We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly, and Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bru Radharc Na Mara Hostel

Bru Radharc Na Mara Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inisheer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bru Radharc Na Mara Hostel
West Village, Province of Connacht, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly, and Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a pilgrimage to Ireland. It was right on the ocean with an amazing view. The beds were clean and comfortable and the bathrooms were also. There is a small room for relaxing and watching tv and it is right next to a good pub. The location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here with a large hen party. Basic but Clean rooms, very accommodating staff. So friendly and helpful. Kitchen was very well equipped. Had tea n toast in the morning just what we needed.

Would recommend this hostel while basic it's the staff/family that make this special.. They even came down to the ferry after us with a phone charger which was left behind!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have stayed here in Summer '10 and '11, and both times it was fine. The rooms are clean and warm, and the kitchen is well equipped. That's all a hostel is meant to be and it did the job. The staff were grand, both times when we got there we were left standing around for ages as there was no one around to check us in. Other then that it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

Seriously people get over yourselves, who goes to the smallest of the aran islands in search of ultra modern top class accomodation? And if you are why not try the Burj Al Arab for god's sake?

What im trying to say here is that hostels are usually basic and this case is no different. its not "family friendly", suitable for oldies, or snobs, there is B&B's on the island for this market. the hostel provides a cheap bed perfect for a short stay for the lone traveller, group of friends or young couple.

And best of all the hostel is attached to a pub! So if you'd prefer to spend your aran holiday inside fussing over the frills then go elsewhere, but for the hardcore holidaymaker who'd prefer to spend the hardearned cash on a nice irish pint of guinness then Bru Radharc Na Mara Hostel is for you.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2007

Well...my sister and I biked through Ireland twice. In 2002 and 2004. On both trips we stayed a night on Inisheer and stayed at the Bru Hostel twice. Our room was clean both times...but definitly nothing special. We had no problems and we treated just fine.
We choose to go to Inisheer because it was the smallest of the Arans. We thought that if we were going we should go on the smallest scale possible and enjoy the true nature of the Arans. ...and that is what you get on Inisheer. At first we thought that the friendliness was minimal both at the hostel and throughout the island...but you are going somewhere that speaks majorily gaelic and is busy about the business and look past the "tourist" and i think that is ok.
When you to Inisheer and stay at the Bru hostel...you are in a sense ruffing it out in the Atlantic! I love it ! It is what it is!

  • Liked — True Inisheer Experince
  • Disliked — Old Decor
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

My experience at the "BRU" Hostel was short but 'impressive' in the worst sense. After an unfriendly guy had shown me around the house I decided to leave again and try to find something else. Unfortunately there is no other Hostel on the island (the one that used to be next to the post office has been closed down a few years ago). However, there are plenty of B&B - actually, check out Ceola an Mara right next to the hostel at the pier. I got a private ensuite with abundant and tasty Irish breakfast for 28 Euro!!!

  • Liked — the location but there are others that offer the same and offer more value for money!
  • Disliked — dirt, unfriendly staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inisheer hotels

eire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

We stayed for a weekend at the inis oirr hostel. i suppose we were a little disappointed, as we had read glowing reports of this hostel being the 'cleanest you will ever stay in' , it gave us high hopes you could say. We had a family room , it was basic the window in the bathroom wouldn't shut and the bedroom window cracked . The kitchen was clean though and well stocked with utensils and it was beside a nice pub. It cost 60euro a night which to my mind is expensive for what we got ,but the west of Ireland is expensive . The best part is enjoying the scenery , with the best value being the bicycle rental by the harbour at 10 euro a day, they had a selection of bicycles to suit every member of the family . So i would sum up by saying our experience was not as bad as the previous reviewer, but the hostel does need a paint job and upgrading and of course a smile from the owner would make all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bru Radharc Na Mara Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bru Radharc Na Mara Hostel

Address: West Village, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inisheer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Inisheer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bru Radharc na Mara Hostel is located on Inishere, the smallest and most beautiful of the Aran Islands. It is located on the waters edge overlooking Galway Bay, away from the bustle of city life..in a world of stunning scenery with panoramic views of neighbouring islands, the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren. It offers en-suite private (double/twin)rooms, family rooms and 4/6 bed dormitories. Facilities include a fully equipped self-catering kitchen, dining area, common room with open fire, Irish/Continental breakfast available, Credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bru Radharc Na Mara Hostel Aran Islands, Ireland - Inisheer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bru Radharc Na Mara Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bru Radharc Na Mara Hostel to your Saves list