We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ostan Inis Oirr (Inisheer Hotel)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inisheer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ostan Inis Oirr (Inisheer Hotel)
Save
You added Ostan Inis Oirr (Inisheer Hotel) to your Saves list
Lurgan Village, Province of Connacht, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inisheer
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just the pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we did take shelter in the pub downstairs during the rain. Nice atmosphere in there, really relaxed. The service was good, and it was perfectly common to hear some Irish being spoken.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    5
    1
    8
See reviews for
10
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
IRELLAND
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed in the Inis Oirr hotel on Sunday night of June bank holiday weekend, place very busy as should be expected. Staff are very friendly and food and drink are served very promptly, so no issues there. Went for a walk around island and decided to get ready before heading out for the night. One big problem, no hot water for shower or hand basin. Went to enquire and told that immersion was on but that the water was being used as fast as it was heated. Dont think this is good enough for a hotel in modern times, hot water is an absolute must. Water was warm the following morning, not hot by any means. So word of warning for anyone staying, if you want a shower make sure you have it early before all the hot water is used up. Average rating due to this. This property is on the smallest Aran Island, Inis Oirr or also called Inisheer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is dated (but then this is a remote island so every thing is a bit dated) but had a nice clean room with comfy bed, friendly staff and a good breakfast. No complaints really. Will be back on Inis Oirr next September an will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a noisy, busy bar in the hotel so you might want to ask for a room out the back if you dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in August. Rooms were really affordable and nicely decorated, clean and spacious.

The keys are a bit of a nightmare, took ages to open so maybe update the key system. Rooms were quite cold on the first night, couldn't operate the radiators so lucky I had my husband to get some heat off, I'd say it was a different story for someone in a single bed.

Some of the group we stayed with had problems in that there was no hot water for showers for the entire weekend so they knocked a certain amount off the bill. Upstairs however we had no problems with water as we had electric showers upstairs.

Breakfast was fantastic! Buffet and full Irish, very tasty and Italian chef was nice and friendly. Housekeeping staff were lovely too.

Reception was a bit hit and miss, maybe laid back?

Bar is nice on a Friday night, it's a bit mad on Saturday nights when it turns into the Island's disco. We could hear a small amount of noise from this and also from smokers coming out into the hotel entrance and talking and slamming doors.

Would definitely stay here again, you couldn't beat the price!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with electric shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed here on 25th and 26th of August 2011. While we were expecting a basic hotel, we weren't disappointed. However, it's on the smallest of the Aran Islands, so some credit needs to be given for that. I appreciate that any supplies etc. would need to be brought over from the mainland, but can I suggest a couple of things that would really make a difference to staying here?

More sound insulation in the bedrooms, it really was annoying that every door opening or closing could be heard as clear as day.........

To follow on from that, maybe a swipe card system for the bedrooms so you don't have a much noise from people entering and leaving the room.

Our shower tray was filling up with water when we had a shower, that's easily fixed. Also the shower head could be replaced (room 10).

The bar was good, the pints were good too. I can't fault the staff, they were very easy going, and the barman asked me did I want another pint before they finished up, which I like. I can't stand a pub that just stops serving.

The breakfast was lovely, and served by a very pleasant Eastern European girl.

One of the biggest problems I had throughout my stay was this, which is no fault of the hotel.......I would like to thank the residents of two rooms up the corridor who had a gang of children, and they had both doors open all the time. So as a result, like clockwork, at 7.30am in the morning these kids would begin using the corridor as a playground, while the parents showed NO respect to the other guests. Remember the morning someone shouted to keep the noise down? That was me. Oh, and I wasn't the only person who was annoyed.

So while I would go back to Inisheer again, I think next time I would go to a B+B, not because of any major problems, but just a couple of little ones that could be easily fixed. And less noise hopefully......

