We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Irish welcome and hospitality: truly lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carna Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carna Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Carna Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carna, Carna, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Dublin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Genuine Irish welcome and hospitality: truly lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very friendly staff, very helpful with directions, places to go and things to do. Very reasonably priced food and drink. Food is exceptional in bar and restaurant. Not on the beach but lots of lovely quiet coves where one can enjoy the peace and quiet

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
28
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here this past week for a family reunion. We are from the states. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff so polite and accommodating. But there are two things that make this hotel stand out - the food is fantastic and the local nightlife at the bar located in the hotel is the real thing! If you want to experience Carna in all its character, stay/eat/drink here. We will be back!

The food was special,,,like home-cooked, but also fancy - all with fresh ingredients. Had wonderful ad hoc traditional Irish music every night in the bar.

Very nice people in charge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My family and I thought that this would just be another 3 star hotel.It was much much more than that,Michael and his team give you such a warm friendly welcome that you feel relaxed and happy just by booking in.The rooms are clean and comfortable with all the facilities you would need.Nothing is too much trouble and each time you encounter Michael or a member of his team they inquire if there's anything they can do for you.Our little dog was treated to the same level of service.They create a warm friendly atmosphere throughout your stay.The food was very good and well cooked and plenty of it.Having breakfast outside on a sunny morning with a view of the Connemara hills is a real treat that you must experience.You wont find this Hotel on any main routes but you should do anything you have to to find it it is so well worth it.
My only regret is that we only stayed for 3 days but we will be back.GO THERE AND GO NOW YOU WONT REGRET IT.

Room Tip: If you have a pet choose a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a wedding party. What a lovely family run hotel. Very nice rooms, spacious, great breakfast. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. we ate in the hotel that night and the food was great and very reasonable.

Room Tip: We were at the back which was very quiet, but all rooms could be like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here with a a group who were paintng the surrounding area, last week in June. What comes most to mind was the calls of the local cuckoos, from dawn to dusk, and we even saw one flying. It crossed my mind that the hotel should organize a Cuckoo Festival for guests to come and experience the call of the cuckoo, that has disappeared from so much of Ireland. The hotel itself was brillant, very friendly staff and management, with a wonderful breakfast and evening meal. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is an really special family hotel. So far removed from the Nama chain hotels and brings you
back in positive ways. The local staff not only know and love the area but speak Irish as their first
Language. Rooms simple yet spotless and comfortable. The beaches in the area are beyond
Description. The seafood fresh and a little big ;). You are not a customer, you are a guest and I
Do not often feel hat these days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent a lovely few days @ this hotel. From the moment we arrived we felt @home . The hotel staff are very friendly & welcoming in this family run hotel. It is situated in a quiet & relaxing place & is within easy reach of many interesting & beautiful places. I would definately recommend this hotel. It's great value for money into the bargain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carna Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carna Bay Hotel

Address: Carna, Carna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carna Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carna Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carna Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.