We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable room with pleasant helpful host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clai Ban

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inishmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clai Ban
Save
You added Clai Ban to your Saves list
Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
North Carolina mountains
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very comfortable room with pleasant helpful host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed at Clai Ban because the Kilmurvey B&B was full the first night we were at Inish More. The location was very convenient to the ferry dock - only about a 10 minute walk. The room we had was very clean and had a comfortable bed. Aren't those the big items? It was a very short walk into Kilronan and to several places to eat. The breakfast was delicious, and our host could not have been nicer. He made multiple calls for us to verify the showing of Man of Aran. Had we been planning to stay in Kilronan we would certainly have continued our stay at Clai Ban.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

YES- the location is good, safe-near enough to harbour(7 mins walk) and Joe wattys pub (1 min walk) with its trad music.
YES- the owner is very friendly
NO- Irish Breakfast really needs to update itself, coffee absolutely tasteless-awful stuff.needs to be real choice of food-not just the very salty and unhealthy fry-up or token cereal.What's wrong with fresh fruit or even porridge or fresh or smoked mackeral (a locally caught fish).
NO- the decor needs updating
YES -the experience could be wonderful with a few minor but inportant changes

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We had read from another review that the family room was not spacious- We were surprised to find that there was plenty of room for my wife and I in a double bed and our 2 you sons in 2 singles when we stayed here for 3 nights. The little dog, Guinness is still there, friently as ever and the restraunt/pub , Joe Watties serves very high quality food at reasonable prices.
Marian, thanks for a wonderful stay.

Eric

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk, scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

Stayed 1 night on Inishmore at Clai Ban after a rough ferry crossing from Doolin. We were greeted well but I may have been a little grumpy due to sea sickness.....sorry.

Located a 5-10 minute scenic up hill stroll (well sign posted) from Harbour area. Convenient for the only supermarket on island the Spar and the excellent Joe Watties pub.

The room we had was larger than expected with a big bathroom but as mentioned in other reviews became cold even during the day. Heater did not seem to be on for customer use and hot water was limited. And towels were thin and small.

Breakfast was generous and tasty in a large dining room full of photo's, map's and Island arts/craft.

With a little investment this could be a fabulous B&B but until then you'll find a few little thing's that may bother you. Dont have anything bad to say about owner or his friendly little dog.

Plenty room for parking and your bike will be safe out front

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

Clai Ban is a short walk from the town of Kilronan; easy access to the ferry, shops, pubs, and bike rental place. The room was adequately comfortable and pretty clean. We were a bit disappointed - we booked it for our anniversary, thinking it would be a nicer, more romantic place than the hostels we stayed in for the rest of our trip - we found it to be similar in comfort and cleanliness. The shower was excellent with great water pressure and temperature. Breakfast included coffee, tea, toast, juice, and eggs (cooked any way you like).

We felt this B & B was lacking character. The hallways were very very dark and the owner seemed nice but we really only saw him at breakfast and at check-in (after letting ourselves in and calling for him for a while). There wasn't much friendly banter between owner and guests and this is what we felt was lacking in the place.

Joe Watty's pub was fun and a short walk away. Mainistir House Hostel is a longer walk and had an AMAZING vegetarian buffet dinner.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We stayed for one night, and probably would not have stayed for a second if it had been booked. The location is relatively central, and the room was generally clean. The beds were hard, the pillows were thin and hard, the sheets were rough and the towels were threadbare and limited to one small towel per person. There were no toiletries; while I wasn't expecting luxury cosmetics, I've never stayed in a hotel or B & B that didn't provide at least bar soap. The toilet took forever to fill, so much so that one didn't want to flush it in the night because it would run for more than 10 minutes and prevent returning to sleep. Breakfast was "fine", not the worst but far from the best, and the coffee was dismal.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Basic amenities, eg. linens and beds
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

We stayed one night. It's convenient (just a stone's throw from Joe Watty's pub, and a ten minute stroll to Kilronan), clean and comfortable. I think the towels are the softest in Ireland. It also has a small friendly black house dog named Guinness. We had an early ferry out and the owner cooked breakfast for us earlier than it was officially to be served, which was so thoughtful. Peek into the kitchen when you're there; it has beautiful views out the far end. Highly recommend. 35E pps when we stayed.

When you come off the ferry, walk up to the sweater market. You can keep going straight or turn right; take the right turn and walk for a bit, past the roosters and the bank on the left, and the church ruins on the right. You'll see a sign on the left for Clai Ban, a yellow house up on a rise. If you get to Joe Watty's you've gone a little too far.

  • Liked — It felt easy, as comfortable as home
  • Disliked — didn't stay long enough
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clai Ban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clai Ban

Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B & B located in the centre of Kilronan. We are a 10 minute walk from the harbour and we're a stone throw away from Joe Wattys Bar & Restaurant. All of our rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee facilities and televisions. The rate is €30 - €35 per person per night sharing and €45-€70 per night single rate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clai Ban Hotel Inishmore
Clai Ban Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clai Ban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.