We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few tips” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dun Aengus

Dun Aengus
Province of Connacht, Ireland
+353 99 61008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Inishmore
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A few tips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

You will catch the ferry to Inishmore Island to get here. If you have the flexibility, plan on a day that will have the least amount of rain in the forecast as there is not much shelter to keep you out of the elements. The cost will be 25 euro per person round trip on the ferry. 5 euro to park your car. The ferry leaves at 10:30 and returns at 4:30. Get on the ferry early so you can have seats to pick from. If you get there late you may not be able to sit in a group.Once you have landed, there will be people wanting your business to take a mini van, horse drawn carriage or bike to take you around the 12 mile Island which includes a stop at Dun Aengus. The island is hilly and windy. Base your mode of transportation on the weather and fitness level. The day we went it was beautiful.
We took a horse drawn cartridge. Martin Joe was the name of our driver. He stopped along the route to the fort and gave us a history of the island. From what I understand not many carriages give you a guided tour. Martin Joe was great! I recommend using him.. His horse,Hopper, looked healthy and strong. Martin treated him well too. Please be advised that some of the men don't treat their horses well and or push them hard. Some of them have sores were their equipment digs into their skin from pulling people around. Please let your driver know that you care about the health and treatment of his horse. The carts are very small that some of the horses pull. I saw people piling in them. Please be mindful of the horse and how many people are being pulled by the horse. Some of the men do not care about their animals and will pile people in the cartridge despite the weight. Three people,which includes the driver,is a good number on some of the small cartridges. The price is 50 euro for two people. Martin gave us a great tour. He stopped at Dun Aengus and gave us the time we wanted to explore. At the entrance of the fort their are souvenir shops and a hand knit sweater shop that is owned by Sarah Flaherty. I recommend her sweaters. You will not find many hand knit sweaters in Ireland. They are mostly machine made. She is a kind, honest woman who knits her sweaters during the island's winter.
The fort was very interesting. I recommend seeing it. There are no barriers so be careful as there are 300 ft shear cliffs on one side of the fort.
At the end of our tour, we walked to the Pier restaurant and had a late lunch there. The food is very good. Hope this helps you in your planning. Safe travels!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    77
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballinrobe, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Views as good as the Cliffs of Moher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Have been here many times with friends and each time its an uplifting experience, rain or shine. Last time it was a gloriously sunny day and - unfortunately very busy. The centre is nice and modest, nothing too flashy with a nice selection of handicrafts, souvenirs, etc. The Fort has been well preserved - unfortunately visitors do not follow the request NOT to climb the walls. Dun Aengus is a national monument of outstanding natural beauty, yet many visitors climb around, deface the falls and don't mind if stones fall down from the walls. The views across and down the sea are as stunning as the ones at the Cliffs of Moher (without the exaggerated health and safety regulations) but be careful on a windy/stormy day and don't stand too close to the cliff's edge - it IS dangerous.
If you have only a short time on the island, join a minibus tour or - if you don't have any back problems :) - explore the island in a jaunting car (pony and trap). Most of the elderly guides are very knowledgeable and extremely friendly.
Great experience for all the family but beware: At the end just before reaching Dun Aengus the access walk becomes a bit steep and very uneven, across stoney ledges, etc. - not suitable for the elderly, infirm or small children.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Remarkable monument”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our trip. One tip - go near the end of the day (after 4pm). All the people on day trips to the island will be gone, and you will likely have the place all to yourself. In short, this place is fantastic.

One more little bit - my husband and I ran into some very cute cows on the way down. They were very friendly and like to be petted and fed grass. If you like animals, this might be a nice little extra.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Stunning Fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Dun Aengus was the highlight of the tour we took around Inishmore. The fort itself is well preserved considering its age and offers stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean from a sheer cliff that serves as the fourth side of the fort (the other three being stone walls). It is interesting to contemplate the strength and width of walls made without mortar and to imagine what life was like inside the walls. This attraction is well worth the hike up the hill. You should also give yourself time to visit the craft and sweater shops at the foot of the hill and to eat in the cafe located where the vans and pony carts stop to drop off tourists--the food was homemade and delicious!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corcaigh
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“brief visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

hired a taxi/minibus who brought us to our accommodation and to Cafe/shops near Dun Aengusa, and also gave a resume of Aran, places of interest .
Our accommodation at Man of Aran Cottage was a huge disappointment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dun Aengus also viewed

Inishmore, Aran Islands
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Dun Aengus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dun Aengus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.