We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rossroe Lodge B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rossroe Lodge B&B to your Saves list
Rossroe Lodge B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rossroe Lodge | Rossroe, Cashel, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Fabulous stay!
Mary and Sylvain are very friendly and helpful, the room was really nice, and homemade breakfeast wonderful!

The location is really beautiful and quiet, perfect to explore Connemara.

We'll be back for sure.

Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. That's what keeps us ticking! So we will be delighted to have you back at our home when you visit Connemara again. See you soon!
Mary & Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
77
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We loved our stay at Roscoe Lodge last week. We were made welcome by the owners and the accommodation was extremely nice and the rooms completely clean. The cuisine was amazing! We also met a lovely, interesting american couple there !

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here again in the future.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Mary and Sylvain.
Rossroe Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We intended to stay one night and we stayed two, which indicates how satisfied we were.. Such a lovely environment! And adding to this, there was the talent of Sylvain to serve an excellent meal - definitely with French touch.
We can warmly recommend the place to other customers. And don't forget to inform the hosts if you want to book the dinner. Un grand merci !

Room Tip: not all rooms have a sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your stay at Rossroe Lodge.

We appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are very pleased you decided to have dinner here also, and that you enjoyed it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much that you decided to stay a 2nd night here with us too.

Thank you again for your review.

Warm regards,
Mary and Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We began to become a little... suspicious... as we got farther and farther from civilization, and even more still when we walked through the front door of what was very clearly someone's home. I hadn't brought any silver, and I hear there are werewolves in these parts....

Mary and Sylvain are the proprietors of this charming establishment out on a peninsula in the very remote Connemara, and they live there with their three children. The youngest is the most charming ambassador of culture ever... she's three and about the best welcome party that anyone could send out.

Sylvain quickly laid us out tea and homemade scones (with his own homemade marmelade and preserves, which were to die for) and we decided about what to do for dinner. It was still a bit early, and we contemplated eating stew with the family (we had failed to book dinner in advance, but the hosts were more than willing to accommodate if we desired) but decided to go into the next town to the pub instead. They were very helpful about directions - and pay attention, lest you get lost on the moors and the werewolves find you! ... We ate the best seafood chowder we'd ever had in the cutest-ever village of Roundstone (about 20 minutes away) at O'Dowd's pub/restaurant.

Bed was comfortable if a little hard (seems to be the fashion in this country), house is super warm (built to be all eco-friendly, has geothermal heat, heated floors, etc.), comforter nice and thick. Wifi available if a bit slow (frankly I was just happy to have it). Bathroom was large, well-laid out, and had a nice big new shower.

Breakfast demonstrated that clearly Sylvain either has some significant culinary training/experience or is a masterful amateur... plus I think everything we ate came from within 5 miles. Typical Irish spread, and will accommodate food allergies/restrictions/etc. if notice given. Lovely little breakfast room with a few tables and buffet spread.

As this was the very, very off-season, rates were extremely extremely reasonable - frankly a steal. I would expect to (and very gladly) pay double during the high season. Online booking was very easy (which I did the day before) and they take credit cards for payment at checkout.

Do note that this is absolutely in the middle of nowhere and plan accordingly. But that results in views like the one in the attached photo...which was the view we woke up to, immediately out our room's window. I don't think it could really get any better than this.

Room Tip: Room Number 3 has the very best view - first floor view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments in your recent review of your stay here with us at Rossroe Lodge. Wow! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The remoteness of our B&B is a definite bonus even if it does seem like werewolves might roam around from time to time!
Our location, as you so rightly put it, is very special and well worth the drive here. It is always great to hear also that you enjoyed the food here as we do pride ourselves on this.
We are happy you felt you got good value for money here too.

Many thanks again for your fantastic review and hope to see you here again in the future.

Mary and Sylvain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with an old, dear friend in the double room (a twin and a queen). We really enjoyed it. Off the beaten track with a quiet, friendly atmosphere. The food was (as everyone else seems to note) excellent, made to order, and served with gentle pride of craftsmanship. We were greeted by a small dog belonging to a neighbor as we pulled up the drive. The view of the water (on clear days) was remarkable....you are really in the wilds of Connemara here. The couple who own the place, Marry and Sylvian, were warm and welcoming. We discovered a picturesque horse down the road and fed it an apple (don't overfeed or they will get colic). Very clean and comfortable room. One thing that was odd to me (but I am told normal for the area) was the peat coloring in the water. Sylvian will talk to you about how they designed the place to be eco friendly if you inquire. Great pricing, especially if you purchase a meal with the stay (which we did and was scrumptious, huge and locally sourced). Highly reccomended, but not if you need lots of outside stimulation.

Room Tip: There are only 4, two doubles and one triple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay here with us.
We are glad you enjoyed it and that the food was also appreciated.We pride ourselves on using only fresh local produce where possible and it is always nice to hear great comments about it! Its also great that you availed of our package, which is only available through our website.

Again many thanks and look forward to welcoming you both here again in the future.

Mary and Sylvain Lapierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miraflores, Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Great place for relaxing. We stayed for only one night so as to continue roadtripping through Ireland, but the breakfast and accomodations are top notch. If you like to go on walks they will gladly point out the way, they have maps with the tours as well. Highly reccommended

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay here at Rossroe Lodge.We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Looking forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the future,

Many thanks,
Mary and Sylvain Lapierre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

During our first visit to Ireland we stayed at Rossroe Lodge for 2 nights. A little far off the main road, this B&B made everything worthwhile. Our room was very clean with modern furniture, free WiFi, a TV and had the best view I have ever seen. The entire location seemed to me like a postcard image of beautiful Connemara, with it´s rough mountainside and the Atlantic ocean just outside your door. The distinguished scent the open turf fire in the common room made you feel right at home. The best thing about Rossroe was the outstanding breakfast. One must try the locally sourced smoked salmon. It is to die for. The staff was nothing but warm and friendly and gave us useful tips on how to explore the beauty of Connemara. For the surprisingly low price the best B&B you can possibly imagine. Thx a lot for the lovely stay, I already long to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay here with us at Rossroe Lodge B&B.We were thrilled to receive such a fantastic account of your stay.We are very lucky to live in a truly beautiful,if remote,part of the world and we are pleased that you also felt that the service and food you received was also good.We look forward to welcoming you here again in the future.

Thanks again,

Mary and Sylvain Lapierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rossroe Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossroe Lodge B&B

Address: Rossroe Lodge | Rossroe, Cashel, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossroe Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossroe Lodge is a family home situated in Cashel, in the heart of Connemara (Co.Galway). It offers great comfort with fantastic views of Cashel Bay. Private lounge with real turf fire. An ideal base for discovering Connemara. Evening meals available on request.French spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rossroe Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossroe Lodge B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.