We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Relaxing Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carna Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carna Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Carna Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carna, Carna, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in July. Would reccommend for a quiet place to relax. Carna is a small village in the heart of connemara.
The room was clean and bright. Food in both bar and restaurant was very good nice big portions. Staff very friendly. NIce beaches near by. Tip for hotel maybe put the sat nav co ordinates of the beaches on the nice map of beaches you have in reception as they are very hard to find.
Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
28
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Found this to be expensive for what it offered. Our room was very small. Breakfast was ok but I found the baked goods not fresh. Handy for exploring the area and especially when visiting children in the local Colaiste Samhraidh. Insulation between rooms is not good. There was a baby in the room next door who kept us awake with his crying.

Room Tip: One not near a baby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I found the carna hotel very good value and the surroundings were perfect

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I can only recommend this lovely hotel. From the warm welcome to the delicious food, to the extremely thoughtful preparations made for our 11month old baby, if you're anywhere near the area do try and stop in for the night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Went here for a short stay and it was such a friendly enviroment with very helpful staff. the music was amazing and had everyone up dancing. made me feel very welcome. Would recomend :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We went there with my Girlfriend on our trip around West Coast. Hotel is in quiet village, breathtaking views. Hotel is a little bit "Oldschool" but it's very clean and cozy. Bathroom with shower and bathtub- spacious bed and windows with nice views. We've got food there- BIG portions- which is good, food was lovely, served nicely and delicious- their chocolate cake should be called "SIN"- served with a scoop of ice creams. Best beef baguette ever got in my life! Staff was very nice patient and friendly, Lady and Gentleman at the Reception- very nice and helpful, bar staff took one step forward and we've got delicious sandwiches (we didnt realize that there is no take aways or chippers around lol) in the middle of the night :-) Fair play to staff again. Night was very quiet and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was really big and very tasty. We will visit this hotel again and we will definitely recommend it to everybody looking for nice quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muswell Hill
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Hello I stayed at The Carna Bay Hotel on 9th June 2012.
It was OK, I got what I paid for. I reckon it's clinging onto its 3 stars though. I'd say 2/3 stars.
This place is tired. But, the economy has suffered and it must be tough for this place to stay afloat.
The meals were piled high. Much too much to eat it all.
Maybe i expect too much with hotels usually trying to out-do each other, but not here.

Everything was standard. The surrounding beaches though are some of the most beautiful beaches i've seen. I never knew the beaches were so good and clean. Definitely ideal beaches for young children.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carna Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carna Bay Hotel

Address: Carna, Carna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carna Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carna Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carna Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.