We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Family Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aran Islands Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aran Islands Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aran Islands Hotel
Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Inishmore
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Grand Family Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was a family trip to celebrate a birthday. All 32 of us stayed at Aran Island Hotel, they were most helpful in sorting family rooms for us. He offered to collect us from pier but we opted to walk and although its a busy area with pedestrians & bikes it took less than 10mins to get to hotel. Although check-in wasn't till 3pm, all bags were left safely behind reception. Niall and staff were most obliging and courteous, not one of the group could fault their efficiency. Our stay was mid-July during the heatwave and although some of the rooms were small and hot we made the most of it - it's Ireland after all and we can't predict the weather. Niall gave us the option of eating in-house or at another venue, so we opted to eat at the hotel. The food was value for money, everyone was happy with service and efficiency of waiting staff. Breakfast was very good and everyone well catered for, again staff attentive and efficient. 17 of the party were children they had a ball. We got what we paid for and when going to the Aran Islands, its not for R&R, it for fun, excitement, exploration and get-up & go! Some of us did take Niall up on the lift back to the pier for the return trip. We will definitely be going back again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    44
    20
    9
    14
See reviews for
50
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I spent two brilliant nights in the Aran Islands Hotel. Niall, Keith and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the craic was mighty. I will definitely return but for three nights at least the next time. I was sad to leave such a fantastic Hotel and Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Myself and my children have just returned from the Aran Islands Hotel. It depends on your expectations on whether you will enjoy this hotel or not. It is an extremely friendly old fashioned hotel. The appearance of the rooms may be outdated but that is part of the charm about the place including the old fashioned television. We were not here to watch tv. This is not a five star hotel but it does not charge as a five star would. What you do get is a great welcome, Niall and all the girls work very hard. We had arranged when we booked the hotel to be collected from our ferry and while we could have walked it the free lift was much appreciated, more by my children so that they did not have to carry the bags. Ok you can't check in before 3pm but you can leave your bags behind reception and use the rest of the hotel or start your adventure by walking back into Kilrohan and see what happens. The island is all about taking chances, we chanced on Eoin the tour operator who amused us with his chat around the island. He had my children in the kinks of laughter even after we got saturated climbing Dun Aonghasa and returned to the minibus. When we returned to the hotel the shower in the room was really hot and powerful. If you want lovely shower gels bring your own, otherwise the sachets provided were more than sufficient. You also get free entertainment thrown in for free in the evenings. The Mulkerrin brothers were outstanding the night we stayed. In essence what you are getting in the Island Hotel is a throw back in time where service counts more than cosmetics. Open your mind and your mouth and ask for help and the friendliness of everyone on the island will overwhelm you. Enjoy and stay the night on the island.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel and while it had no view it was quiet. We saw that there were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Niall and the rest of the staff in hotel went above and beyond for their guests. We had a brilliant weekend thanks to everyone.Best burger i had in years in the bar and great entertainment at night.Rooms clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

On my trip to the island in Summer of 2013 i decided to stay in the Aran Islands Hotel. The rooms are clean, but could be updated a little bit.
On a different note, the bar staff on the night while we went for dinner were excellent. There was 2 blonde young looking girls behind the bar that were very helpful to me and my husband on the night. They made us feel at ease as we were having a bad day (non hotel related) and there service was just excellent!! Excellent staff are employed in this hotel, and it was by far the nicest steak iv had n years! Excellent chef!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Perhaps we were spoiled, but we enjoyed 4 nights at this hotel last week! We had Room 100, which has a large balcony overlooking the bay, and ate in the restaurant on 3 evenings, each time having requested a window seat, with proper table and chairs, an adequate menu and prompt, friendly service. Niall and staff could not have been more obliging, providing transport to and from the ferry if requested, and even rescued us, without charge, from Kilmurvy after a walking expedition to the west of the island, when we discovered the local taxi was not within mobile phone range. The beach in front of the hotel is sandy and beautiful, as are several others nearby, and there is plenty to fill several days on Inishmore for those like us, prepared to walk and are interested in the local flora and archaeology.

Room Tip: A sea view room, with balcony, on the first floor offers wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay on Inis Mór and the Aran Islands Hotel. From the time Niall picked all 12 of us up from the Ferry with our luggage until the time he dropped us back we had a fantastic weekend! The hotel rooms could do with being updated a little but were spotless clean & comfortable. We were very happy with the food, it was really good and very reasonably priced. We ended up eating in the hotel both nights. We were offered a set menu on one night of our stay which was €19.95 for a 3 course meal. We all opted for this and the 2 vegetarians in our group were very well accommodated - they even put the Al la Carte special on the set menu to add more choice for the veggies! Breakfast was also very good and again, everyone was well accommodated. I can honestly say that I have never received as good a service as I did in this hotel. All the staff were lovely but Niall in particular was fantastic. He couldn't do enough for us and nothing was too much for him. He even dropped us to a local pub on the Sat night and collected us when we wanted to come back! It was great that not one person in our group of 12 had any complaints at the end of the weekend. I will definitely be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aran Islands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aran Islands Hotel

Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 22 standard en-suite bedrooms, including five magnificent kingsize bed rooms with balconies and spectacular views of Kileaney Bay and Kilronan Harbour. All bedrooms are spacious and beautifully appointed and include facilities such as TV, Direct Dial Telephone, ISDN, Trouser Press, Hair-Dryer, Tea / Coffee Making Facilities. The entire hotel is fully accessible for our disabled visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aran Islands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aran Islands Inishmore
Aran Islands Hotel Inishmore, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aran Islands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.