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest one........
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The hotel itself was nice and clean enough. A bit old fashion, but the room was overall good, even if it was difficult to sleep with the noise of the banging doors or even when somebody was locking or unlocking the adiacent door. Breakfast was very good, and staff friendly. The hotel's pub is frequented by locals and tourists. Food is good too here and staff very polite. The best thing about this place is that it was dog friendly; dogs are also allowed in the pub.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I would like to say that some of these reviews seem to be talking about Inis Mór hotel and not Inis Oirr hotel at all, it's very frustrating !! There is no way that this hotel charged a couple with a 16month old baby €150 for one night . My husband, my two kids and I have been staying at this hotel for the last 6 years, we have never been charged more than €90 - €110 depending on the time of year we travel. And if we stay for a good few nights the hotel always gives us a deal. Again the pier house b&b is on Inis Mor not Inis Oirr. It would be advisable if people when giving comments would actually know which island they stayed on.
I want people to know that this isn't a 5star hotel so please don't come here expecting 5star service, I think people are expecting too much, the hotel is over 25 years old. The rooms are very clean, they have comfortable beds, have tvs, what more to you need. There are a lot of great things about this hotel, and the island is a magnificent place. The hotel is beside a beautiful clean sandy beach, and when you get good weather you could relax or swim here all day long! You can walk around the whole island in just under 3 hours, and it is a fantastic and beautiful place to see. The view from O'Brien's Castle is absolutely breathtaking, especially on a nice day, the weather can make a big difference. We have rented bikes and it is another great way to see the island. With the pony and trap rides you get to see a lot and they are great fun too, the kids love them! One of the best playgrounds in Ireland was built on Inis Oirr 3 or 4 years ago and it is only a two minute walk from the hotel and the kids love it so much, it keeps them busy for hours. The locals here are very friendly, we including the kids have made a lot of friends over the years, including the hotel staff. If you need anything at all they will try their best to do it. There is internet access in the lounge and there is wifi throughout the bar and lounge, which is great when you're in need for your facebook buzz! The food here is fantastic, in the bar and in the restaurant, especially the local seafood. The fresh mussels and mackerel are to die for! And the plates are always full of lovely inis oirr potatoes and vegetables. The kids can also get 1/2 portions of everything which is great. The full irish breakfast is very tasty and plentiful, great choice of cereals, juices, fruit and again if you need more of anything just ask and you will get it!!
There is a large bar to the front of the hotel with a great atmosphere, we like to practice our 'gaeilge' with the locals here. The traditional music every night is great craic, we always join in and have a great sing song session. The kids are allowed into the bar until a reasonable hour too which is great for us, plus the hotel organized a babysitter for us and we have used her and her friend numerous times over the past 6 years.
Another thing i see people complaining about is the noise. Most of the people that do travel to the Aran Islands, come for the music and the craic and they are the ones making the noise! We have stayed in 4star and 5star hotels all over and they have noisy rooms too. Honestly this happens everywhere and it is a hard thing to control. But again you can just ask for a room that isn't noisy. We have rarely had any problems with noise.
I really hope my review helps, i know its very long, but i hope that it gives everybody a better idea, because some of these reviews do not do the hotel or the island its proper justice and me and my family really love this place and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ostan Inis Oirr (Inisheer Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostan Inis Oirr (Inisheer Hotel)

Address: Lurgan Village, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inisheer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inisheer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ostan Inis Oirr, owned and run by the Flaherty family for 30 years. The hotel is situated close to sandy beach and pier. The 14 bedrooms include 2 large family rooms. All bedrooms are en-suite with central heating, electric blankets and hairdryers. Facilities include a Restaurant, bar and Lounge. A magnificent dining room is overlooking a castle. There is fresh local seafood with full wine and bar facilities also available on request for non residents. A Great atmosphere with traditional Irish Music and food in the Bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ostan Inis Oirr (Inisheer Hotel) Hotel Inishere
Hotel Inisheer Ostan Inis Oirr
Ostan Inis Oirr (Inisheer Hotel) Aran Islands, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ostan Inis Oirr (Inisheer Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.