We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paddy Burke's

Paddy Burke's
Main Street, Clarenbridge, Ireland
+353 91 796226
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

returned to Paddy Burkes for lunch today, and as always enjoyed the experience. Top class food, in a lovely country town surroundings and a smile from Sean our lovely waiter! we will be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    12
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dirty loos, broken glass”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We were here last Sunday to meet friends for lunch. We had 4 kids between us. Service was slow and unorganised. The lady serving us was a little moody at the start but cheered up a little when we said we would go outside for our coffee to let the kids run about! There are seats and a green area out the back. What we didn't realise was the outside was littered with empty bottles and broken glass. There was half finished drinks and party banners from the previous nights 21st. The toilets were grotty and the baby changing unit was.... Disgusting is all I would say. Sorry Paddy Burkes your food may be good but we won't be returning. It's not safe for young families.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.galway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I went here with 3 of my friends and for the best part of it enjoyed it except the service. I am in the hotel business and was appalled with the service in this restaurant. We had a table booked for 7.30pm we were seated on time which was nice but then the service started and from the get go it was extremely bad. We got seated and only 1 menu brought to the table and at this time it was not busy, then when the rest of the menu's were brought to the table we ordered a round of drinks and asked for the wine menu this took over 20 minutes to receive our drinks and the wine menu. Then when we got them we ordered our food and a bottle of wine. The food was exceptional no faults there, but it took over 1 hour to receive our wine and by this time we asked 3 different server to check on our wine as our server was not always around which is not acceptable if she was taking our order and she didn't check once if everything was ok hence asking other servers to check on the wine as we were nearly at the end of our main course. It is unacceptable in this day to get such poor service and to be served by 4 different servers for the money you pay there they need to hire better staff. Very disappointing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were taken out for our Anniversary dinner to this restaurant on Saturday night and it was buzzing with people both inside and out. We were seated immediately by a lovely friendly smiling waitress; which makes a change. Our drinks order was taken promptly as was our food order. I loved the chicken curry which I ordered and my husband was highly impressed with the Lasagne. All in all the evening was a very pleasant one. The only negative thing I would say is that we were seated beside a loud group of women who had no thought for anyone else in the immediate area and we couldn't hear ourselves talking over the noise. When I return again I will make sure that I am seated somewhere more appropriate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch at Paddy Burke's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I visited paddy Burke's for lunch today. What a treat!. Fantastic food, large portions and excellent service. Somebody here really cares about quality and value for money. Long may it continue. Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paddy Burke's also viewed

Kilcolgan, County Galway
Oranmore, Galway
 
Clarinbridge, County Galway
 

Been to Paddy Burke's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddy Burke's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.