We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad cause it could be better with a little work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clai Ban

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inishmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clai Ban
Save
You added Clai Ban to your Saves list
Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sad cause it could be better with a little work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

It has big potential but need serious improvements on some aspects:
- the room are Okeish, a bit small but livable, new boiler are needed, the one we had was way too dirty.
- bathroom is Okeish as well, towels need to be renewed, they do not absorb at all.
- the house it's cold, I know it's a b&b but if i need to stay in the room in the afternoon I don't deserve to be freezing.
- breakfast is fine, nothing special but good enough.
- the place is not dirty but doesn't shine either, people have different standard but I cannot imagine how some reviews said it is perfectly clean: it says a lot about your expectation...

On the plus side: the dog is the image of niceness, the owner is 'truly Irish' and the house is in a very nice spot at a walking distance from everything.

Really with a bit if work this can be one of the best b&b in inishmore, I'll check the review in few months to see what happens.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Ticks all the boxes for a very good B&B. A short walk (5 mins) from the pier leads to a hearty welcome from your hosts. The bedroom was perfect for what we wanted, very comfy bed, good water pressure in the shower. The breakfast is very tasty nad sets you up for the day. Tí Joe Watty (pub with good food and music) is right around the corner and great for relaxing after a day exploring the island. We booked as part of an offer through the ferry company Island Ferries.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We loved this B&B, we were booked into another place on the island but when we arrived they had never heard of us so we were very greatful the hosts of Clai Ban answered the late phone call and accommodated us. The room was modernly decorated, very clean and comfortable. We felt very welcome and the breakfast was perfect. We felt at home, absolutely no negatives!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Perfectly situated, great price and very clean owners so so friendly. The owner got up early the morning we were leaving and cooked us our beautiful breakfast and then drove us to the pier even though it was within a five minute walk. A true gent. Would definately recommend this to any one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at Clai Ban House at the end of Tourist season this year. The island was quiet, the tourists were few, and the weather, amazing. Clai Ban is up the hill from the harbor, on the "outskirts" of what is already a small village. It's a 5 minute walk up the hill, and to the yellow house that is Clai Ban.

Guinness the Dog greeted us at the door - a wiggly, short, stout, reddish / black dog with a spike collar (which is totally an "ironic" collar - this dog is so friendly!) I'm a dog trainer in Boston, so having this kind of greeting was absolutely welcome. It added to the cozy feeling of this B&B.

Our host was cheery, social, friendly (according to Rick Steves book, he's the friendliest B&B owner on the island, and though we have nothing to compare it to, it's easy to see how he earned this honor!), and a very good cook. Breakfast was tasty, warm, and filling! Loved the soda bread! The house was quiet (the son was playing music in the afternoon, which was lovely - but it was quiet at night and in the morning).

Clai Ban is right next to one of 3 pubs on the island, which was rather convenient for us. We were a bit sore from biking the island earlier that day, so having only a short walk (two doors!) to the pub was exactly what we needed!
I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Clai Ban is a walk up from the harbor but the view is beautiful. The rooms were spotless and very nice.

I checked in to Clai Ban but never had the chance to unpack. I was called back to the States due to a serious family emergency, and the owners were SO kind and helpful. They drove me down to the harbor so I could make the last ferry off the island, having just minutes to spare. They wouldn't even take any money for their trouble, even though I never even stayed with them. I'll always be grateful for their compassion. SUPER people!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Lovely place, the owners were welcoming, beds were comfortable, the room was warm. Nice breakfast too. Its close to everything with a great pub just a couple of doors up. The shower is a little small so if you are of a larger frame it might not work for you but fine for most people. My only (minor) issue was the towels - they are the kind of towel that doesn't soak up any moisture but just spreads it around. I can't say it detracted from my stay though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clai Ban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clai Ban

Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B & B located in the centre of Kilronan. We are a 10 minute walk from the harbour and we're a stone throw away from Joe Wattys Bar & Restaurant. All of our rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee facilities and televisions. The rate is €30 - €35 per person per night sharing and €45-€70 per night single rate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clai Ban Hotel Inishmore
Clai Ban Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clai Ban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.