of the 80s, when people had the time to spend chatting with strangers over a couple of pints about nothing much in particular.

The hotel is small enough for guests to get to know all the staff over a couple of days. Bronagh, the manager, clearly knows what she is about and runs the place with good humour and efficiency. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, with a French flair and the view from a window seat in the dining room incomparable.

If you want to get as far away from the brash, busy New Ireland as possible (without leaving the country) then I strongly recommend the Zetland Country House Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

The location is beautiful and the outside is much like a French country chateau. The staff was helpful and nice. It is expensive, but if you get on their mailing list or inquire about deals, they have them and then I would recommend this place for those deals. If I were paying top dollar I would hesitate a little, but if you can get a deal than this place is totally beautiful. It's a little rundown but they are working on it and the gardens are beautiful. The location is a little way off but I like being off the beaten path. If you are looking on spending some time on day hikes around the Conemara than this is a great place to splurge for the evening. The dinner was delicious too! I definitely recommend the place. Their is a haunting feeling about the house, but I think that adds to the fun of the historical feeling of the place.

  • Liked — Location and view of the sea
  • Disliked — A little run down for the price, but if you get a deal than I think it is GREAT, no complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Thank goodness for Imad, the receptionist, restaurant manager and general 'get it sorted' guy. this place hadn't been renovated, at a guess, since the 80's. it is living purely on it's great location: no minibar, no coffee making tray, small towels of the greying variety, 1 out of three lamps working, the gardens view is a bit overtstated (about 20'). I think the owners need to travel a bit and see what hotels - even mid price ones - offer nowadays. The staff were all pleasant and I'm sure if you had a bay view room, nature would have delivered the goods. The restaurant was good enough but trying to hard to be modern Irish but give it a go and if you are there for two nights go to O'Dowd's in Roundstone for the second night. Breakfast was good and the price inclusive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Zetland House has a grand location and proximity to Clifden. Could use some reno. attention. Big sprays of flowers are fake and surrounding gardens could use some more car...not tatty, just not totally well kept. Bar small. Main lounge grand, but furniture not up to the job. Food great and staff helpful.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — not up to 4-star standard
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zetland Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zetland Country House Hotel

Address: Cashel Bay, Cashel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zetland Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Zetland Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zetland Country Hotel
Zetland Country Cashel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zetland Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.