We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rossroe Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rossroe Lodge B&B to your Saves list
Rossroe Lodge B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rossroe Lodge | Rossroe, Cashel, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed 10 nights at Rossroe B&B and couldn't have asked for a more wonderful place. Rossroe B&B is located quietly out of the way - which is saying something for Connemara. It was peaceful and quiet with great views. There were plenty of places to walk right from the B&B or just a short drive away. All Connemara is within a quick drive as well. Picturesque Roundstone with its wonderful restaurants was only 20 minutes away. And Clifden, with its many shops and restaurants was only 30-40 minutes away. The ferry to the Aran Islands was only 45 minutes in the other direction.

Apart from the location, everything at the B&B was perfect. Mary and Sylvan (and their children) were so friendly and helpful and wonderful hosts. The rooms were spacious and clean and even after being there for 10 days we didn't feel cramped. The food was absolutely delicious. We woke up every morning so excited to eat.

We highly recommend Rossroe B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hi Andy and Becky,

Thank you both for your wonderful comments.We really appreciate you taking the time to do so.We are very happy you enjoyed your stay here,its amazing how fast 10 days went!

We hope we get a chance to welcome you back here again in the future.

Warm regards,
Mary and Sylvain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
78
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This place is AMAZING! We traveled here on our honeymoon. After landing in Dublin we drove straight here and were glad we did. After a long journey Sylvain made us an excellent dinner salad! It was perhaps the best I've ever had. He is culinary trained and it shows. Breakfast was the best we had in Ireland and never found another like it. The scenery is beautiful and it is peaceful. After a day of traveling it was nice for me and my wife to take a walk near the water and just breathe in the fresh Irish air. I would give this place 100 stars out of 10 if I could and recommend it to anyone! The Lapierre family are very nice and make you feel at home and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Front room is excellent because it faces the water, but all rooms are quiet and very nicely set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hi Santiago and Amanda,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments!We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you both enjoyed the breakfast so much too.We look forward to having you stay here with us again,maybe for an anniversary!

Again many thanks

Mary and Sylvain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Rossroe lodge is a very quiet B&B with beautiful view on the sea (also from the patio), featuring nice and clean rooms, perfect service, complete breakfast, and on demand also french-quality dinner.

Room Tip: not all rooms have view to the sea, but it will be enjoyed in any case from the breakfast room or fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Peter
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you took such pleasure from the fantastic views we have here in Cashel in Connemara.
To avail of our best offers don't hesitate to contact us(rossroelodge@live.ie).
Again many thanks for your review,

Mary and Sylvain Lapierre
Rossroe Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlaar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

we stayed 3 nights in Rossroe Lodge and we loved it!When we arrived,scones and coffee was served.The room was spacious and the vieuw was stunning!If you are looking for a quiet envirement and friendly welcome,you are at the right adress.Mary and Sylvain serving delicious food,at dinner they even played my favorite music,so thoughtful! Rossroe Lodge is highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: the front room has stunning vieuws
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments!I enjoyed your taste in music too!We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to welcoming you back here again in the future.

Mary and Sylvain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaillimh, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed in Rossroe Lodge B&B for 1 night (10/03/2012). The plan was for me and the girlfriend to take a break from Galway city and the large amount of drink and madness that entails. Made the booking based on the reviews i found on this website. I will be honest i was attracted by the evening meal option. Overall everything was spot on. Mary and Sylvain are great hosts. We arrived around 4:30 and got offered the customary Tea and scones, we passed on this as we wanted to head to Gurteen beach before we lost the light. The rooms are very comfortable with all the usual bits and pieces. We did book the evening meal and i'm so glad we did. We were the only people eating which wasn't a problem, the dinning area isn't to big. We didn't feel odd being only a couple eating it was actual quiet intimate. The food it self was great and outstanding for the money, the wine (Good selection for a B&B 3 white and 3 red) was charged with very little markup. It's so nice being able to eat knowing your room is close enough to crawl into with a full stomach. breakfast was also great. Fruit salad then grilled kippers (Local smokehouse) cup of coffee, OJ and a scone to finish!!! Have already recommended this place to friends. So if you want to get away and have a pleasant but quiet evening with your partner you've found a great place. Thanks Mary and Sylvain.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hi Stuart,

Thank you for your wonderful comment.We are really glad you enjoyed your stay here with us in Rossroe Lodge.We look forward to welcoming you both back here again soon for another break away in the beautiful Connemara.

Again many thanks,

Mary and Sylvain.
Rossroe Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We actually stayed at Rossroe Lodge from November 5-8, 2011. We arrived a bit earlier than we mentioned, but that was not a problem. We were greeted with a warm welcome from Mary and Silvain and their cute little ones! We were served pie and coffee upon our arrival and had quite the cute conversation with their toddler. The house is very environmentally friendly and very cozy and unique. The room was quaint and the view in the morning as the sun rises is to die for. The shower is well-equipped with shampoo and conditioner dispensers and everything is spotless. Don't forego reserving dinner for at least one evening, cooked by Sylvain, who happens to be a seasoned French chef. The dinner is relatively inexpensive for what you get--3 courses, and he even offers wine for a small extra fee. We didn't get too spend too much time in the house itself, as we were off exploring for most of each day, but this place is no doubt a 5-star accomodation in a remote area of the gorgeous Connemara landscape, no-doubt unrivaled in beauty and bliss. But, be careful getting there, especially at night--the roads are narrow and there tend to be cows who like to take night strolls on the road!
**One word of advice to those who might book this bed and breakfast through Sceptre Tours--the bed and breakfast voucher can be quite misleading. It gives us the option to book this bed and breakfast without any restriction using the voucher, but when Sylvain reviewed the voucher himself, he saw that they only allow for a regular bedroom, not an ensuite--which is difficult and confusing because Sylvain explained that the bed and breakfast association pushed for all bed and breakfasts to ONLY offer ensuite rooms. My boyfriend and I felt terrible about this miscommunication and humbly offered to pay the difference, but Sylvain was gracious and refused to accept. Last I heard, he was planning to take up the issue with B&BIreland. Just a heads up!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor.We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us.As for your comments on the vouchers,Sylvain spoke with B&B Ireland and was happy to hear that from this year all vouchers will be for en-suite bedrooms only.Hope this will clear up any confusion for future guests.Again many thanks for your review.

Mary and Sylvain Lapierre.
Rossroe Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybofey, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Spent 3 nights in this beautiful location and the most amazing B&B. Mary and Sylvain are great hosts. We have no faults with this B&B. The service was great, tea and scones on arrival. The view from our room was of the bay which is amazing no matter what the weather. The room was very cosy and warm with everything you would need for a really comfortable stay. What we found most unusal was that it has been the only place we have stayed in that offers dinner in the evenings, which is great after walking around the beautifull countryside all day. Very stress free. Food is to die for, such amazing quality of food and service we got from Mary and Sylvain. Will certainly be back for more. In terms of comfort, quality and value for money it is second till none and well worth booking for your stay in Connamara.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Hi Michelle and John,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope you can come back soon for another visit.Again many thanks.

Mary and Sylvain
Rossroe Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rossroe Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossroe Lodge B&B

Address: Rossroe Lodge | Rossroe, Cashel, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossroe Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossroe Lodge is a family home situated in Cashel, in the heart of Connemara (Co.Galway). It offers great comfort with fantastic views of Cashel Bay. Private lounge with real turf fire. An ideal base for discovering Connemara. Evening meals available on request.French spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rossroe Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossroe Lodge B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.