We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location.. Perfect option for Inish Mor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilronan Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inishmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilronan Hostel
Save
You added Kilronan Hostel to your Saves list
Kilronan Village, Inis Mor, Province of Connacht, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great location.. Perfect option for Inish Mor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

4 of us stayed here for one night as part of a week long cycle trip up the west coast of Ireland. Very convenient location, and friendly helpful staff and a big well stocked kitchen with an outside BBQ. Perfect for cooking a good meal after a long day on the bikes! They even have fishing rods you can borrow to go and catch your own dinner if that's your thing! We had a great stay and would recommend it to anyone.

I see one complaint about the beds etc; ignore it. This hostel was as clean and comfortable as any other we stayed in during the week.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    37
    8
    5
    8
See reviews for
20
8
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Inis Mor is a great island for everyone who loves nature, and Kilronan Hostel is a very good place to stay: a friendly, comfy and clean hostel. I stayed in a 4 bed room with sea view. Marco was a good host, I felt very welcome. All guests and staff were nice people. You can rent a bicycle at the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a very affordable and well-situated hostel on the Aran Islands. It is a very traditional hostel in the sense that it has several rooms with bunk beds, so it is nothing fancy. However, each room has its own bathroom inside, so at least you are not sharing with too many people.

The location is fantastic - walking distance from the dock, so it's very easy to get to. The staff is also extremely friendly and helpful. This is one of the most affordable ways to spend a night or two on the island, which is really worth doing. One thing to note is that although the hostel does have wifi, it doesn't work well in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here in a four (4)-bedroom at the early August. It had a bathroom inside the room. I was sharing a room with two guys from Spain who were great fun. The hostel was nice and clean with big kitchen and TV room. The staff was nice, friendly, and very helpful in assisting in a great stay on the island. The island is beautiful, there are several days worth of historic sites to visit and explore, the local citizens are very friendly and I found to be extremely helpful with directions. There is a nice beach, however, our Spanish friends said the water was cold (I took their warning and did not go in as I had a full day planned of other attractions). Kilronan Hostel is conveniently located near the harbor so access to the ferry, restaurants, pubs, shops and bicycle rentals is exceptional. You can see the hostel from the ferry coming into the harbor. things to and I recommend you stay a few days on the island to enjoy.

The question arises, would I stay there again? I am not one to return to the same place year after year, as I am always wondering what the view is like over that next hill and around that next bend. However, there are many attractions to bring one to Inis Mor and I would positively prefer to stay at Kilronan Hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Ireland is my favorite place on earth and innismore is my favorite place there. This hostel is a great place to stay. Clean, friendly and set up so you can have to the perfect view while sipping tea or Guinness. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here in a 6 bed female room at the end of August. It even had a batroom inside. I was sharing a room with some Spanish girls who were great fun. The hostel was nice and clean with big kitchen and TV room. Even there was some German channels on the TV. The staff were nice and friendly and from many different countrys. The island is beautiful and I recommend you stay a few days on the island to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Tina,
Thanks for staying with us, so nice to have happy happy guests. We are glad you enjoyed yourself!

Remember there is no extra charge for anything once you book Kilronan Hostel.

FREE Tea and Coffee all day long.
FREE Breakfast
FREE Internet ( Computer )
FREE WI-FI
FREE Towels
FREE Luggage Storage
FREE Safety Deposit Boxes
FREE Games
FREE DVD'S for those wet days
FREE Drying for your wet clothes
FREE Rain jackets, Rain Leggings, Rain Boots
FREE Map
FREE Fishing rods and bait
FREE Hurleys and Sliotars
FREE Sky Sports channels for those big games
FREE Ironing board and iron
FREE Hairdriers
FREE Electricity convertors

Also remember that all rooms have a bathroom with shower and we have no large dorms!

If you need anything we can do to make you stay more enjoyable, please please please ask a member of staff when you are at Kilronan Hostel, not weeks after you leave by email!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here after hearing great things from other travelers I had met. It did not disappoint, very friendly staff, clean rooms/bathrooms and comfy beds. This hostel has a great atmosphere and I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilronan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan Hostel

Address: Kilronan Village, Inis Mor, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Inishmore
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly beside the pier on Inis Mor, Kilronan Hostel is the perfect place to stay to enjoy the magic of the Aran Islands. With stunning views of Kilronan Harbour and the Atlantic Ocean, our hostel is a stress-free zone where you can really feel at home! At Kilronan Hostel, comfort and cleanliness are our priorities. We have small dorms, all en-suite, meaning you can stay in comfort at a very reasonable price. We have a spacious and well-equipped kitchen which is open all day for your use, as well as a cosy TV room and a fantastic outdoor seating and BBQ area. Less than 5 minutes' walk to the supermarket and ATM and all the best local pubs and restaurants, we have free Wi-Fi throughout the hostel and all rates include breakfast, towels and free tea/coffee all day long. ************************************************************************ Please be aware that we cannot accept credit/debit card payments at this moment in time, so make sure to bring enough cash with you as the ATM is only accessible between 9am and 6pm! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilronan Hotel Inishmore
Kilronan Hostel Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilronan Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.